Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Finalists Reflect Changing Face of Construction Industry

Women are flourishing throughout New Zealand’s construction sector with 39 finalists in the third annual Hays NAWIC Excellence Awards reflecting the outstanding contribution being made by women across the industry.

The awards, which will be held at the Aotea Centre in Auckland on Friday 18th August, celebrate the achievements of women in construction along with honouring organisations which are actively working to redress the industry’s gender imbalance.

NAWIC president Donna Howell says the finalists are blazing a trail for others to follow while showcasing the huge variety of career opportunities for women in construction.

“We had over 80 entries this year which made it very difficult to select the finalists from among so many talented women. It’s inspiring to see increasing numbers of women having such a huge impact on New Zealand’s growing construction industry.

“The finalists are a truly outstanding group of women who are committed to excellence while giving back to the wider community. We’re excited to celebrate their success at our awards ceremony in August.”

The awards have six categories which cover a wide range of roles across the industry. The finalists in each category are:

The Helen Tippett Award – Becky Macdonald (Beca), Laura Clifford (Hawkins Construction), Pam Bell (Prefab NZ), Robyn Phipps (Massey University), and Sue Bradley (Beca)

Tradeswoman of the Year – Laisa Pickering (Electrix Ltd), Lisa Lawrence (Basically Floors Ltd), Melvina Browne Uriarau (LiveWire Electrical), Tina Mehlhopt (Honeybone Builders), and Verena Maeder (Solid Earth Ltd)

Professional Woman of the Year – Andrea Williamson (Fletcher Construction), Andrea Jarvis (Holmes Consulting Group), Carolynn Marot (CPB Contractors), Donna Bridgman (GHD NZ Ltd), Hayley Tribble (Tripro Ltd), Lana Duboka (AECOM), and Rachael Rush (Klein Ltd)

Outstanding Achievement in Design – Esther Loh (Beca), Sheila Karimi (Beca), and Sian France (Beca)

Excellence in Construction Administration – Bev McKay (Registered Master Builders Association), Carolyn Jane (Signature Residential Ltd), Sophie Lackey (Leighs Construction Ltd), Sally Davis (BCITO), Sarah Greenwood (Respond Architects), and Emma Cushnie (Fulton Hogan)

Rising Star Award – Steph McLeod (Stantec NZ Ltd), Harriet-Rose Follas (Beca), Jordan Kirk (Fulton Hogan Ltd), Stephanie Cerpa (Contract Construction), Vikki Stephens (Beca), and Willien Irvia (Rawlinsons Ltd)

Student/Apprentice Excellence Award – Emily Sutton (City Care Ltd), Nikita Ward (Hutt Gas and Plumbing Systems Ltd), Amritpal Kaur (AUT), Fahimeh Zaeri (AUT), Gillian Linton (Arvinda), Lisa Brook (Signature Homes Ltd) and Megan Burfoot (AUT)

Tickets for the 2017 Hays NAWIC Excellence Awards are available from Eventfinder -

Visit the NAWIC website for further information –


© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


Crown Accounts: Slightly Softer Growth Expected In PREFU

A slightly softer growth forecast is the main feature of largely unchanged Pre-election Fiscal Update compared to the Budget forecasts three months ago, Finance Minister Steven Joyce says. More>>


Water: Farming Leaders Pledge To Help Make Rivers Swimmable

In a first for the country, farming leaders have pledged to work together to help make New Zealand’s rivers swimmable for future generations. More>>


Unintended Consequences: Liquor Change For Grocery Stores On Tobacco Tax

Changes in the law made to enable grocery stores to continue holding liquor licences to sell alcohol despite increases in tobacco taxes will take effect on 15 September 2017. More>>

Back Again: Government Approves TPP11 Mandate

Trade Minister Todd McClay says New Zealand will be pushing for the minimal number of changes possible to the original TPP agreement, something that the remaining TPP11 countries have agreed on. More>>


By May 2018: Wider, Earlier Microbead Ban

The sale and manufacture of wash-off products containing plastic microbeads will be banned in New Zealand earlier than previously expected, Associate Environment Minister Scott Simpson announced today. More>>