Local Govt | National News Video | Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Search


Confirmed election results for Waikato District Council

13 October 2016

Confirmed election results for Waikato District Council

Allan Sanson has been confirmed as Waikato District Council’s mayor.

Final election results were released today. There is no change to the preliminary results released on the weekend. The elected members are:

Awaroa ki Tuakau Ward
Jacqui Church
Stephanie Henderson

Eureka Ward
Rob McGuire (elected unopposed)

Hukanui-Waerenga Ward
Dynes Fulton (elected unopposed)

Huntly Ward
Shelley Lynch
Frank McInally

Newcastle Ward
Noel Smith (elected unopposed)

Ngaruawahia Ward
Eugene Patterson
Janet Gibb

Onewhero-Te Akau Ward
Bronwyn Main

Raglan Ward
Lisa Thomson (elected unopposed)

Tamahere Ward
Aksel Jepsen

Whangamarino Ward
Jan Sedgwick (elected unopposed)

Confirmed results have also been released for the community boards. As Lisa Thomson has been declared as a Councillor for the Raglan Ward, the next highest polling candidate Alan Vink has been elected to the Raglan Community Board. Frank McInally was declared as a Councillor to the Huntly Ward, therefore Sandra Stewart has been elected to the Huntly Community Board.

Full results can be found here: www.votewaikato.co.nz/results


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Gordon Campbell: On The Claims About The CPTPP

As a Tufts study usefully explained, some of the basic mechanisms of the original TPP (and the CCTPP is not radically different in this respect) would – in practice – contribute to income inequality, by further tilting the existing imbalance between those reliant on profit-taking as a source of income, and those reliant on wages...

Under the original TPP deal, the Tufts team estimated, 5,000 jobs would have been lost across New Zealand. More>>


Growing The Regions: Provincial Growth Fund Open For Business

The new $1 billion per annum Provincial Growth Fund has been officially launched in Gisborne today by Regional Economic Development Minister Shane Jones. ... More>>


22/2: Earthquake Memorial Service In Christchurch

"The theme of this year's service, 'Keeping their dreams alive" helps us look back at all that we've lost with a sense of hope and aspiration for the future,'' says the Mayor. "It also helps us to recall all those who came to our rescue and those who offered support at our time of need and what that meant to us." More>>


Submissions Closing: Mangroves Bill 'Designed To Bypass RMA'

Forest & Bird is releasing emails which show the Mangroves Management Bill is intended to completely override the safeguards of the Resource Management Act (RMA). More>>


EQC Shakeup: Chair Of Earthquake Commission Has Resigned

The Chair of the Earthquake Commission, Sir Maarten Wevers, has resigned following receipt of a letter from Minister Responsible for the Earthquake Commission, Dr Megan Woods expressing her displeasure with the performance of the Commission ... More>>


NZer Of the Year: Gender Pay Equity Activist, Kristine Bartlett – A Brilliant Choice

National Council of Women (NCWNZ) CEO and Gender Equal NZ Spokesperson, Dr Gill Greer says she’s delighted with news that equal pay champion, Kristine Bartlett, has been named New Zealander of the Year . More>>


Perceived Transparency: New Zealand #1 Least Corrupt Public Sector In The World

New Zealand's public sector is ranked the least corrupt in the world, according to Transparency International's 2017 Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) released globally today. More>>


Reviews: Three-Year Work Programme For Education

The work programme includes the NCEA review, a review of Tomorrow’s Schools, developing a future-focused Education Workforce Strategy, a continuous focus on raising achievement for Māori and Pasifika learners, an action plan for learning support, an early learning strategic plan, a comprehensive review of school property. More>>





Featured InfoPages