Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


2017 Deloitte Top 200 Business Awards Winners Announced

2017 Deloitte Top 200 Business Awards Winners Announced

23 November 2017 – The winners of the 2017 Deloitte Top 200 Awards have been crowned – with the who’s who of the New Zealand business industry in attendance at the awards ceremony.

The awards evening held at Spark Arena in Auckland acknowledged business excellence and noteworthy leadership across 10 award categories. The finalists and winners of the 2017 Deloitte Top 200 Awards are listed below.

The theme of this year’s event was ‘the spirit of resilience’.

Judging panel convenor Fran O'Sullivan, NZME Editorial Director - Business, says the organisations and individuals that received the awards this evening are visionary leaders who are committed to their businesses and driven to succeed.

The Deloitte Top 200 judges selected The a2 Milk Company as the Deloitte & Marsh 2017 Company of the Year.

"The a2 Milk Company’s meteoric rise is one of the most spectacular share market ascents in years. It was once considered an ‘alternative’ player in dairy, but a2 Milk’s 250 per cent share price rise in the year to September puts it squarely among the biggest companies on the New Zealand stock exchange. Its point of difference is that its products come from dairy cows that only make the A2 beta-casein protein; a factor in its success in China and other Asian markets where sales grew 133 per cent in the 2017 financial year. a2 Milk’s revenue growth of 56 per cent in the last financial year, and, sales of over half a billion dollars of product, justify investor confidence in the company," says O'Sullivan.

"The a2 Milk Company is a success – not just because of the market rating – but because of the results based on the culmination of a strategy that was put in place by the company and led by its focused chief executive Geoffrey Babidge."

Deloitte and Orbit World Travel Chief Executive of the Year, Simon Moutter from Spark, impressed the judges with his relentless commitment to Spark's future as a digital services business.

"Simon has sustained performance in an industry where is it difficult to grow the top line, achieving a 19 per cent compound total shareholder return over five years. His contribution goes beyond Spark to broader New Zealand objectives to back innovation and invest in local start-ups," says O'Sullivan.

Fellow judge and independent director Sandy Maier says not only is there another set of really high quality finalists in this year's awards, but there are some new names that have ‘refreshed’ several of the categories.

"This reminded us that there is innovation, disruption and tough competition among even our largest corporates," says Maier.

The Sheffield Visionary Leader Award was presented to Rod Drury.

The judging panel also includes independent directors Jonathan Mason and Dame Alison Paterson, Forsyth Barr managing director Neil Paviour-Smith and MinterEllisonRuddWatts partner Cathy Quinn. Mark Allan, Liam Dann, Steven Naude and James Bergin judged Young Executive of the Year.

Deloitte Chief Executive Thomas Pippos said, “Deloitte is inspired by the high calibre of this year’s finalists and winners. These companies and individuals are leading in business by example. Through their inclusive leadership, courageous governance, bold financial management, superior strategy and commitment to diversity, they each truly embody this year’s theme, ‘the spirit of resilience’.”

The awards were established in 1990 to recognise outstanding individual, team and management performances in New Zealand’s largest companies and trading organisations.

NZME Chief Executive Michael Boggs is delighted to partner again with the Deloitte Top 200 Awards.

“NZME would like to congratulate all of tonight’s winners and finalists. NZME is proud to champion New Zealand businesses and leaders doing great things at these prestigious awards. This year’s winners have shown us exceptional examples of New Zealand businesses and individuals determined to be the best.”

Without the support of the following sponsors the awards would not be possible: Ministry of Business, Innovation & Employment, 2degrees, IMNZ, Eagle Technology, MinterEllisonRuddWatts, QBE Insurance, Sheffield, Massey Business School, Orbit World Travel, Marsh and Deloitte.

The 2017 Deloitte Top 200 Award winners are:

Deloitte and Marsh Company of the Year
WINNER: The a2 Milk Company
• Tourism Holdings Limited
• Briscoe Group

Deloitte and Orbit World Travel Chief Executive of the Year
WINNER: Simon Moutter – Spark
• Russel Creedy – Restaurant Brands
• Geoffrey Babidge – The a2 Milk Company

Massey Business School Chief Financial Officer of the Year
WINNER: Steve Gray – Port of Tauranga
• Grant Ellis – Restaurant Brands
• Paul Chambers – Meridian Energy

QBE Insurance Chairperson of the Year Award
WINNER: Rob Campbell – Tourism Holdings Limited/Summerset Group/
• Jan Dawson – Westpac New Zealand
• Peter McBride – Zespri International

MinterEllisonRuddWatts Excellence in Governance
WINNER: Air New Zealand
• Sanford
• Abano Healthcare

NZ Herald Most Improved Performance
WINNER: 2degrees
• Xero
• Datacom

2degrees Best Growth Strategy
WINNER: Zespri International
• Tourism Holdings Limited
• The a2 Milk Company

Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment Diversity and Inclusion Leadership
WINNER – Fonterra
• Stuff – Fairfax Media
• Air New Zealand

Eagle Technology and IMNZ Young Executive of the Year Award
WINNER: Komal Mistry – Fonterra Ventures
• Sasha Lockley – Avanti Finance
• Ed Hyde – Spark Ventures

Sheffield Visionary Leader Award
WINNER: Rod Drury


© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


Discussion Paper: Govt To Act On Unfair Commercial Practices

“I’ve heard about traders who have used aggressive tactics to sell products to vulnerable consumers, and businesses that were powerless to stop suppliers varying the terms of their contract, including price.” More>>


'Considering Options' On Tip Top Ownership: Fonterra Drops Forecast Milk Price

Fonterra Co-operative Group Limited today revised its 2018/19 forecast Farmgate Milk Price range from $6.25-$6.50 per kgMS to $6.00-$6.30 per kgMS and shared an update on its first quarter business performance. More>>


Science: Legendary Telescope Being Brought Back To Life

One of the world’s most famous Victorian telescopes will be restored and available for public viewing in Takapō after spending five decades in storage... The Brashear Telescope was used in the late 1800s by Percival Lowell for his studies of Mars. More>>

Employment Amendment Bill Passes: CTU Hails Victory For Working People

"This law allows Kiwis to access their basic rights at work, to make more informed choices about their employment, and help each other get a fairer deal." More>>