Local Govt | National News Video | Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Search


Council contenders throw hats into the ring


20 August 2004

Council Contenders Throw Hats Into The Ring

Time's up and 117 people have thrown their hats in the ring as candidates in the upcoming local government elections to be held on Saturday 9 October.

When the deadline for nominations passed at midday today there were:
7 nominations for Mayor
37 nominations for Councillor
40 nominations for the Capital and Coast District Health Board
18 nominations for community boards
15 nominations for liquor licensing trusts.

Mr Bly says he is pleased with the level of interest from the community despite this being a lower number of nominations than last time.

"The 2001 elections were the first time that nominations for district health board members were held and we received 70 nominations for that which really boosted numbers."

Mr Bly says that for both liquor licensing trusts the number of nominations received equals the number of positions available. "This means those standing for the liquor licensing trusts have been automatically elected to the positions."

Other comparisons from the 2001 elections include:
14 nominations for Mayor
58 nominations for Councillors

Attached is the list of nominations received (contact details will be available on request from Monday).

Current nominations received:

Mayor (7)
Bryon Charles Burke (-)
Rob Goulden (Independent)
Stephen Hay (Anti-Capitalist Alliance, New Zealand)
Timothy O'Brien (-)
Bryan Pepperell (Reclaim Our City)
Kerry Prendergast (1 for Wellington)
Jack Ruben (Our City)

Northern Ward (9)
Robert Armstrong (1 - 2 - 3 for North)
Ngaire Best (1 - 2 - 3 for North)
Ash Bhasin (Labour)
Jim Candiliotis (Independent)
Kent Clark (Me 4 Northern)
Ron England (Listen to Wellington)
Ian Hutchings (1 - 2 - 3 for North)
Helene Ritchie (Independent)
Hayley Wain (Wellington's Future)

Onslow-Western Ward (6)
Te Makao Bowkett (Labour)
Kelly Buchanan (Alliance)
Andy Foster (Independent)
John Morrison (Independent)
Jack Ruben (Our City)
Judy Siers (Independent)

Lambton Ward (8)
Michael Appleby (Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party)
Rosamund Averton (Independent)
Stephanie Cook (Alliance)
John Macalister (Listen2wgtn)
Ian McKinnon (Independent)
Iona Pannett (Green)
Alick Shaw (Independent)
David Zwartz (Labour)

Eastern Ward (6)
Ray Ahipene-Mercer (Proven Commitment)
Chris Anastasiadis (Labour)
Leonie Gill (Labour)
Rob Goulden (Independent)
David Major ( Positive Difference)
Phil Sprey (Independent)

Southern Ward (8)
Linda Hobman (Listen2wgtn)
Ben Knight (Independent)
Bryan Pepperell (Reclaim Our City)
Sue Piper (Independent)
Langi F Sipeli (Independent)
Tafa Max To'o (Labour)
Celia Wade-Brown (Green)
Silvia Zonoobi (Independent)

Tawa Community Board (8)
David Barnard (Independent)
Gaylene Best (Independent)
Ngaire Best (Independent)
Penny Devine (-)
Tony Parker (Independent)
Graeme B G Sutton (Independent)
Robert Tredger (Independent)
Hayley Wain (Independent)

Makara/Ohariu Community Board (10)
Ash Bhasin (Independent)
Gavin Bruce (Ratepayers Team)
John Hume (Ratepayers Team)
David Jennings (-)
Jack O'Leary (Ratepayers Team)
Richard Nanson (-)
Ruth Paul (-)
Justin Robbers (-)
Ted Smith (Independent)
Leigh Vibert (Ratepayers Team)

