Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Candidates For Fonterra Elections Announced

Friday 19 August 2005
For Immediate Release


Fonterra Board of Directors Election

There will be no election for the Fonterra Board of Directors in 2005.

This year, the three sitting directors, Greg Gent, Earl Rattray and Jim van der Poel, have been elected unopposed. Each year, a third of the directors elected by the shareholders must retire by rotation.

Mr Lampp also confirmed there would be elections in two wards for the Fonterra’s Shareholders’ Council, and an election for the Directors’ Remuneration Committee.

Shareholders’Council Elections

For the Shareholders’Council wards, shareholders will receive two votes (voting papers) per farm. The two wards are:

Ward Vacancies Candidates

13 Hauraki 2 Michael Karl
Dirk Seiling
John Bubb

17 South Taranaki 1 (retirement) Mike Swift
Ross Johnston

In the eight other wards, there were the same number of nominees as vacancies for the Shareholders’ Council. In those wards, Fonterra’s Chairman will declare the nominees elected as councillors once some formalities have been completed.

The councillors-elect are:

Ward 1 –Northern Northland
Kevin Baxter

Ward 4 – South Auckland
Lachie Cameron
Bill Millar

Ward 7 - Otorohanga
Robyn Clements
William Berkers

Ward 10 –South Waikato
Philip White
Ian Brown

Ward 16 –Central Taranaki
Bill Gribble
Mark Masters

Ward 19 – Wairarapa
John Monaghan

Ward 22 – Canterbury North
Geoff Stevenson
Gail Woods

Ward 25 –South Central/West Southland
Philip van der Bijl
Lloyd McCallum

Bill Millar, William Berkers, Ian Brown, Geoff Stevenson and Gail Woods are new councillors. The others are sitting councillors who sought re-election when their wards were selected for election by rotation. Under the Council by-laws a third of councillors must retire every year by rotation.

Directors’ Remuneration Committee

There are four candidates standing for the two places on the Directors’ Remuneration Committee. Ray Shaw and Murray Holdaway are standing against the two sitting members, Tom Lees and Peter Ferguson.

The three contested elections will run concurrently by postal, fax and internet voting, using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) voting system. Voting will run from 5 September to 10 October with the results announced at the Annual Meeting on Tuesday 11 October at Forum North, Whangarei.

Voting packs will be sent to shareholders on 5 September 2005.


© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


I Sing The Highway Electric: Charge Net NZ To Connect New Zealand

BMW is turning Middle Earth electric after today announcing a substantial contribution to the charging network Charge Net NZ. This landmark partnership will enable Kiwis to drive their electric vehicles (EVs) right across New Zealand through the installation of a fast charging highway stretching from Kaitaia to Invercargill. More>>


Watch This Space: Mahia Rocket Lab Launch Site Officially Opened

Economic Development Minster Steven Joyce today opened New Zealand’s first orbital launch site, Rocket Lab Launch Complex 1, on the Mahia Peninsula on the North Island’s east coast. More>>


Marketing Rocks!
Ig Nobel Award Winners Assess The Personality Of Rocks

A Massey University marketing lecturer has received the 2016 Ig Nobel Prize for economics for a research project that asked university students to describe the “brand personalities” of three rocks. More>>


Nurofen Promotion: Reckitt Benckiser To Plead Guilty To Misleading Ads

Reckitt Benckiser (New Zealand) intends to plead guilty to charges of misleading consumers over the way it promoted a range of Nurofen products, the Commerce Commission says. More>>


Half A Billion Accounts, Including Xtra: Yahoo Confirms Huge Data Breach

The account information may have included names, email addresses, telephone numbers, dates of birth, hashed passwords (the vast majority with bcrypt) and, in some cases, encrypted or unencrypted security questions and answers. More>>


Rural Branches: Westpac To Close 19 Branches, ANZ Looks At 7

Westpac confirms it will close nineteen branches across the country; ANZ closes its Ngaruawahia branch and is consulting on plans to close six more branches; The bank workers union says many of its members are nervous about their futures and asking ... More>>

Interest Rates: RBNZ's Wheeler Keeps OCR At 2%

Reserve Bank governor Graeme Wheeler kept the official cash rate at 2 percent and said more easing will be needed to get inflation back within the target band. More>>


Get More From Scoop

Search Scoop  
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news