Local Govt | National News Video | Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Search


2002 Crashbash awards on stage 7 June

On 7 June from 7.30pm in the Town Hall�fs James Hay theatre, around 150 students from 13 secondary schools in and around Christchurch will perform at the ninth Crashbash secondary schools theatre competition.

The aim of Crashbash is to encourage high school students to examine alcohol impaired driving.

Supported and organised by a community project of the Christchurch City
Council, Crashbash is core funded by LTSA with sponsorship from Accident
Compensation Corporation, Crown Public Health and is supported by
Students Against Driving Drunk (SADD).

Land Transport Safety Authority director David Wright and Road Policing manager Derek Erasmus will present the over-all winner award. Last year�fs winner was St Margaret's College. Hurunui College was runner-up.

Lindon Puffin and Steph Walker will host the competition. The judging panel is SADD coordinator Chloe Johnston, Greer Robertson, Jeff Clark, Barry Grant, Barry McDonald and Steve Langley.

�œ Tickets to the event cost $3 and are available from Ticketek.

© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Gordon Campbell: on the inquiry into the abuse of children in care

Apparently, PM Jacinda Ardern has chosen to exclude faith-based institutions from the government’s promised inquiry into the abuse of children in state care.

Any role for religious institutions – eg the Catholic Church – would be only to observe and to learn from any revelations that arise from the inquiry’s self-limiting focus on state-run institutions… More


Gordon Campbell: On Jim Anderton
For anyone born after 1975, it is hard to grasp just how important a figure Jim Anderton was, for an entire generation.
During the mid to late 1980s, Anderton was the only significant public figure of resistance to the Labour government’s headlong embrace of Thatcherism...More>>


Gong Time: New Year's Honours List

Jacinda Ardern today congratulated the 179 New Zealanders named on the 2018 New Year’s Honours List.

“Although this list was compiled and completed by the last government, it is a pleasure to welcome in the New Year by recognising exceptional New Zealanders,” Jacinda Ardern said.

“As an Aunty, I love reading books to my nieces, so it’s lovely to congratulate Joy Cowley, who is made a member of the Order of New Zealand today....More
Full list

Roads: National launches bid to save highway projects

The National Party has launched a series of petitions aimed at saving regional highway projects at risk because of the Government’s obsession with Auckland trams…More>>


Medical Cannabis: Bill Introduced to “ease suffering”

Health Minister Dr David Clark says making medicinal cannabis more readily available will help relieve the suffering of people who are dying in pain More>>


Campbell: On The Quest For Zero Net Carbon Emissions
Some would querulously ask, zero net carbon emissions by 2050 – while others would say, why not?


CPAG Report: The Further Fraying Of The Welfare Safety Net

New Zealand’s welfare system has undergone a major transformation during the past three decades. This process has seriously thwarted the original intent of the system, which was to provide a decent standard of living for all New Zealanders in times of need... More>>





Featured InfoPages