Capital and Coast District Health Board (40)
Judith Aitken (-)
Michael Appleby (Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party)
Bice Awan (Independent)
Brendon Bowkett (-)
Ruth Bradwell (Ruth For Improved Health Care)
Virginia Breen (Independent)
Annette Bridgman (Independent)
Diane Brown (Affordable Health)
Sharman Buckle (Independent)
Andrew Clark (Independent)
Kent Clark (Independent)
Peter Dady (-)
Greg J Day (Independent)
Martin Devlin
Ken Douglas (Labour)
Margaret Faulkner (Labour)
Michael Gibson (Independent)
Rebecca Golledge (-)
Ruth Gotlieb (Independent)
Mike Gourley (Common Choice)
Mark Hakiwai (-)
Linda Hobman (Common Choice)
Maree Howden (-)
Ailsa Jacobson (Independent)
Rosemary McEldowney (Green)
Mary Mason (Independent)
Arby Mitikulena (-)
Wayne Tamerangi Mulligan (Independent)
Tino Pereira (-)
Sarah Porter (Independent)
Helene Ritchie (Independent)
Chris Rivers (-)
Geoff Savell (Independent)
Alick Shaw (Independent)
Robert Shaw (Shaw for Action on Health)
Ian Shearer (Independent)
Andy Smith (Independent)
Chris Turver (Independent)
Donald Urquhart-Hay (Independent)
Averil Wotton (Independent)

Johnsonville Licensing Trust (6)
Debbie Avison (Independent)
Jim Candiliotis (Independent)
Kent Clark (Independent)
Mike Collett (Independent)
Ray J Good (Independent)
Ian Hutchings (Independent)

Terawhiti Licensing Trust (Ward 1) (1)
Stuart Brooker (-)
Barbara Duthie (-)
Ian Duthie (-)
Clare Thompson (-)
Steven Thompson (-)
Ted Tyler (Karori United)

Terawhiti Licensing Trust (Ward 2) (3)
John Dallas (-)
Alida Miculetich (-)
Sharn Riggs (-)

Total: 117

© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines


Scoop Images:
Dame Patsy Reddy Sworn In As Governor-General

This morning Dame Patsy Reddy was sworn in as the New Zealand Realm’s 21st Governor-General. The ceremony began with a pōwhiri to welcome Dame Patsy and her husband Sir David Gascoigne to Parliament. More>>


Ruataniwha: DOC, Hawke's Bay Council Developer Take Supreme Court Appeal

The Department of Conservation and Hawke's Bay Regional Investment Company (HBRIC) are appealing to the Supreme Court over a conservation land swap which the Court of Appeal halted. More>>


With NZ's Marama Davidson: Women’s Flotilla Leaves Sicily – Heading For Gaza

Women representing 13 countries spanning five continents began their journey yesterday on Zaytouna-Oliva to the shores of Gaza, which has been under blockade since 2007. On board are a Nobel Peace Laureate, three parliamentarians, a decorated US diplomat, journalists, an Olympic athlete, and a physician. A list of the women with their background can be found here. More>>

Gordon Campbell: On The Key Style Of Crisis Management

At Monday’s post Cabinet press conference Key was in his finest wide- eyed “Problem? What problem?” mode. No, there wasn’t really a problem that top MPI officials had been at odds with each other over the meaning of the fisheries policy and how that policy should be pursued... More>>


Mt Roskill: Greens Will Not Stand In Likely Post-Goff By-Election

“The Green Party’s priority is changing the Government in 2017, and as part of that we’ve decided that we won’t stand a candidate in the probable Mt Roskill by-election... This decision shows the Memorandum of Understanding between Labour and the Green Party is working." More>>


Wellington: Predator Free Capital Plan

Wellington City Council (WCC), the Greater Wellington Regional Council (GWRC) and NEXT Foundation, today announced a joint collaboration to make Wellington the first Predator Free capital city in the world. More>>


Gordon Campbell: On Judith Collins’ Efforts At Self Correction

Thousands of prisoners currently in prison may be entitled to an earlier release than expected – and compensation – because Corrections has incorrectly calculated their term of imprisonment. Unless of course, the government buries its mistakes by changing the law and retro-actively getting itself off the hook… More>>


More Justice & Corrections

Get More From Scoop



Search Scoop  
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news