Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Candidates for 2017 Fonterra Elections Announced

Friday, 22 September 2017

Candidates for 2017 Fonterra Elections Announced

Following the completion of the Self Nomination Process for the 2017 Directors’ Election Process, there are three candidates standing for three places on the Board in 2017.

The Self Nomination Process, where farmers can stand as a candidate for the Board with the support of 35 different shareholders closed on Thursday, 21 September. No shareholders have chosen to go through the Self Nomination process this year.

John Monaghan, Brent Goldsack and Andy Macfarlane were announced last week as the Independent Nomination Process candidates. All three candidates were nominated by the Fonterra Board after being recommended by the Independent Selection Panel. The process for their nomination was supported by the Shareholders’ Council in accordance with the Independent Nomination Process.

An Election is now required for Fonterra shareholders to consider the three candidates. To be elected to the Board each candidate must receive 50% shareholder support.

Fonterra Director Candidate Meetings

Fonterra shareholders have the opportunity to meet the Director candidates at seven locations throughout the country, starting in Invercargill on Monday, 16 October and finishing in Whangarei on Thursday, 19 October, as follows.

The meetings provide an opportunity for the candidates to explain how their governance skills and attributes meet the requirements of Fonterra shareholders and the Board.

Monday, 16 October10.30amInvercargillAscot Park Hotel, Cnr Tay Street & Racecourse Road, Invercargill
Monday, 16 October7pmAshburtonAshburton Hotel, 11/35 Racecourse Rd, Allenton, Ashburton
Tuesday, 17 October10.30amPalmerston NorthPalmerston North Convention Centre, 354 Main St, Palmerston North
Tuesday, 17 October7pmStratfordStratford Golf Club, Pembroke Road East, Stratford
Wednesday, 18 October11amRotoruaNovotel Hotel, Lake End, Tutanekai St, Rotorua
Wednesday, 18 October7pmHamiltonMystery Creek Events Centre, 125 Mystery Creek Rd, Hamilton
Thursday, 19 October11.30amWhangareiThe Barge, 474 Maunu Road, Whangarei

Directors’ Remuneration Committee Election

The Returning Officer, Warwick Lampp, confirmed there will not be an Election for the Directors’ Remuneration Committee, as shareholders Glenn Holmes and John Gregan were elected unopposed.

Shareholders’ Council Elections

Nominations have also closed for the Shareholders’ Council Elections in 25 wards. An Election is required in 10 wards, as follows:

Ward Candidate

4 – Waikato West Parmindar Singh
Ross Wallis

7 – Waipa Kevin Monks
Andrew Reymer

8 – South Waikato James Barron
Matt Clements

12 – Central Plateau Kylie Leonard
Matt Pepper

13 – Central Taranaki Noel Caskey
Mark Hooper

16 – Central Districts West Robert Ervine
Johanna Wood

18 – Wairarapa Craig Bowyer
John Stevenson

19 – Tasman/Marlborough Sue Brown
Neil Sixtus

21 – Central Canterbury Jessie Chan-Dorman
Graeme Smith

24 – Eastern Southland Emma Hammond
Richard Pierce

There was one nomination received in each of the other 15 wards, so no election is required. The formal declaration of these candidates as Shareholders’ Councillors will be made in conjunction with the results of the Elections at the Annual Meeting.

The Councillors-elect are:

Ward 1 Northern Northland Luke Beehre
Ward 2 Central Northland Sue Rhynd
Ward 3 Southern Northland Greg McCracken
Ward 5 Hauraki Julie Pirie
Ward 6 Piako Malcolm Piggott
Ward 9 King Country Duncan Coull
Ward 10 Northern Bay of Plenty Don Hammond
Ward 11 Eastern Bay of Plenty Wilson James
Ward 14 Coastal Taranaki Vaughn Brophy
Ward 15 Southern Taranaki Ben Dickie
Ward 17 Hawke’s Bay Andrew Hardie
Ward 20 North Canterbury Shaun Lissington
Ward 22 South Canterbury Michelle Pye
Ward 23 Otago Ad Bekkers
Ward 25 Western Southland Ivan Lines

Fourteen of the 15 Councillors-elect are incumbents who have been elected unopposed. The one new Councillor-elect is Luke Beehre in Ward 1 Northern Northland.

Voting Period, Voting Methods and Notification of Election Results

Voting Packs, containing candidate profiles, will be mailed to eligible shareholders on Tuesday, 10 October 2017. Shareholders can vote by internet or post, using the First Past the Post, Majority system. Voting closes at 10.30am on Tuesday, 31 October 2017 with the results being announced later that day.


© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


Voluntary Administration: Renaissance Brewing Up For Sale

Renaissance Brewing, the first local company to raise capital through equity crowdfunding, is up for sale after cash flow woes and product management issues led to the appointment of voluntary administrators. More>>


Approval: Northern Corridor Decision Released

The approval gives the green light to construction of the last link of Auckland’s Western Ring Route, providing an alternative route from South Auckland to the North Shore. More>>


Media Mega Merger: Full Steam Ahead For Appeal

New Zealand's two largest news publishers have confirmed they are committed to pursuing their appeal against the Commerce Commission's rejection of the proposal to merge their operations. More>>

Crown Accounts: $4.1 Billion Surplus

The New Zealand Government has achieved its third fiscal surplus in a row with the Crown accounts for the year ended 30 June 2017 showing an OBEGAL surplus of $4.1 billion, $2.2 billion stronger than last year, Finance Minister Steven Joyce says. More>>


Mycoplasma Bovis: One New Property Tests Positive

The newly identified property... was already under a Restricted Place notice under the Biosecurity Act. More>>

Accounting Scandal: Suspension Of Fuji Xerox From All-Of-Government Contract

General Manager of New Zealand Government Procurement John Ivil says, “FXNZ has been formally suspended from the Print Technology and Associated Services (PTAS) contract and terminated from the Office Supplies contract.” More>>