Local Govt | National News Video | Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Search


Changes proposed to ECan’s constituency boundaries

August 10, 2006

Changes proposed to ECan’s constituency boundaries – submissions sought
Environment Canterbury has this week advertised in daily newspapers proposed changes to its elected representatives’ constituency boundaries.

If agreed to, these will change the shape of the regional council constituencies for the Christchurch constituencies, Ellesmere and Ashburton. The proposed changes do not have any bearing on rates for householders.

Some areas of Christchurch, for example, Belfast, Northwood, North Shore through to Spencerville and Brooklands, would become part of an enlarged North Canterbury constituency. Templeton would move out of South Christchurch into Selwyn/Banks Peninsula. Yaldhurst and McLeans Island would move out of West Christchurch into Selwyn/Banks Peninsula.

At present the Christchurch city regional constituencies (north, south, east and west) run along the Waimakariri River to the north and south along the Port Hills.

The other key change proposed is to include Ashburton and Ellesmere ward of Selwyn District in the one constituency which would be renamed Rakaia. At present Ellesmere ward is part of Selwyn/Banks Peninsula in the regional structure.

“This proposal represents some quite significant changes,” said Cr Robert Johnston, chairman of ECan’s representation review committee.

“The proposal for the four Christchurch city constituencies do contain departures from the existing boundaries brought about by some areas going into Selwyn/Banks Peninsula or North Canterbury and also internal rearrangements. Residents need to focus on whether this proposed internal structure for the Christchurch constituencies is satisfactory or whether these boundaries could be settled with more minor adjustments to the existing system.

“Overall, the new proposal retains the six out-of-Christchurch, eight-in-Christchurch councillor balance; it retains a separate Waitaki constituency and it has virtual compliance with the Local Electoral Act’s plus or minus ten percent population guideline with only one major exception (Waitaki). Importantly, this proposal received unanimous support from all councillors. These are major positive steps.”

Full maps showing the existing boundaries and the proposed new boundaries are on ECan’s website - http://www.ecan.govt.nz/About+Us/Council+Info/Propsed+New+System.htm.

The Akaroa/Wairewa and Lyttelton/Mt Herbert communities would remain in the Selwyn/Banks Peninsula constituency, which would spread further north and east into Christchurch and include Yaldhurst, Templeton and McLeans Island.

The South Canterbury and Waitaki constituencies remain unchanged under the proposal.

Submissions can be forwarded to Environment Canterbury at PO Box 345, Christchurch or emailed to repreview@ecan.govt.nz before 4pm on Wednesday, September 13. Environment Canterbury is aiming to have all the submissions considered by October 9.


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Decision Day: Peters Chooses Labour

Winston Peters says he will form a Government in coalition with Labour and the Greens giving confidence and supply.

Peters said he had been offered the position of Deputy Prime Minister and a number of other ministerial posts would go to his colleagues

He said economic and monetary policy changes were needed to face a coming economic downturn.>>>More


Labour on its agreement |Peters: Post-Election Announcement Speech | Greenpeace “cautiously hopeful” about new Government | ACT - Madman on the loose | E tū ecstatic | Chamber welcomes the outcome


Climate: Increasing Greenhouse Emissions Hit NZ

New Zealand is seeing impacts of excess greenhouse gas emissions in our climate and oceans, according to the latest national report from the Ministry for the Environment and Stats NZ about the state of the atmosphere and climate…More>>


Wellington.Scoop: Arrests At Blockade Of "Weapons Expo"

“We encourage people in Wellington to get down to the Westpac Stadium now for a day of awesome peace action. There will be plenty of food, music and activities to keep us sustained through the day.” More>>


Rorschach Restructuring: PSA Taking Inland Revenue To Court Over Psychometrics

The Public Service Association will be seeing Inland Revenue in Employment Court over its intention to psychometrically test employees reapplying for their roles at the department as part of its controversial Business Transformation restructuring plan. More>>


Nuclear Disarmament: Nobel Peace Prize 2017 Awarded To ICAN

Congratulations from iCAN Aotearoa New Zealand to international iCAN, the other iCAN national campaigns and partner organisations, and the countless organisations and individuals who have worked so hard for a nuclear weapons-free world since 1945. More>>


Expenses: Waikato DHB CEO Resigns

An independent inquiry has identified that Dr Murray had spent more than the agreed $25K allocated for relocation costs, and other unauthorized expenses involving potential financial breaches of the chief executive’s obligations. More>>


Wellington.Scoop: Sad About The Trolley Buses?

The Regional Council’s MetLink is today spending money to tell us that it really loves Wellington’s trolley buses, even though they’re all being taken off our roads by the end of this month. More>>


Post-Election: Preliminary Coalition Talks Begin

New Zealand First will hold post-election preliminary discussions in Wellington with the National Party tomorrow morning and the Labour Party tomorrow afternoon. More>>




Featured InfoPages

Opening the Election