Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Fonterra Election Process Begins

Fonterra Election Process Begins

Current Fonterra Directors, Greg Gent, Earl Rattray, and Jim van der Poel have advised they will stand for re-election in the upcoming Fonterra Director elections.

The three Directors are scheduled for re-election as part of the Fonterra Board’s rotational policy. But, following recent changes the Shareholders’ Council made to the Director Elections process, had to advise they would either retire or stand again at least one month prior to nominations opening. This is the first of changes made by Council after consultation with Fonterra shareholders.

Warwick Lampp of has been reappointed as the Returning Officer for the Fonterra Director, Shareholders’ Council and Directors’ Remuneration Committee elections, confirmed all three sitting Directors had stated their intention to stand again.

Sixteen Shareholders’ Councillor positions are also up for election in line with Council’s rotational policy, along with two members of the Directors’ Remuneration Committee. There will be one by-election for a member of Council in Ward 17 South Taranaki.

Councillors who have advised they will stand for re-election are Kevin Baxter, Ward 1 Northern Northland; Lachie Cameron, Ward 4 South Auckland; Robyn Clements, Ward 7 Otorohanga: Philip White, Ward 10 South Waikato; John Bubb, Ward 13 Hauraki; Bill Gribble and Mark Masters, Ward 16 Central Taranaki; John Monaghan, Ward 19 Wairarapa; Lloyd McCallum and Philip van der Bijl, Ward 25 South Central/West Southland.

Councillors retiring are Neil Bateup, Ward 4; Gordon McIvor, Ward 7; Christina Baldwin, Ward 10; Conall Buchanan, Ward 13; David Pearce, Ward 17; David Irvine and David Turner, Ward 25.

Nominations for all elections open on Monday 25 July 2005 and must be received by the Returning Officer by 5.00pm on Wednesday 24 August 2005. Shareholders are eligible to stand for the three Fonterra elections.

Nomination forms and Candidate Information Packs will be available from the Returning Officer next month by phoning the Election Hotline on 0508 666 446.

- Ends -

© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


DIY: Kiwi Ingenuity And Masking Tape Saves Chick

Kiwi ingenuity and masking tape has saved a Kiwi chick after its egg was badly damaged endangering the chick's life. The egg was delivered to Kiwi Encounter at Rainbow Springs in Rotorua 14 days ago by a DOC worker with a large hole in its shell and against all odds has just successfully hatched. More>>


Trade: Key To Lead Mission To India; ASEAN FTA Review Announced

Prime Minister John Key will lead a trade delegation to India next week, saying the pursuit of a free trade agreement with the protectionist giant is "the primary reason we're going" but playing down the likelihood of early progress. More>>



MYOB: Digital Signatures Go Live

From today, Inland Revenue will begin accepting “digital signatures”, saving businesses and their accountants a huge amount of administration time and further reducing the need for pen and paper in the workplace. More>>

Oil Searches: Norway's Statoil Quits Reinga Basin

Statoil, the Norwegian state-owned oil company, has given up oil and gas exploration in Northland's Reinga Basin, saying the probably of a find was 'too low'. More>>


Modern Living: Auckland Development Blowouts Reminiscent Of Run Up To GFC

The collapse of property developments in Auckland is "almost groundhog day" to the run-up of the global financial crisis in 2007/2008 as banks refuse to fund projects due to blowouts in construction and labour costs, says John Kensington, the author of KPMG's Financial Institutions Performance Survey. More>>


Health: New Zealand's First ‘No Sugary Drinks’ Logo Unveiled

New Zealand’s first “no sugary drinks logo” has been unveiled at an event in Wellington... It will empower communities around New Zealand to lift their health and wellbeing and send a clear message about the damage caused by too much sugar in our diets. More>>


Get More From Scoop

Search Scoop  
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news