Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Candidates For Board Election Confirmed

Media Release
Friday 10 October 2008

Candidates For Fonterra Board Of Directors’ Election Confirmed

Candidates for the Fonterra Directors’ election were announced by the Returning Officer today, following the completion of the Candidate Assessment Panel (CAP) process.

This year there are four candidates standing for the Board. They are John Monaghan and the three incumbents Greg Gent, Earl Rattray and Jim van der Poel.

The CAP process is available to assess the capabilities, experience and qualifications of Director candidates and provide Fonterra shareholders with more information to help in making an informed vote. The CAP process was open to all Director candidates and while it was not compulsory, all four candidates this year have gone through the CAP process.

The Panel, consisting of independent Chairman, John Palmer, two members appointed by the Fonterra Board, Henry van der Heyden and Roger France, and two appointed by the Shareholders’ Council, Blue Read and independent John Loughlin, interviewed prospective candidates on 2 and 3 October 2008.

The results of the Panel’s assessment and profiles of the candidates will be sent to Fonterra shareholders with the Voting Papers and displayed on

Fonterra shareholders have the opportunity to meet Director candidates and ask questions at the Directors’ Election Candidate Roadshow meetings which have been scheduled for 10 – 14 November 2008. The dates and venues for the Roadshow meetings are:

AucklandMonday, 10 November
7.30amCentra Auckland Airport Hotel
Corner Kirkbride and Ascot Roads
WhangareiMonday, 10 November
11.30amNorthland Cricket Association
Spire Pavilion Lounge
Okara Drive
Te Aroha
Monday, 10 November 7.30pmTe Aroha Club
42 Centennial Avenue
RotoruaTuesday, 11 November11.00amDistinction Hotel and Conference Centre
390 Fenton Street
Te AwamutuTuesday, 11 November 7.30pmTe Awamutu Rugby Sports Club
420 Albert Park Drive
Palmerston NorthWednesday, 12 November11.00amPalmerston North Convention Centre
354 Main Street
StratfordWednesday, 12 November 7.30pmTET Multisports Centre
Portia Street
NelsonThursday, 13 November11.00amTrailways Hotel Nelson
66 Trafalgar Street
AshburtonThursday, 13 November 7.30pmHotel Ashburton
Racecourse Road
BalcluthaFriday, 14 November11.30amSouth Otago Town and Country Club
1 Yarmouth Street
InvercargillFriday, 14 November 7.30pmAscot Park Hotel
Corner Tay Street and Racecourse Road

Elections for the Fonterra Shareholders’ Council will be required in two wards as follows:

1 Northern NorthlandRichard Dampney
Terence Brocx
22 Central TaranakiGrant Boyde
Noel Caskey

There was only one nomination received in each of the 12 other wards.

The Councillors-elect are:

4 – Southern NorthlandSimon Couper
6 – HaurakiPeter West
7 – CoromandelDirk Sieling
10 – Te ArohaGraham Hallett
13 – MatamataGrant Wills
16 – RotoruaSteve Carroll
19 – TaupoCampbell Shearer
25 – Northern ManawatuEllen Bartlett
27 – Southern ManawatuDavid Manderson
28 – WairarapaPhilip Palmer
31 – Central CanterburyJohn Nicholls
34 – Eastern SouthlandLloyd McCallum

Ellen Bartlett, David Manderson and John Nicholls are new Shareholders’ Councillors. The remaining are incumbents who were elected unopposed.

None of the candidates for Wards 1 and 22 are incumbent Councillors. The Shareholders’ Council will therefore have five new Councillors in total after the Fonterra Annual Meeting on 26 November 2008.

Fonterra’s Board Chairman will declare those elected as Councillors at the Annual Meeting on Wednesday, 26 November 2008 at the Awapuni Function Centre, Palmerston North.

There will also be an election for two places on the Directors’ Remuneration Committee, as shareholders Heather Ballantyne, Murray Holdaway and Philip Wilson have been nominated.

Voter Packs, containing candidate profiles, will be mailed to shareholders on Tuesday, 28 October 2008. The candidate profiles document will include the Candidate Assessment Panel’s assessment matrix, outlining each candidate’s level of skill and experience in key governance competencies. Each candidate profile will also include an Interest Statement.

Shareholders can vote by internet, fax and postal voting, using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) voting system. Voting is open from Tuesday, 28 October to midday on Tuesday, 25 November with the results announced at the Annual Meeting on Wednesday, 26 November 2008.


© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


By May 2018: Wider, Earlier Microbead Ban

The sale and manufacture of wash-off products containing plastic microbeads will be banned in New Zealand earlier than previously expected, Associate Environment Minister Scott Simpson announced today. More>>


Snail-ier Mail: NZ Post To Ditch FastPost

New Zealand Post customers will see a change to how they can send priority mail from 1 January 2018. The FastPost service will no longer be available from this date. More>>


Property Institute: English Backs Of Debt To Income Plan

Property Institute of New Zealand Chief Executive Ashley Church is applauding today’s decision, by Prime Minister Bill English, to take Debt-to-income ratios off the table as a tool available to the Reserve Bank. More>>


Divesting: NZ Super Fund Shifts Passive Equities To Low-Carbon

The NZ$35 billion NZ Super Fund’s NZ$14 billion global passive equity portfolio, 40% of the overall Fund, is now low-carbon, the Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation announced today. More>>


Split Decision - Appeal Planned: EPA Allows Taranaki Bight Seabed Mine

The Decision-making Committee, appointed by the Board of the Environmental Protection Authority to decide a marine consent application by Trans-Tasman Resources Ltd, has granted consent, subject to conditions, for the company to mine iron sands off the South Taranaki Bight. More>>