Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Candidates For Fonterra Elections Announced

Candidates For Fonterra Elections Announced

There will be an election for the Fonterra Board of Directors this year. There are five candidates for the three vacancies on the Board. Nominations closed at midday Friday 18 August.

The five candidates for the Board of Directors’ election are Gavin Faull, Barbara Kuriger, Colin Armer, and the two incumbent Directors, Stuart Nattrass and John Wilson. All five candidates have undertaken the Candidate Assessment Panel (CAP) process.

This is the first time Fonterra shareholders will be provided with an Assessment Matrix for each candidate. The assessment outlines candidates’ levels of skill and experience in key governance competencies.

The Returning Officer, Warwick Lampp, also confirmed there would be an election in one ward for the Shareholders’ Council, and no election for the Directors’ Remuneration Committee, as shareholders Rodney Wilson and Murray King have been elected unopposed.

The two contested elections will run concurrently by postal, fax and internet voting, using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) voting system. Voting will run from 5 September to 10 October with the results announced at the Annual Meeting on Wednesday 11 October in Invercargill. Voting packs will be sent to shareholders on 5 September 2005.

Nominations received for the Shareholders’ Council wards are:

Ward Vacancies Candidates
23 Canterbury South 2 Tom Mason
Desiree Reid
John Saywell

In the nine other wards, there were the same numbers of nominees as vacancies. In those wards, Fonterra’s Board Chairman will declare the nominees elected as Shareholders’ Councillors once formalities have been completed.

The Shareholders’ Councillors-elect are:

Ward 2 - Central Northland
Mark Croucher; Murray Douglas

Ward 3 - Southern Northland
Dirk Sieling

Ward 4 - South Auckland
Stuart Muir

Ward 5 - Hamilton
Neil McLean; Henk Weijers

Ward 8 - Rotorua
Allan Crafar; Campbell Shearer

Ward 11 - Matamata
David Gasquoine; Tony Sclater

Ward 14 - Northern Taranaki
Nick Barrett; Blue Read

Ward 17 - Northern Taranaki
David Hopkins, Ross Johnston

Ward 20 - Hawke’s Bay
Dean Nikora

Dirk Sieling and Stuart Muir are the only new Shareholders’ Councillors. The remaining Councillors were re-elected unopposed.

Fonterra Shareholders are also being given the opportunity to meet and ask the Director candidates any questions at the following Director Candidate Roadshow meetings.

Location Day and Date Time Venue
Morrinsville Monday, 11 September 10.00am Tatuanui Hall, State Highway 27, Morrinsville
Te Awamutu 1.30pm Whitby Farm Homestead, 5022 Ohaupo Road, State Highway 3, Te Awamutu
Palmerston North 7.30pm Novotel Hotel, 175 Cuba Street, Palmerston North
Hawera Tuesday, 12 September 10.00am Capacity Lounge (upstairs), Hawera Racecourse, Waihi Road, Hawera
New Plymouth 1.00pm Plymouth International Hotel, Corner Courtenay and Leach Streets, New Plymouth
Christchurch 7:30pm Sudima Airport Hotel, Corner Memorial Avenue and Orchard Road, Christchurch
Balclutha Wednesday, 13 September 11.00am South Otago Town and Country Club, Yarmouth Street, Balclutha
Invercargill 7:00pm Ascot Park Hotel, Corner Tay Street and Racecourse Road, Invercargill
Ashburton Thursday, 14 September 11.00am Ashburton Hotel, Valetta Lounge, Racecourse Road, Ashburton
Nelson 7.30pm Trailways Motor Inn, Trafalgar Street, Nelson
Edgecumbe Friday, 15 September 11.30am Fonterra Edgecumbe Site Café Meeting Room, Edgecumbe
Rotorua 7.30pm Millenium Hotel, Corner Eruera and Hinemaru Streets, Rotorua
Whangarei Monday, 18 September 10:30am Forum North, Rust Avenue, Whangarei
Pukekohe 7.30pm Fields Function Centre, Stadium Drive, Pukekohe


© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


Nurofen Promotion: Reckitt Benckiser To Plead Guilty To Misleading Ads

Reckitt Benckiser (New Zealand) intends to plead guilty to charges of misleading consumers over the way it promoted a range of Nurofen products, the Commerce Commission says. More>>


Half A Billion Accounts: Yahoo Confirms Huge Data Breach

The account information may have included names, email addresses, telephone numbers, dates of birth, hashed passwords (the vast majority with bcrypt) and, in some cases, encrypted or unencrypted security questions and answers. More>>

Rural Branches: Westpac To Close 19 Branches, ANZ Looks At 7

Westpac confirms it will close nineteen branches across the country; ANZ closes its Ngaruawahia branch and is consulting on plans to close six more branches; The bank workers union says many of its members are nervous about their futures and asking ... More>>

Interest Rates: RBNZ's Wheeler Keeps OCR At 2%

Reserve Bank governor Graeme Wheeler kept the official cash rate at 2 percent and said more easing will be needed to get inflation back within the target band. More>>


Half Full: Fonterra Raises Forecast Payout As Global Supply Shrinks

Fonterra Cooperative Group, the dairy processor which will announce annual earnings tomorrow, hiked its forecast payout to farmers by 50 cents per kilogram of milk solids as global supply continues to decline, helping prop up dairy prices. More>>



Meat Trade: Silver Fern Farms Gets Green Light For Shanghai Maling Deal

The government has given the green light for China's Shanghai Maling Aquarius to acquire half of Silver Fern Farms, New Zealand's biggest meat company, with ministers satisfied it will deliver "substantial and identifiable benefit". More>>


Get More From Scoop

Search Scoop  
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news