Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


New faces for Fonterra Shareholders' Council

13 May 2004

New faces for Fonterra Shareholders' Council

A number of new faces will join the Fonterra Shareholders' Council following strongly contested elections in five of the co-operative's 25 wards.

In the Rotorua ward, Campbell Shearer replaces retiring Council chairman Tony O'Boyle. Chris Sutton was the unsuccessful candidate.

In the Bay of Plenty four candidates stood for two vacant positions. Returning councillor Brian Power will be joined by Trish Pamment, with Gerard van Beek and Ann Burt the unsuccessful candidates.

Five candidates stood for the two positions in Central Taranaki, with Mark Masters and Bill Gribble successful ahead of Murray Cross, Chris Condon and Roger Hignett.

In the Manawatu, Greg Maughan and Grant Rowan successfully secured the Manawatu seats vacated by newly-elected Fonterra director Malcolm Bailey and Charlie Pedersen, while Ian Hopkins was the unsuccessful candidate.

There were also three candidates for the two positions in the Otago/Northern Central Southland ward. Returning councillor Mike Elliot will be joined by Russell Falconer. Ad Bekkers was the unsuccessful candidate.

Outgoing Council chairman Tony O'Boyle said he was pleased with the level of interest in the Council election, which saw more than 60 percent of eligible voters in some wards taking part.

"That level of interest in the Council is very pleasing and, to me, highlights the importance our farmers place on the Council's role," Mr O'Boyle said.

"I'm sure the new people will continue to build on the valued contributions of the outgoing councillors."

Results from wards where no election was required are as follows: Southern Northland/Auckland, Simon Couper replaces Carl Gordon, Allan McCracken returned unopposed; Te Awamutu, Greg Glover and Kevin Ferris replace Ray Shaw and Allan Mockford; South Waikato, Philip White replaces George Moss, Christina Baldwin returned unopposed; Te Aroha, Stephen Silcock and Michael Spaans returned unopposed; Coastal Taranaki, Barbara Kuriger and John Washer returned unopposed; Tasman/Marlborough, Rod O'Bernie returned unopposed.


© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


ScoopPro: Helping The Education Sector Get More Out Of Scoop

The ScoopPro professional license includes a suite of useful information tools for professional users of Scoop including some specifically for those in the education sector to make your Scoop experience better. More>>

Big Tax Bill Due: Destiny Church Charities Deregistered

The independent Charities Registration Board has decided to remove Destiny International Trust and Te Hahi o Nga Matamua Holdings Limited from the Charities Register on 20 December 2017 because of the charities’ persistent failure to meet their annual return obligations. More>>

57 Million Users' Data: Uber Breach "Utterly Preventatable"

Cybersecurity leader Centrify says the Uber data breach of 57 million customer and driver records - which the ride-hailing company hid for more than a year - was “utterly preventable”. More>>

Scoop 3.0: How You Can Help Scoop’s Evolution

We have big plans for 2018 as we look to expand our public interest journalism coverage, upgrade our publishing infrastructure and offer even more valuable business tools to commercial users of Scoop. More>>

Having A Cow? Dairy Product Prices Slide For Fourth Straight Auction

Dairy product prices fell at the Global Dairy Trade auction, retreating for the fourth straight auction amid signs of increased production... Whole milk powder fell 2.7 percent to US$2,778 a tonne. More>>


Statistics: Butter At Record $5.67/Block; High Vegetable Prices

Rising dairy prices have pushed food prices up 2.7 percent in the year to October 2017, Stats NZ said today. This followed a 3.0 percent increase in the year to September 2017. More>>


Science: New Research Finds Herbicides Cause Antibiotic Resistance

New University of Canterbury research confirms that the active ingredients of the commonly used herbicides, RoundUp, Kamba and 2,4-D (glyphosate, dicamba and 2,4-D, respectively), each alone cause antibiotic resistance at concentrations well below label application rates. More>>