Local Govt | National News Video | Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Search


By-election results

Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Local Board and Waitākere Ranges Local Board by-election results

Following two Auckland Council by-elections, two local board members have been elected:

• Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Local Board (Tāmaki subdivision): Maria Meredith

• Waitākere Ranges Local Board: Ken Turner

Voting closed at noon today and all votes were counted at the Electoral Office, Independent Election Services Ltd, Level 2, 198 Federal Street, Auckland.
Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Local Board

Electoral Officer Dale Ofsoske announced the voting results for Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Local Board as:

1. Maria Meredith (Labour), 2500 votes
2. Todd Morah, 1217 votes
3. Leanne Cross (Independent), 735 votes
4. Hainoame Tutama Fulivai (Independent), 576 votes
5. Patrick O’Meara, 310 votes
6. Thomas Rawiri, 250 votes
7. Annalucia Vermunt (Communist League), 106 votes

The Maungakiekie-Tāmaki Local Board Tāmaki sub-division area encompasses Glen Innes, Point England, Tamaki and Panmure. The by-election followed the election of Josephine Bartley to the Maungakiekie-Tamaki Ward.

Of the 30,423 electors who were issued a voting document, 5,835 (19%) voted.
Ms Meredith will be sworn in at the next Maungakiekie-Tāmaki local board meeting on Tuesday 26 June.

Waitākere Ranges Local Board

Following a by-election, Ken Turner has been elected as a local board member representing the Waitākere Ranges Local Board of Auckland Council.

Electoral Officer Dale Ofsoske announced the voting results as:

1. Ken Turner (WestWards), 3812 votes
2. Michelle Clayton (Independent), 2038 votes
3. Tiaria Fletcher (FutureWest), 1536 votes
4. Rob Gore, 908 votes

The Waitākere Ranges Local Board area encompasses Swanson, Oratia, Glen Eden, Titirangi, Laingholm, Parau, Cornwallis, Huia, Whatipu, Karekare, Waiatarua, Piha, Anawhata and Te Henga. The by-election is due to the passing of Waitakere Local Board member Denise Yates in January 2018.

Of the 36,854 electors who were issued a voting document, 8,578 (23%) voted.
Mr Turner will be sworn in at the next Waitākere Ranges local board meeting on Thursday 14 June.


© Scoop Media

Parliament Headlines | Politics Headlines | Regional Headlines

Suffrage 125: NZ A Trailblazer For Women

“We acknowledge the work of Kate Sheppard, Meri Te Tai Mangakāhia, and all of the suffragists who tirelessly campaigned for the vote. We also acknowledge the men who supported the cause and voted for the Bill to pass.

“Today we also need to ask each other: how we can continue to make our country a fairer and better place to continue the legacy of the suffragists.

“Aotearoa New Zealand has a female Prime Minister, we have women in cabinet. And I’m here as Acting Minister because the Minister for Women Julie Anne Genter is on maternity leave. New Zealand is a good place to be a woman!” More>>


Asylum: Refugee Quota Increasing To 1500

“The quota increase will take place from July 2020. In the meantime, we will work to increase the number and spread of refugee resettlement and support services. We need to make sure we’re prepared for this change in policy.” More>>


'Post-Settlement Era': Māori Crown Agency To Be Established

Cabinet has approved the final scope of the Māori Crown portfolio and agreed to establish an agency to oversee Government’s work with Māori in a post-settlement era, announced Crown/ Māori Relations Minister Kelvin Davis. More>>

Gordon Campbell: On Our Military Roles In Iraq & Afghanistan

The politics of the deployment extension have degenerated into a slanging match about whether the previous National government was right or wrong to make the initial commitment to Iraq – and whether the extension is a responsible thing given our joint training role in Iraq with Australia, or is hypocritical in the light of prior statements made by a previous Labour leader... More>>


Commissioner To Be Appointed: Govt To Dismiss Board Of Whitireia And WelTec

Education Minister Chris Hipkins has made a preliminary decision to appoint a Commissioner to Whitireia and WelTec to address the two polytechnics’ financial woes. More>>


Open Government Action Plan: Government To Proactively Release Cabinet Papers

The Cabinet papers will be released no later than 30 business days after a Cabinet decision. This process will be in place for Cabinet papers lodged from 1 January 2019... More>>


NZ Initiative: Evidence Of "Huge" Government Waste

It is not so much that spending is being literally wasted. Rather the best performing countries are achieving much better outcomes relative to their spending. More>>





InfoPages News Channels