Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Olaf Diegel wins prestigious innovation award


Media Release - 15 August 2008

Olaf Diegel wins prestigious innovation award

Auckland entrepreneur Professor Olaf Diegel was picked from a strong field of ten finalists to win a Bayer Innovators Award for the Activa Xrystal, a blood pressure monitor.

The awards ceremony was held in Auckland at the Hyatt Hotel last week (05 August).

Professor Diegel won the science and health category of the Bayer Innovators Awards, one of six categories encompassing a wide range of industries and sectors.

The Activa Xrystal was recognised as having clear benefits and enormous potential. It uses LCD technology to minimise parts and software that tracks blood-sugar levels and body-weight so people can take preventative measures before they become ill.

The chances are Xrystal will become even smarter as it expands into more preventative medicine areas such as asthma and forecasting conditions that could lead to cardiovascular disease.

More than a hundred people representing 60 finalists across six categories attended the Awards.

Hans-Dieter Hausner, Senior Country Representative Bayer Australia and New Zealand said that as a global company with a proud history of research and development, Bayer recognised the link between innovation and business success.

“At any one time Bayer is involved in up to 100 research trials in New Zealand, whether it’s a new cancer treatment, a new crop protection product or a new cattle drench, said Hans-Dieter Hausner.

Last year Bayer spent more than NZ$5 billion on research and development.

“Innovation is the key to future business success, which is why we support the Bayer Innovators Awards in association with the National Business Review.”

The six category award winners in the Bayer Innovators Awards were:

1. Agriculture and environment: Johan Verbeek, University of Waikato & Novatein, Waikato.
2. Design and Engineering: Chris Mardon and Tom Mackenzie, Energy Mad, Christchurch.
3. Information Technology and Communications: Mike Carden and Mark Hellier, Sonar 6, Auckland.
4. Manufacturing: David Percy, Pertronic, Hutt Valley.
5. Research and Development: Ray Avery, Medicine Mondiale, Auckland.
6. Science and Health: Olaf Diegel, AUT University, Auckland.


© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


Back Again: Government Approves TPP11 Mandate

Trade Minister Todd McClay says New Zealand will be pushing for the minimal number of changes possible to the original TPP agreement, something that the remaining TPP11 countries have agreed on. More>>


By May 2018: Wider, Earlier Microbead Ban

The sale and manufacture of wash-off products containing plastic microbeads will be banned in New Zealand earlier than previously expected, Associate Environment Minister Scott Simpson announced today. More>>


Snail-ier Mail: NZ Post To Ditch FastPost

New Zealand Post customers will see a change to how they can send priority mail from 1 January 2018. The FastPost service will no longer be available from this date. More>>


Property Institute: English Backs Of Debt To Income Plan

Property Institute of New Zealand Chief Executive Ashley Church is applauding today’s decision, by Prime Minister Bill English, to take Debt-to-income ratios off the table as a tool available to the Reserve Bank. More>>


Divesting: NZ Super Fund Shifts Passive Equities To Low-Carbon

The NZ$35 billion NZ Super Fund’s NZ$14 billion global passive equity portfolio, 40% of the overall Fund, is now low-carbon, the Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation announced today. More>>