Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Candidates For Fonterra Elections Announced

For Immediate Release Thursday 18 March 2004

Candidates For Fonterra Elections Announced

Four candidates, including the three sitting directors, will contest the 2004 Fonterra Board of Directors election.

Chairman Henry van der Heyden, Mark Townshend and Murray Flett are the sitting directors with Malcolm Bailey the fourth candidate. Each year, a third of the directors elected by the shareholders must retire by rotation. Returning Officer Warwick Lampp says voting for the Board is on the usual basis of milksolids production. Shareholders will receive one ballot paper per farm and have one vote for every 1,000 kg of milksolids. In allocating votes, production is rounded down to the nearest 1,000 kg. There is no cap on votes.

Mr Lampp also confirmed there would be elections in six wards for the Fonterra's Shareholders' Council. Shareholders in these wards will receive two votes (voting papers) per farm for the Shareholders' Council election. The six wards are:

Ward Vacancies Candidates

6 Te Awamutu 2 Kevin Ferris
Gillian Fullerton-Smith
Greg Glover

8 Rotorua 1 Campbell Shearer
Chris Sutton

9 Bay of Plenty 2 Ann Burt
Patricia Pamment
Brian Power
Gerard van Beek

16 Central Taranaki 2 Chris Condon
Murray Cross
Bill Gribble
Roger Hignett
Mark Masters

18 Manawatu 2 Ian Hopkins
Greg Maughan
Grant Rowan

24 Otago/Northern Central Southland 2 Ad Bekkers
Mike Elliot
Russell Falconer

In five other wards, there were the same number of nominees as vacancies for the Shareholders' Council. In those wards, Fonterra's Chairman will declare the nominees elected as councillors once some formalities have been completed.

The councillors-elect are:

Ward 3 - Southern Northland Auckland
Simon Couper
Allan McCracken

Ward 10 - South Waikato
Philip White

Ward 12 - Te Aroha
Stephen Silcock
Michael Spaans

Ward 15 - Coastal Taranaki
Barbara Kuriger
John Washer

Ward 21 - Tasman/Marlborough
Rod O'Bernie

Simon Couper and Philip White are new councillors. The others are sitting councillors who sought re-election when their wards were selected for election by rotation. Under the Council by-laws a third of councillors must retire every year by rotation.

The two elections will run concurrently and the Single Transferable Vote (STV) voting system will be used for both. Voting will run from 14 April to 12 May and results will be finalised and appointments made by 31 May.

Voting packs including voting papers and a video of the Board candidates will be sent to shareholders on 14 April. A series of candidate meetings will also be held to enable Fonterra shareholders to meet and question Board candidates face-to-face.


© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


I Sing The Highway Electric: Charge Net NZ To Connect New Zealand

BMW is turning Middle Earth electric after today announcing a substantial contribution to the charging network Charge Net NZ. This landmark partnership will enable Kiwis to drive their electric vehicles (EVs) right across New Zealand through the installation of a fast charging highway stretching from Kaitaia to Invercargill. More>>


Watch This Space: Mahia Rocket Lab Launch Site Officially Opened

Economic Development Minster Steven Joyce today opened New Zealand’s first orbital launch site, Rocket Lab Launch Complex 1, on the Mahia Peninsula on the North Island’s east coast. More>>


Marketing Rocks!
Ig Nobel Award Winners Assess The Personality Of Rocks

A Massey University marketing lecturer has received the 2016 Ig Nobel Prize for economics for a research project that asked university students to describe the “brand personalities” of three rocks. More>>


Nurofen Promotion: Reckitt Benckiser To Plead Guilty To Misleading Ads

Reckitt Benckiser (New Zealand) intends to plead guilty to charges of misleading consumers over the way it promoted a range of Nurofen products, the Commerce Commission says. More>>


Half A Billion Accounts, Including Xtra: Yahoo Confirms Huge Data Breach

The account information may have included names, email addresses, telephone numbers, dates of birth, hashed passwords (the vast majority with bcrypt) and, in some cases, encrypted or unencrypted security questions and answers. More>>


Rural Branches: Westpac To Close 19 Branches, ANZ Looks At 7

Westpac confirms it will close nineteen branches across the country; ANZ closes its Ngaruawahia branch and is consulting on plans to close six more branches; The bank workers union says many of its members are nervous about their futures and asking ... More>>

Interest Rates: RBNZ's Wheeler Keeps OCR At 2%

Reserve Bank governor Graeme Wheeler kept the official cash rate at 2 percent and said more easing will be needed to get inflation back within the target band. More>>


Get More From Scoop

Search Scoop  
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news