Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Overwhelming Response To New AA Motoring Awards

26 January 2005

Overwhelming Response To New AA Motoring Awards

There has been an overwhelming response to the AA's new Motoring Excellence Awards, which will be presented for the first time in March 2005.

AA President, Graeme Nind, says there has been a 300% increase in vehicle nominations by vehicle manufacturers compared with the Association's previous 'Car of the Year' Awards. Testing on 116 vehicles will take place in Taupo in late February, making it the biggest motoring awards ever held in New Zealand.

"There will be a number of exciting new elements to the AA Motoring Excellence Awards including an overall AA Motoring Excellence Winner, selected from all the category winners," he says.

"This year we have moved on from the previous 'Car of the Year concept. As part of the AA Motoring Excellence Awards we are now offering awards for Excellence in Safety, Environmental Motoring, and Motoring Journalism. There will be eight vehicle award categories that have been redefined to be more consumer-orientated and reflect the specific design features of each vehicle type."

Stella Stocks, General Manager, AA Technical Services says the motoring industry has embraced the new concept, which indicates just how much potential these new awards will have.

"It's not just a case of driving a car around a track. We have to evaluate specific aspects of each vehicle within its class, comparing it with similar vehicles and looking at the overall intended purpose and customer base for that vehicle. While all vehicles will undergo an extensive range of tests, some classes will have specially designed tests to rate class specific items. Overall, all vehicles will be assessed on 'value-for-money'," she says.

"I'm also delighted to announce that the judges for the inaugural AA Motoring Excellence Awards will be leading motoring journalists Brian Cowan, Jacqui Madelin, David Linklater, Rob Maetzig, Phil Hansen, Rally Driver Emma Gilmour and guest judge, Mark Leishman.

The AA Motoring Excellence Awards winners will be announced at a prestigious black tie Dinner at the Langham Hotel in Auckland on Friday the 18th of March 2005. With such strong industry interest, the event is already proving a sell out.


© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


Media Mega Merger: StuffMe Hearing Argues Over Moveable Feast

New Zealand's two largest news publishers are appealing against the Commerce Commission's rejection of the proposal to merge their operations. More>>


Approval: Northern Corridor Decision Released

The approval gives the green light to construction of the last link of Auckland’s Western Ring Route, providing an alternative route from South Auckland to the North Shore. More>>


Crown Accounts: $4.1 Billion Surplus

The New Zealand Government has achieved its third fiscal surplus in a row with the Crown accounts for the year ended 30 June 2017 showing an OBEGAL surplus of $4.1 billion, $2.2 billion stronger than last year, Finance Minister Steven Joyce says. More>>


Mycoplasma Bovis: One New Property Tests Positive

The newly identified property... was already under a Restricted Place notice under the Biosecurity Act. More>>

Accounting Scandal: Suspension Of Fuji Xerox From All-Of-Government Contract

General Manager of New Zealand Government Procurement John Ivil says, “FXNZ has been formally suspended from the Print Technology and Associated Services (PTAS) contract and terminated from the Office Supplies contract.” More>>