Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Nominations Have Closed For 08 Fonterra Elections

Media Release
26 September 2008


Nominations for the 2008 Fonterra Elections closed at 12 noon on Friday, 26 September 2008.

The Candidates for the Fonterra Board of Directors’ Election will be announced on Friday, 10 October 2008 following the completion of the Candidate Assessment Panel (CAP) process. Board of Directors’ Candidates must confirm their nomination with the Returning Officer by this date. The CAP interviews are being held on 2 and 3 October 2008.

The Returning Officer, Warwick Lampp, also confirmed there will be an election for two places on the Directors’Remuneration Committee, as shareholders Heather Ballantyne, Murray Holdaway, and Philip Wilson have been nominated.

Nominations were also called for candidates for the Shareholders’ Council in 14 wards. Elections will be required in two wards, as follows:

Ward Candidate
1 Northern Northland Richard Dampney
Terence Brocx

22 Central Taranaki Grant Boyde
Noel Caskey

There was only one nomination received in the 12 other wards. In these wards, Fonterra’s Board Chairman will declare the nominees elected as Councillors at the Annual Meeting on 26 November 2008.

The Councillors-elect are:

Ward Candidate
4 – Southern Northland Simon Couper
6 – Hauraki Peter West
7 – Coromandel Dirk Sieling
10 – Te Aroha Graham Hallett
13 – Matamata Grant Wills
16 – Rotorua Steve Carroll
19 – Taupo Campbell Shearer
25 – Northern Manawatu Ellen Bartlett
27 – Southern Manawatu David Manderson
28 – Wairarapa Philip Palmer
31 – Central Canterbury John Nicholls
34 – Eastern Southland Lloyd McCallum

Ellen Bartlett, David Manderson and John Nicholls are new Shareholders’ Councillors. The remaining Councillors were incumbents who were elected unopposed.

Voter Packs, containing candidate profiles, will be mailed to shareholders on Tuesday, 28 October 2008. Shareholders can vote by internet, fax and postal voting, using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) voting system.

The voting period is from 28 October until 12 noon on 25 November 2008 with the results being announced at Fonterra’s Annual Meeting in Palmerston North on Wednesday, 26 November 2008.


© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


By May 2018: Wider, Earlier Microbead Ban

The sale and manufacture of wash-off products containing plastic microbeads will be banned in New Zealand earlier than previously expected, Associate Environment Minister Scott Simpson announced today. More>>


Snail-ier Mail: NZ Post To Ditch FastPost

New Zealand Post customers will see a change to how they can send priority mail from 1 January 2018. The FastPost service will no longer be available from this date. More>>


Property Institute: English Backs Of Debt To Income Plan

Property Institute of New Zealand Chief Executive Ashley Church is applauding today’s decision, by Prime Minister Bill English, to take Debt-to-income ratios off the table as a tool available to the Reserve Bank. More>>


Divesting: NZ Super Fund Shifts Passive Equities To Low-Carbon

The NZ$35 billion NZ Super Fund’s NZ$14 billion global passive equity portfolio, 40% of the overall Fund, is now low-carbon, the Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation announced today. More>>


Split Decision - Appeal Planned: EPA Allows Taranaki Bight Seabed Mine

The Decision-making Committee, appointed by the Board of the Environmental Protection Authority to decide a marine consent application by Trans-Tasman Resources Ltd, has granted consent, subject to conditions, for the company to mine iron sands off the South Taranaki Bight. More>>