Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Finalists for 2017 New Zealand Architecture Awards announced

Finalists for 2017 New Zealand Architecture Awards announced

Fifty-one projects have been shortlisted in New Zealand’s leading architecture awards programme.

The finalists in the New Zealand Architecture Awards are located at sites around the country, from the Bay of Islands to Central Otago, and range from new houses to schools, churches and office buildings.

Twenty-one of the shortlisted projects are in or around Auckland, eight are in Christchurch and seven in Wellington.

Housing is the strongest category in the Awards, with 17 finalists. There are seven finalists in both the public architecture and commercial architecture categories, five in the heritage category and four in the education category. Three of the finalists are architecture practices’ own offices.
The convenor of the Awards jury, Arrowtown architect Louise Wright, said the relatively high number of shortlisted projects was testament to a strong year in New Zealand architecture.

“The range and quality of recent architecture projects made it difficult to decide what to leave off the shortlist,” said Wright. She and fellow jury members, Auckland architects Lance Herbst and Jack McKinney and Australian architect Kerry Clare, will visit all of the shortlisted projects later this month.

“Auckland architecture is evidently booming and it’s good to see a stream of strong projects emerging in Christchurch,” Wright said. “The jury is also pleased that there are strong award contenders in the public architecture category.”

The winners of this year’s New Zealand Architecture Awards will be announced in Auckland on 10 November.

Buildings in the categories of housing, commercial, education and public architecture will be considered for signature awards named for four influential New Zealand architects: Sir Ian Athfield, Sir Miles Warren, Ted McCoy and John Scott.

2017 New Zealand Architecture Awards – shortlist by category

Note: An image gallery (one image per project in print and web resolutions) of shortlisted projects can be downloaded here.

South Bloc, Hamilton by Edwards White Architects
Kauri Timber Building, Auckland by Fearon Hay Architects
SGA Studio and Workshops, Auckland by SGA – Strachan Group Architects
133 Molesworth Street, Wellington by Studio of Pacific Architecture
Wellington International Airport Limited Terminal South Extension by Warren and Mahoney Architects
Quad 7, Auckland by Warren and Mahoney Architects
Mason Bros., Auckland by Warren and Mahoney Architects

WelTec School of Construction, Wellington by Designgroup Stapleton Elliott
AUT Mana Hauora (MH) Building, Auckland by Jasmax
New Law & Management Building, University of Waikato, Hamilton by Opus Architecture
Tarawera High School, Kawerau, RTA Studio

Enduring Architecture
151 Queen Street (1992), Auckland by Peddle Thorp Aitken
18 Butler Street (1987), Christchurch by Maurice Mahoney Architect
St Patrick's College Chapel, Silverstream (1977), Upper Hutt by William Pearson Architect

Hutt City Council Administration Building Refurbishment by architecture+
Australis Nathan, Auckland by Peddle Thorp
The Suter Art Gallery – Te Aratoi o Whakatū, Nelson by Warren and Mahoney Architects, Jerram Tocker Barron Architects and Ian Bowman Architect and Conservator
Christchurch Arts Centre Clock Tower & Great Hall by Warren and Mahoney Architects
The Christchurch Club by Warren and Mahoney Architects

The Kinloch Club, Kinloch by Patterson Associates
Pukapuka Rd House, Mahurangi by Belinda George Architects
Hamilton Family Home, Arrowtown by Bull O’Sullivan Architecture
Town House, Cambridge by Christopher Beer Architect
Forest House, Auckland by Fearon Hay Architects
Inland House, Mangawhai by Gerrad Hall Architects
Matakana House by Glamuzina Architects and Paterson Architecture Collective in association
Point Chevalier House, Auckland by Guy Tarrant Architects
Davis House, Auckland by Mercer and Mercer Architects
Point Wells Gables by Paterson Architecture Collective, Steven Lloyd Architecture and Glamuzina Architects in association
Fendalton Road House, Christchurch by Patterson Associates
Paoneone, Bay of Islands by Patterson Associates
339, Auckland by SGA – Strachan Group Architects
Millbrook House, Arrowtown by Sumich Chaplin Architects

Housing – Alterations and Additions
Herne Bay House Alteration, Auckland by Gerrad Hall Architects
Bach with Two Roofs, Golden Bay by Irving Smith Architects

Housing – Multi Unit
Kāinga Tuatahi, Auckland by Stevens Lawson Architects
Verto Apartments, Auckland by Warren and Mahoney Architects

Interior Architecture
Faraday Street Studio, Auckland by Fearon Hay Architects
Diver Apartment, Christchurch by MAP (2016)
Peddle Thorp, Auckland by Peddle Thorp

Planning & Urban Design
Mackelvie Precinct, Auckland by RTA Studio
BNZ Centre, Christchurch by Sheppard & Rout Architects

Public Architecture
Lesieli Tonga Auditorium, Auckland by Bull O’Sullivan Architecture
Christchurch North Methodist Church by Dalman Architects
Bishop Selwyn Chapel, Auckland by Fearon Hay Architects
Bullets & Balls (Nelson Cricket and Nelson Rifle Associations Practice Facility) by Irving Smith Architects
St John’s Church, Hamilton by MOAA Architects
ASB Waterfront Theatre, Auckland by Moller Architects and BVN in association
Te Wharehou o Waikaremoana, Lake Waikaremoana by Tennent+Brown Architects

Small Project Architecture
h01 house, Christchurch by Maguire and Harford Architects
Waiheke Gateway Pavilion by Stevens Lawson Architects


© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


Water: Farming Leaders Pledge To Help Make Rivers Swimmable

In a first for the country, farming leaders have pledged to work together to help make New Zealand’s rivers swimmable for future generations. More>>


Unintended Consequences: Liquor Change For Grocery Stores On Tobacco Tax

Changes in the law made to enable grocery stores to continue holding liquor licences to sell alcohol despite increases in tobacco taxes will take effect on 15 September 2017. More>>

Back Again: Government Approves TPP11 Mandate

Trade Minister Todd McClay says New Zealand will be pushing for the minimal number of changes possible to the original TPP agreement, something that the remaining TPP11 countries have agreed on. More>>


By May 2018: Wider, Earlier Microbead Ban

The sale and manufacture of wash-off products containing plastic microbeads will be banned in New Zealand earlier than previously expected, Associate Environment Minister Scott Simpson announced today. More>>


Snail-ier Mail: NZ Post To Ditch FastPost

New Zealand Post customers will see a change to how they can send priority mail from 1 January 2018. The FastPost service will no longer be available from this date. More>>


Property Institute: English Backs Of Debt To Income Plan

Property Institute of New Zealand Chief Executive Ashley Church is applauding today’s decision, by Prime Minister Bill English, to take Debt-to-income ratios off the table as a tool available to the Reserve Bank. More>>