Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Voting For The 2008 Fonterra Elections Underway

Media Release
Wednesday, 29 October 2008

Voting For The 2008 Fonterra Elections Underway

Voting is now open for the 2008 Fonterra Board of Directors’ and Directors’ Remuneration Committee elections, as well as for Shareholders’ Councillors in Wards 1 (Northern Northland) and 22 (Central Taranaki).

This year there are four candidates standing for the three positions on the Board of Directors. They are John Monaghan and the three incumbent Directors Greg Gent, Earl Rattray and Jim van der Poel. All four candidates have taken part in the Candidate Assessment Panel process.

Two members will be elected to the Directors’ Remuneration Committee in a nationwide vote from a choice of three shareholder candidates, Heather Ballantyne, Murray Holdaway and Philip Wilson.

Shareholders in the following wards will also be electing a Shareholders’ Councillor:

1 Northern Northland Richard Dampney
Terence Brocx
22 Central Taranaki Grant Boyde
Noel Caskey

On-line secure voting is again available this year via Fax voting and postal voting can also be used.

Voting closes at 12 noon on Tuesday, 25 November 2008 and results will be announced at the Fonterra Annual Meeting on Wednesday, 26 November 2008 at the Awapuni Function Centre in Palmerston North. Shareholders will be advised of the election results in a letter from the Board Chair and via

Fonterra shareholders have the opportunity to meet Director candidates and ask them questions at the following Directors’ Election Candidate Roadshow meetings.

Auckland Monday, 10 November
7.30am Centra Auckland Airport Hotel
Corner Kirkbride and Ascot Roads
Whangarei Monday, 10 November
11.30am Northland Cricket Association
Spire Pavilion Lounge
Okara Drive
Te Aroha
Monday, 10 November 7.30pm Te Aroha Club
42 Centennial Avenue
Rotorua Tuesday, 11 November 11.00am Distinction Hotel and Conference Centre
390 Fenton Street
Te Awamutu Tuesday, 11 November 7.30pm Te Awamutu Rugby Sports Club
420 Albert Park Drive
Palmerston North Wednesday, 12 November 11.00am Palmerston North Convention Centre
354 Main Street
Stratford Wednesday, 12 November 7.30pm TET Multisports Centre
Portia Street
Nelson Thursday, 13 November 11.00am Trailways Hotel Nelson
66 Trafalgar Street
Ashburton Thursday, 13 November 7.30pm Hotel Ashburton
Racecourse Road
Balclutha Friday, 14 November 11.30am South Otago Town and Country Club
1 Yarmouth Street
Invercargill Friday, 14 November 7.30pm Ascot Park Hotel
Corner Tay Street and Racecourse Road

Any queries regarding the election should be directed to the Returning Officer on the Election Hotline free phone 0508 666 446.

- ENDS -

© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


Crown Accounts: Slightly Softer Growth Expected In PREFU

A slightly softer growth forecast is the main feature of largely unchanged Pre-election Fiscal Update compared to the Budget forecasts three months ago, Finance Minister Steven Joyce says. More>>


Water: Farming Leaders Pledge To Help Make Rivers Swimmable

In a first for the country, farming leaders have pledged to work together to help make New Zealand’s rivers swimmable for future generations. More>>


Unintended Consequences: Liquor Change For Grocery Stores On Tobacco Tax

Changes in the law made to enable grocery stores to continue holding liquor licences to sell alcohol despite increases in tobacco taxes will take effect on 15 September 2017. More>>

Back Again: Government Approves TPP11 Mandate

Trade Minister Todd McClay says New Zealand will be pushing for the minimal number of changes possible to the original TPP agreement, something that the remaining TPP11 countries have agreed on. More>>


By May 2018: Wider, Earlier Microbead Ban

The sale and manufacture of wash-off products containing plastic microbeads will be banned in New Zealand earlier than previously expected, Associate Environment Minister Scott Simpson announced today. More>>