Local Govt | National News Video | Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Search


North Shore City Civic Awards Presented


North Shore City Civic Awards Presented

August 23, 2008

The Mayor Mr Andrew Williams presents Mr Jim Holdaway with the City-wide Award

Ordinary people who have made an extraordinary contribution to the lives of others became honoured citizens of North Shore City when they were recognised for their selfless deeds at the city’s annual Civic Awards ceremony last night.

A total of 13 Civic Awards were presented by Mayor Andrew Williams at a special ceremony in the Council Chamber

Every year local individuals and groups are nominated by members of the community for their outstanding voluntary contributions, and there were 36 nominations this year. Mayor Williams said the selection panel had a difficult job granting just one recipient for each category.

“Nominees provide truly humbling stories of goodwill and generosity shown by prospective recipients and the selection process is not easy,” he said.

“North Shore City’s Civic Awards are very much a celebration of all volunteer participation in the community from small to large efforts and I thank everyone who submitted a nomination.”

The 2008 North Shore City Civic Award Recipients were

Category: Community – Birkenhead Northcote
Recipient: Ross Frisby for his 20+ hours per week, every week for the past 10 years, nurturing junior football at Birkenhead United Football Club.

Category: Community – Albany
Recipient: Charles Crooks for his outstanding contribution to the Scouting movement and in particular, the building development and maintenance of Camp Maynard.

Category: Community – Devonport
Recipient: David Kayrouz for his organisation of classical chamber music concerts to benefit the Devonport and wider community as well as art classes, exhibitions and a sculpture project.

Category: Community – East Coast Bays
Recipient: Thomas Stout for his tireless contributions and involvement with the Mairangi Community Arts Centre.

Category: Community – Glenfield
Recipient: Percival Allison for his active involvement in the community over the past 65 years, the last 50 of which are with North Shore City. He is on the Beach Haven and Glenfield Business Assns; Poverty Action Coalition; Beach Haven Ratepayers Assn and Birkenhead Historical Society.

Category: Community – Takapuna
Recipient: Ronald Fairley for his work on the Save Takapuna Beach Committee; Environment Takapuna Inc and Takapuna Residents Assn.

Category: City-wide
Recipient: Jim Holdaway for his outstanding contribution on many groups. They are: Auckland Tree Council (North Shore focus), Motutapu Restoration Trust, Hauraki Gulf Maritime Park Board, Auckland Conservation Board, North Shore Branch Forest & Bird Society.

Category: Youth
Recipient: Deon Nothnagel for his contribution to various youth events for the Youth of Sunnynook and wider community.

Category: Organisations - Heritage & Environment
Recipient: Chelsea Regional Park Association (Inc) for its work toward the city acquiring and protecting the bulk of the Chelsea Estate for a public park of regional significance.

Category: Organisations - Health & Wellbeing
Recipient: Te Whanau Tu Tonu-o-Oruamo Society (Inc) for a variety of initiatives such as: Healthy Lifestyles Project Procare, NSCC Governance Training Day, Active Families WDHB, Sport Harbour, LTNZ Licence Programme.

Category: Organisations - Arts & Culture
Recipient: Lake House Trust (Inc) for its work towards preserving the heritage of North Shore through restoration of Lake House and barracks - a venue for the arts and local artists.

Category: Organisations – Sport & Leisure
Recipient: Youthtown Inc. Youthtown’s key objectives are to build self-esteem by providing opportunities and guidance in a supportive environment, and providing opportunities for youth through physical, social and creative experiences.

Category: Business
Recipient: Peter Wolf for his voluntary contribution to the youth of Birkenhead-Northcote community.


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Back Again: Government Approves TPP11 Mandate

The Government has approved a negotiating mandate for Trans-Pacific Partnership 11 (TPP11), which will ensure New Zealand businesses remain competitive in overseas markets.

Trade Minister Todd McClay says New Zealand will be pushing for the minimal number of changes possible to the original TPP agreement, something that the remaining TPP11 countries have agreed on. More>>




Gordon Campbell: On Why Labour Isn’t Responsible For Barnaby Joyce

As a desperate Turnbull government tries to treat the Barnaby Joyce affair as a Pauline Hanson fever dream – blame it on the foreigners! We’re the victims of the dastardly New Zealand Labour Party! – our own government has chosen to further that narrative, and make itself an accomplice. More>>


Rail: Greens Back Tauranga – Hamilton – Auckland Service

The Green Party today announced that it will trial a passenger rail service between Auckland, Hamilton and Tauranga starting in 2019, when it is in government. More>>


Housing: Voluntary Rental Warrant Of Fitness For Wellington

Wellington City Council is partnering with the University of Otago, Wellington, to launch a voluntary Rental Warrant of Fitness for minimum housing standards in Wellington, Mayor Justin Lester has announced. More>>


Treaty: Agreement In Principle Signed With Moriori

“The Crown acknowledges Moriori was left virtually landless from 1870, hindering its cultural, social and economic development. The Crown also acknowledges its contribution to the myths that the people of Moriori were racially inferior and became extinct." More>>


Susan Devoy: Call For Inquiry Into State Abuse Reaches UN

Race Relations Commissioner Dame Susan Devoy is in Geneva and has asked a United Nations committee to urge the New Zealand government to initiate an inquiry into the physical and sexual abuse of children and disabled people held in state institutions. More>>


(Not National): Cross-Party Agreement On Pike River Re-Entry

The commitment was signed this afternoon by the leaders of Labour, United Future, The Maori Party, and the Green Party and, together with the earlier commitment by New Zealand First, means that there is now a Parliamentary majority behind the families’ fight for truth and justice. More>>






Featured InfoPages

Opening the Election
  • PublicAddress
  • Pundit
  • Kiwiblog