Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


NZ Tourism Awards finalists revealed

NZ Tourism Awards finalists revealed

Twenty-four leading tourism operators and stakeholders have been announced today as finalists in the 2017 New Zealand Tourism Awards – the $35 billion tourism industry’s most prestigious awards.

The finalists span the country from Queenstown to Waitangi and include long-established operators as well as new businesses. Accommodation providers, activity and transport operators, educators and researchers are among the finalists.

They will compete for awards in two individual categories and eight business categories, says Chris Roberts, Chief Executive of Tourism Industry Aotearoa which runs the annual awards programme.

“It’s really pleasing to see the competition for the New Zealand Tourism Awards is growing stronger every year. New Zealand’s tourism industry is enjoying unprecedented growth,” Mr Roberts says.

“These prestigious awards celebrate the industry’s success and recognise the individuals and businesses doing an outstanding job, generating economic wealth and supporting jobs in communities throughout the country.

“I’d like to congratulate everyone who took the time to enter the Awards, even if they didn’t make it to finalist status. The Awards are a valuable opportunity to benchmark your business against your peers and demonstrate you are striving to be the best.”

The Awards are closely aligned with the industry’s Tourism 2025 growth framework, which aims to grow total annual tourism revenue to $41 billion.

The winner of the Air New Zealand Supreme Tourism Award will receive international air travel to any Air New Zealand destination valued at $10,000 (+GST) to help them grow their tourism business.

The winners will be announced at a black-tie dinner in Christchurch on Thursday

7 September.

ChristchurchNZ convention bureau and industry partnership manager Caroline Blanchfield says Christchurch is delighted to host the annual Awards for the first time.

“This is a great opportunity to showcase all Christchurch has to offer to New Zealand’s top industry performers. I hope they will take the time while here to soak up our warm hospitality and experience a city that changes daily, with new places to eat, drink, shop and discover popping up all over town.

“Visitors now spend over $2 billion annually in the city, exceeding pre-earthquake levels. This is a city that has so much to offer, we’re excited to welcome the Awards to Christchurch and demonstrate to the New Zealand industry that it is a vibrant city of opportunity.”

2017 New Zealand Tourism Awards finalists

PATA New Zealand Trust Emerging Tourism Leader Award

• Jasmine Adams - Rotorua TOP 10 Holiday Park

• Shayne Forrest – Hobbiton Movie Set & Farm Tours, Matamata

• Margaret Munro – Earth & Sky Stargazing & Observatory Tours, Tekapo

Auckland Airport Tourism Industry Champion Award

• Lisa Li – China Travel Service (NZ) Ltd, Auckland

• Les Morgan – Sudima Hotels & Resorts

• Ryan Sanders – Haka Tourism Group

• Angus Stubbs – Tourism Holdings Ltd – Discover Waitomo

Sudima Hotels & Resorts Tourism 2025 Enabler Award

• Angus & Associates Ltd, Wellington

• New Zealand Transport Agency

• Queenstown Resort College

Westpac Business Excellence Award – Less than $6 million annual turnover

• Auckland Seaplanes

• Dive! Tutukaka

• Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

JLT & AIG Business Excellence Award – More than $6 million annual turnover

• Haka Tourism Group

• Real Journeys, Queenstown

• Skyline Queenstown

Department of Conservation Environmental Tourism Award

• Real Journeys – Walter Peak Land Restoration Project, Queenstown

• Sudima Hotels & Resorts

• Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

• YHA New Zealand

Ministry of Business, Innovation & Employment Industry Alignment Award

• TIME Unlimited Tours, Auckland

• Tourism West Coast

He kai kei aku ringa Māori Tourism Award

• TIME Unlimited Tours, Auckland

• Kapiti Island Nature Tours

epay NZ Tourism Marketing Award

• Haka Tourism Group

• SKYCITY Auckland Ltd

• YHA New Zealand

ServiceIQ Visitor Experience Award

• Skyline Rotorua

• Tourism Holdings Ltd – NZ Rentals

• Waitangi Treaty Grounds

About the New Zealand Tourism Awards
The New Zealand Tourism Awards 2017 are run by TIA, with Award Partners Air New Zealand and the Ministry of Business, Innovation & Employment.

The Awards are also supported by the Air Force Museum of New Zealand, Auckland Airport, Christchurch Casino, Crowe Horwath International, Department of Conservation, epay NZ, He kai kei aku ringa, JLT/AIG, Monteiths, Pacific Tourways, PATA New Zealand Trust, ServiceIQ, Sudima Hotels & Resorts, Westpac, media partner NZME and host city ChristchurchNZ.

For more details, visit


© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


Back Again: Government Approves TPP11 Mandate

Trade Minister Todd McClay says New Zealand will be pushing for the minimal number of changes possible to the original TPP agreement, something that the remaining TPP11 countries have agreed on. More>>


By May 2018: Wider, Earlier Microbead Ban

The sale and manufacture of wash-off products containing plastic microbeads will be banned in New Zealand earlier than previously expected, Associate Environment Minister Scott Simpson announced today. More>>


Snail-ier Mail: NZ Post To Ditch FastPost

New Zealand Post customers will see a change to how they can send priority mail from 1 January 2018. The FastPost service will no longer be available from this date. More>>


Property Institute: English Backs Of Debt To Income Plan

Property Institute of New Zealand Chief Executive Ashley Church is applauding today’s decision, by Prime Minister Bill English, to take Debt-to-income ratios off the table as a tool available to the Reserve Bank. More>>


Divesting: NZ Super Fund Shifts Passive Equities To Low-Carbon

The NZ$35 billion NZ Super Fund’s NZ$14 billion global passive equity portfolio, 40% of the overall Fund, is now low-carbon, the Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation announced today. More>>