Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Entries Open for Fifth Annual NZ Commercial Project Awards

Media release

For immediate release

August 29 2016

Entries Open for Fifth Annual NZ Commercial Project Awards

The search is on for the country’s top commercial building – with entries now open for the fifth annual New Zealand Commercial Project Awards.

The Awards – an evolution of the Registered Master Builders Commercial Project Awards – are open to all New Zealand commercial construction project partners, including contractors, architects, quantity surveyors, engineers and property owners. The Awards aim to recognise the contribution of the whole team, rather than just the building itself, and the importance of strong working relationships and collaboration to ensure a successful commercial project.

"The past four years have seen projects from across the country – from Dunedin to Whangarei – crowned as the New Zealand Commercial Project of the year," says Awards spokesperson Greg Pritchard.

"The winning projects have come from a range of categories, showing the diversity of commercial projects represented and the outstanding quality across the sector. As we head into our fifth anniversary, we look forward to seeing the entries this milestone year will bring."

Sponsored by industry heavyweights PlaceMakers, James Hardie, NALCO, GIB, and Allied Concrete, entrants in the Awards vie for gold, silver and bronze awards as well as national category wins and the coveted supreme award.

In 2017, awards will be given for the best Heritage/Restoration, Retail, Civic, Education, and Industrial projects, alongside the James Hardie Commercial Project Award, the PlaceMakers Tourism and Leisure Award, the Nalco Health Project Award and Winstone Wallboards Residential Project Award. There are also four value-based awards, with categories ranging from projects under two million dollars through to over $15 million – and a Special Award for an outstanding project or element of a project worthy of recognition. The highest accolade of the Awards – the Platinum Award – is given to named members of the project team who have won five or more national titles and is awarded to an organisation once.

Entries are open online now at close Monday October 31 2016. Winners will be a announced at a national gala event on 12 May 2017 in Auckland.


© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


Crown Accounts: Slightly Softer Growth Expected In PREFU

A slightly softer growth forecast is the main feature of largely unchanged Pre-election Fiscal Update compared to the Budget forecasts three months ago, Finance Minister Steven Joyce says. More>>


Water: Farming Leaders Pledge To Help Make Rivers Swimmable

In a first for the country, farming leaders have pledged to work together to help make New Zealand’s rivers swimmable for future generations. More>>


Unintended Consequences: Liquor Change For Grocery Stores On Tobacco Tax

Changes in the law made to enable grocery stores to continue holding liquor licences to sell alcohol despite increases in tobacco taxes will take effect on 15 September 2017. More>>

Back Again: Government Approves TPP11 Mandate

Trade Minister Todd McClay says New Zealand will be pushing for the minimal number of changes possible to the original TPP agreement, something that the remaining TPP11 countries have agreed on. More>>


By May 2018: Wider, Earlier Microbead Ban

The sale and manufacture of wash-off products containing plastic microbeads will be banned in New Zealand earlier than previously expected, Associate Environment Minister Scott Simpson announced today. More>>