Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Ray Avery wins prestigious innovation award


Media Release - 15 August 2008

Ray Avery wins prestigious innovation award

Auckland entrepreneur Ray Avery was picked from a strong field of ten finalists to win a Bayer Innovators Award for the Acuset flow controller, which administers intravenous fluids and medicines.

The awards ceremony was held in Auckland at the Hyatt Hotel last week (05 August).

Ray won the research and development category of the Bayer Innovators Awards, one of six categories encompassing a wide range of industries and sectors.

The Acuset flow controller was recognised by the judge as simple and cheap – and a breakthrough in health equipment that has implications for clinical treatment around the world.

It replaces the difficult to use and often inaccurate ‘roller clamp’ for administering intravenous fluids and medicines to gravely ill patients in developing countries.

The Acuset flow controller costs less than $10 and delivers the same results as expensive microprocessor syringe pumps that cost thousands of dollars.

More than a hundred people representing 60 finalists across six categories attended the Awards.

Hans-Dieter Hausner, Senior Country Representative Bayer Australia and New Zealand said that as a global company with a proud history of research and development, Bayer recognised the link between innovation and business success.

“At any one time Bayer is involved in up to 100 research trials in New Zealand, whether it’s a new cancer treatment, a new crop protection product or a new cattle drench, said Hans-Dieter Hausner.

Last year Bayer spent more than NZ$5 billion on research and development.

“Innovation is the key to future business success, which is why we support the Bayer Innovators Awards in association with the National Business Review.”

The six category award winners in the Bayer Innovators Awards were:

1. Agriculture and environment: Johan Verbeek, University of Waikato & Novatein, Waikato.
2. Design and Engineering: Chris Mardon and Tom Mackenzie, Energy Mad, Christchurch.
3. Information Technology and Communications: Mike Carden and Mark Hellier, Sonar 6, Auckland.
4. Manufacturing: David Percy, Pertronic, Hutt Valley.
5. Research and Development: Ray Avery, Medicine Mondiale, Auckland.
6. Science and Health: Olaf Diegel, AUT University, Auckland.


© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


Crown Accounts: Slightly Softer Growth Expected In PREFU

A slightly softer growth forecast is the main feature of largely unchanged Pre-election Fiscal Update compared to the Budget forecasts three months ago, Finance Minister Steven Joyce says. More>>


Water: Farming Leaders Pledge To Help Make Rivers Swimmable

In a first for the country, farming leaders have pledged to work together to help make New Zealand’s rivers swimmable for future generations. More>>


Unintended Consequences: Liquor Change For Grocery Stores On Tobacco Tax

Changes in the law made to enable grocery stores to continue holding liquor licences to sell alcohol despite increases in tobacco taxes will take effect on 15 September 2017. More>>

Back Again: Government Approves TPP11 Mandate

Trade Minister Todd McClay says New Zealand will be pushing for the minimal number of changes possible to the original TPP agreement, something that the remaining TPP11 countries have agreed on. More>>


By May 2018: Wider, Earlier Microbead Ban

The sale and manufacture of wash-off products containing plastic microbeads will be banned in New Zealand earlier than previously expected, Associate Environment Minister Scott Simpson announced today. More>>