Local Govt | National News Video | Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Search


Increased Fire risk prompts Fire Bans

Increased Fire risk prompts Fire Bans

A number of Rural Fire Authorities have imposed Prohibited fire seasons due to the increasing fire risk in some parts of the country. A Prohibited fire seasons is established under the Forest and Rural Fires Act 1977, and means a total fire ban and the lighting of fires is not permitted in the open air. Areas where Prohibited fire seasons are in place are Canterbury, Marlborough, Otago and the Wairarapa. These are the areas of particular concern due to the extreme fire risk and where a number of fires have already occurred.

With the forecasted low probability of rain occuring within the next week the fire danger will increase prompting further fire bans in other areas with Restricted fire seasons. Restricted fire seasons means that a fire permit from the relevant rural fire authority is required to light a fire in the open air.

The public are asked to check the fire season status in their area and to take extreme care with using equipment such as grinders, welders and chainsaws in the open and also when mowing.

As resources are becoming stretched within Canterbury due to the number of fires the National Rural Fire Authority is co-ordinating support from other Rural Fire Authorities in lower fire danger areas. A number of crews from these areas have been placed standby in case additional resources are required to be deployed to Canterbury.

A period of time, whether of fixed or indefinite duration, specified pursuant to the Forest and Rural Fires Act 1977, during which period the lighting of fires in the open air is prohibited under this Act.
Region Rural Fire Authority Zone Comments
Auckland North Shore City

Canterbury Ashburton District Council From 6 Jan
Selwyn District Council From 5 Jan
Banks Peninsula District Council From 6 Jan
Christchurch City Council Rural area of Christchurch City
Bottle Lake Rural Fire District Bottle Lake
Chaneys Rural Fire District Chaneys
Waimakariri District Council Restricted in hill and high country
Hurunui District Council
Ashley Rural Fire District All Forest areas
Department of Conservation Canterbury Conservancy
Ministry of Defence West Melton From 6 Jan
Ministry of Defence Burnham From 6 Jan
Ministry of Defence Tekapo From 6 Jan

Eastern Wairoa District Council Prohibited Mahia Peninsula only

Nelson Marlborough Department of Conservation Nelson Marlborough Conservancy Prohibited areas within Marlborough DC area
Marlborough District Council
Ministry of Defence Woodbourne

Otago Central Otago District Council
Department of Conservation Otago Conservancy All areas except Queenstown area of Queenstown Lakes DC
Queenstown Lakes District Council Prohibited Wanaka ward only
Waitaki District Council
Dunedin City Council
Clutha District Council

South Canterbury South Canterbury Rural Fire District

Southland Southern Rural Fire District Prohibited in Naseby Forest only

Wairarapa South Wairarapa District Council From 5 Jan
Carterton District Council From 5 Jan
Masterton District Council From 5 Jan
Department of Conservation Wellington Conservancy From 5th Jan 2004 for all of Wairarapa region except Tararua Forest Park.

© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines


Also, Loan Interest: Productivity Commission On Tertiary Education

Key recommendations include better quality control; making it easier for students to transfer between courses; abolishing University Entrance; enabling tertiary institutions to own and control their assets; making it easier for new providers to enter the system; and facilitating more and faster innovation by tertiary education providers... More>>


Higher Payments: Wellington Regional Council Becomes A Living Wage Employer

Councillor Sue Kedgley said she was delighted that the Wellington Regional Council unanimously adopted her motion to become a Living Wage employer, making it the first regional council in New Zealand to do so. More>>


Scoop Images:
Dame Patsy Reddy Sworn In As Governor-General

This morning Dame Patsy Reddy was sworn in as the New Zealand Realm’s 21st Governor-General. The ceremony began with a pōwhiri to welcome Dame Patsy and her husband Sir David Gascoigne to Parliament. More>>


Ruataniwha: DOC, Hawke's Bay Council Developer Take Supreme Court Appeal

The Department of Conservation and Hawke's Bay Regional Investment Company (HBRIC) are appealing to the Supreme Court over a conservation land swap which the Court of Appeal halted. More>>


With NZ's Marama Davidson: Women’s Flotilla Leaves Sicily – Heading For Gaza

Women representing 13 countries spanning five continents began their journey yesterday on Zaytouna-Oliva to the shores of Gaza, which has been under blockade since 2007. On board are a Nobel Peace Laureate, three parliamentarians, a decorated US diplomat, journalists, an Olympic athlete, and a physician. A list of the women with their background can be found here. More>>

Gordon Campbell: On The Key Style Of Crisis Management

At Monday’s post Cabinet press conference Key was in his finest wide- eyed “Problem? What problem?” mode. No, there wasn’t really a problem that top MPI officials had been at odds with each other over the meaning of the fisheries policy and how that policy should be pursued... More>>


Mt Roskill: Greens Will Not Stand In Likely Post-Goff By-Election

“The Green Party’s priority is changing the Government in 2017, and as part of that we’ve decided that we won’t stand a candidate in the probable Mt Roskill by-election... This decision shows the Memorandum of Understanding between Labour and the Green Party is working." More>>


Get More From Scoop



Search Scoop  
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news