Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Candidates For Fonterra Board of Directors’ Election

Tuesday, 1 October 2013                     For Immediate Release

Candidates For Fonterra Board of Directors’ Election Confirmed

Candidates for the Fonterra Directors’ Election were announced by the Returning Officer today, following the completion of the Candidate Assessment Panel (CAP) process.

This year there are five candidates standing for the Board of Directors.  They are Eric Ray, Donna Smit, Michael Spaans, Malcolm Bailey and Ian Farrelly.

As in previous years, the CAP process was available to assess the capabilities, experience and qualifications of Director candidates and provide Fonterra shareholders with more information to help in making an informed vote.  While the CAP process is open to all Director candidates, it is not compulsory.  This year four of the five candidates went through CAP.

The Panel, consisting of independent Chairman, Bill Falconer, two members appointed by the Fonterra Board, John Spencer and John Wilson, and two appointed by the Shareholders’ Council, Ian Brown and independent Cathy Quinn, interviewed prospective candidates during September.  The results of the Panel’s assessment and profiles of the candidates will be sent to Fonterra shareholders with the voting papers on Friday, 1 November and will also be displayed on Fencepost via

Directors’ Election Candidate Roadshow
Fonterra shareholders have the opportunity to meet Director candidates and ask questions at the twelve Directors’ Election Candidate Roadshow meetings which are scheduled to run from Sunday, 10 – Friday, 15 November 2013.  The dates and venues for the Roadshow meetings are:

Sunday, 10 November7.00pmInvercargillAscot Park Hotel
Cnr of Tay Street and Racecourse Road, Invercargill
Monday, 11 November10.30amBalcluthaSouth Otago Town & Country Club
1 Yarmouth Street, Balclutha
Monday, 11 November7.00pmOamaruBrydone Hotel
115 Thames Street, Oamaru
Tuesday, 12 November10.30amChristchurchSudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Cnr Memorial Avenue & Orchard Road, Christchurch
Tuesday, 12 November7.00pmNelsonSeifrieds
184 Redwood Road, Appleby
Wednesday, 13 November10.30amPalmerston NorthPalmerston North Convention Centre
354 Main Street, Palmerston North
Wednesday, 13 November7.00pmStratfordTET Multi Sports Centre
65 Portia Street, Stratford
Thursday, 14 November9.30amTe AwamutuTe Awamutu Sports & Recreation Club
420 Albert Park Drive, Te Awamutu
Thursday, 14 November2.00pmMatamataMatamata Club
9 Waharoa Road East, Matamata
Thursday, 14 November7.00pmRotoruaNovotel Hotel
Lake End, Tutanekai Street, Rotorua
Friday, 15 November10.30amWhangareiNorthland Events Centre – Toll Stadium
51 Okara Drive, Whangarei
Friday, 15 November4.00pmPukekoheCounties Function Centre
Pukekohe Park, 242-250 Manukau Road, Pukekohe

Shareholders’ Council Elections
Elections for the Fonterra Shareholders’ Council are required in two wards, as follows:

Ward 8 HamiltonBruce Haultain
Grant Coombes
Ross Wallis
Ward 21 Coastal TaranakiLloyd Morgan
Vaughn Brophy

There was one nomination received in 10 of the other 12 wards, and two nominations in Ward 33 Otago.  No election will be held in these wards.  The formal declaration of these candidates as Shareholders’ Councillors will be made in conjunction with the results of the elections at the Annual Meeting.

The Councillors-elect are:

Ward 3 Northern Wairoa                           Penny Smart
Ward 6 Hauraki                                         Julie Pirie
Ward 9 Morrinsville                                   Malcolm Piggott
Ward 12 Cambridge                                  Kevin Monks
Ward 15 South Waikato                            Ian Brown
Ward 18 Otorohanga                                Duncan Coull
Ward 24 Southern Taranaki                      David Werder
Ward 27 Southern Manawatu                   Richard Syme
Ward 30 Northern Central Canterbury     Ange Ward
Ward 32 Southern Canterbury                  John Gregan
Ward 33 Otago                                          Ad Bekkers and Ivan Lines

There were no nominations received in Ward 31 Mid Canterbury for a second Councillor. Charles Whitehead is the incumbent in that ward and continues in his role.  The Shareholders’ Council will review the situation in that ward in the near future.

All successful candidates take office at the close of the 2013 Fonterra Annual Meeting of Shareholders. 

The successful candidate in Ward 8 Hamilton will hold office until 2015 when the vacating Councillor was due to retire by rotation unless the review of ward boundaries leads to changes in that ward.

The Councillors-elect in Ward 32 Southern Canterbury and Ward 33 Otago will hold office for one year by which time the ward boundary review will have taken place and appropriate amendments to existing wards implemented in time for the 2014 election cycle.

Directors’ Remuneration Committee and Fonterra Farmer Custodian Trust Elections
The Returning Officer, Warwick Lampp, also confirmed there will not be an election for the Directors’ Remuneration Committee, as shareholders Scott Montgomery and Gerard Wolvers have been elected unopposed.  Paul Todd has also been elected unopposed as the Fonterra Farmer Custodian Trustee.

Voting Period, Voting Methods and Notification of Election Results
Voting Packs, containing candidate profiles, will be mailed to eligible shareholders on Friday, 1 November 2013.  Shareholders can vote by internet, fax or post, using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system.

The voting period is from Friday, 1 November until 10.30am on Monday, 25 November 2013 with the results being announced later that day.

Warwick Lampp
Returning Officer – 2013 Fonterra Elections
Mobile:     021 498 517

Election Helpline: Freephone 0508 666 446


© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


$7.5 Billion Surplus: Government Accounts "Show Strong Economy"

“The surplus and low levels of debt show the economy is in good shape. This allows the Government to spend more on infrastructure and make record investments in health and education,” Grant Robertson says. More>>


New OIO Application Trumps Judicial Review: OceanaGold Cleared To Buy Land For Waihi Tailings Expansion

In a surprise turnaround, the government has given OceanaGold a greenlight to buy land to expand its Waihi mine after the application was previously turned down by Land Information Minister Eugenie Sage. More>>


Christchurch Rebuild: Fletcher Sued For $7.5m Over Justice Precinct

Fletcher Building is being sued for $7.5 million by utilities contractor Electrix, one of the subcontractors on the Christchurch Justice and Emergency Services Precinct. More>>

Three New Drugs: PHARMAC Signs Bundle Deal For More Cancer Medicines

420 New Zealanders with lung cancer, breast cancer, multiple sclerosis and respiratory disease will benefit each year from a bundle deal PHARMAC has finalised with a medicine supplier. More>>


"Levels Playing Field": Government Responds To Electricity Price Review

The changes announced today include: • Supporting new and independent retailers by requiring the big power companies to sell into the wholesale market at affordable rates. • Extending discount rates to all customers • A pilot scheme to help customers who have not switched power providers before to shop around for better deals... More>>