Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Fonterra Shareholders' Councillors-Elect

Joint Returning Officers Kerry Heath and Pam Hikuroa today announced the names of those candidates who will be declared elected to the Shareholders' Council.

Elections for the Shareholders' Council were being held in 10 wards, but in eight of the wards there were the same number of nominees as vacancies. In those wards, Fonterra's Chairman John Roadley will declare the nominees elected as councillors as soon as some formalities have been completed.

The councillors-elect are:

Ward 4 - South Auckland Neil Bateup Lachie Cameron

Ward 7 - Otorohanga Robyn Clements Gordon McIvor

Ward 10 - South Waikato Christina Baldwin George Moss

Ward 13 - Hauraki Conall Buchanan John Bubb

Ward 16 - Central Taranaki Tom Mason Stephen O'Neill

Ward 19 - Wairarapa John Monaghan

Ward 22 - Canterbury North David Irvine David Turner

Ward 25 - South Central / Western Southland Lloyd McCallum The election of a second councillor is pending the results of the Board of Directors' election. The other nominee in ward 25, Philip van der Bijl, is also contesting the Directors' election, and a shareholder can only hold one elected office.

John Bubb, Robyn Clements and David Turner are new councillors. The others are sitting councillors who sought re-election when their wards were selected by lot to hold an election. Under the Council by-laws a third of councillors must retire every year.

In ward 12 - Te Aroha - a casual vacancy occurred due to the resignation of one of the sitting councillors, and no nominations were received. There will be a casual vacancy in that ward and the Shareholders' Council will meet shortly to decide how the vacancy will be filled.

There will be one ward election for Fonterra's Shareholders' Council, in ward 1 - Northern Northland. There are two candidates for the one seat in the ward: Ken Rintoul and Kevin Baxter. Shareholders in Northern Northland will receive two votes (ballot papers) per farm for the Shareholders' Council election.

The Single Transferable Vote (STV) voting system will be used for the elections. Council voting packs with ballot papers will be sent to Ward 1 shareholders on 30 April. Voting will run from 30 April to 17 May and results will be finalised and the appointment made by 31 May.


© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


Media Mega Merger: StuffMe Hearing Argues Over Moveable Feast

New Zealand's two largest news publishers are appealing against the Commerce Commission's rejection of the proposal to merge their operations. More>>


Approval: Northern Corridor Decision Released

The approval gives the green light to construction of the last link of Auckland’s Western Ring Route, providing an alternative route from South Auckland to the North Shore. More>>


Crown Accounts: $4.1 Billion Surplus

The New Zealand Government has achieved its third fiscal surplus in a row with the Crown accounts for the year ended 30 June 2017 showing an OBEGAL surplus of $4.1 billion, $2.2 billion stronger than last year, Finance Minister Steven Joyce says. More>>


Mycoplasma Bovis: One New Property Tests Positive

The newly identified property... was already under a Restricted Place notice under the Biosecurity Act. More>>

Accounting Scandal: Suspension Of Fuji Xerox From All-Of-Government Contract

General Manager of New Zealand Government Procurement John Ivil says, “FXNZ has been formally suspended from the Print Technology and Associated Services (PTAS) contract and terminated from the Office Supplies contract.” More>>