Video | Agriculture | Confidence | Economy | Energy | Employment | Finance | Media | Property | RBNZ | Science | SOEs | Tax | Technology | Telecoms | Tourism | Transport | Search


Entries open for the New Zealand Building Industry Awards

Entries open for the New Zealand Building Industry Awards

Entries for the revised New Zealand Institute of Building (NZIOB) Awards, now known as the New Zealand Building Industry Awards, close on Friday, 11 May 2018.

To mark the 25th anniversary of their awards programme, the NZIOB has introduced two new categories: a Consultants Award and an Interdisciplinary Collaboration Award, and renamed the event the ‘New Zealand Building Industry Awards’.

NZIOB chief executive Malcolm Fleming said, “The new name and categories clearly identify that the awards programme is open to all the occupations involved in the New Zealand building industry, and to broaden the awards appeal beyond primarily recognising project managers running commercial construction projects. What hasn’t changed is the awards focus on acknowledging and celebrating building industry practitioners behind New Zealand’s most successful building projects.

“Established in 1994, these awards are now open to anyone in the building industry and are judged by a panel of experts from the industry.”

The revised awards have eleven categories: six are defined by the scale and cost of the project and can be entered by individuals or teams working on construction projects. The six cost-based category awards are the:
Resene projects under $2.5 Million Award;
Steel Construction NZ projects $2.5 - $5 Million Award;
Hilti NZ projects $5 - $10 Million Award;
Colorsteel® projects $10 - $25 Million Award;
Allied Concrete projects $25 – $50 Million Award; and the
AECOM projects over $50 Million Award.
Please note that the cost bands are indicative only and the actual cost-bands will be at the discretion of the Judges who are tasked with achieving an even spread of entries across the six cost-band categories.

The other five categories are the:
James Hardie Innovation Award, recognising innovation in the industry demonstrated within a project, or through an innovative new product or procedure;
Site Safe Safety Excellence Award, recognising excellence in either ‘Safety in Design’, or by way of safety initiative on a construction site;
• 2018 Metro Performance Glass Consultants Award. New for 2018, this award recognises high performance of design consultants (architects, engineers, quantity surveyors or project managers) who have contributed to the design, documentation and delivery stages of a successful project;
Hays Construction Interdisciplinary Collaboration Award, another new award for 2018, recognising exceptional examples of collaborative partnerships between consultant(s) and contractor; and
BCITO Young Achiever Award, identifying and recognising younger building industry practitioners who possess high level capability and can point to a career to date that is marked with significant achievement. Nominees for this award must be under the age of 30 as at 11 May 2018.

The winners of the six cost-based categories and the Innovation Award, Safety Excellence Award, Consultants Award and the Interdisciplinary Collaboration Award are eligible for a Supreme Award, the GIB® sponsored Supreme Award. This is the New Zealand Building Industry Awards highest honour, recognising outstanding performance.

For more information about the New Zealand Building Industry Awards and to enter online, visit:

The Award recipients will be announced at a Gala Dinner at the Cordis Hotel, formerly the Langham, in Auckland on Friday 24 August 2018.

Malcolm Fleming said, “Past Award winners have included many of the building industry’s high achievers, which reflects the Award’s stature, as does the fact that a number of past Young Achiever winners now hold very senior roles within the sector. The 2018 winners will likewise follow this trajectory.”


© Scoop Media

Business Headlines | Sci-Tech Headlines


'Visionary' Leaders: Primary Sector Council Announced

A group of visionary agribusiness leaders is set to help our primary sector capture more value from its work, Minister of Agriculture and Rural Communities Damien O’Connor says ... More>>


Land Report: Issues With Soil Degradation

An environmental report released today has found we are damaging and losing our soils and our native plants and animals. More>>


Water Quality Report: Cause For Optimism

National River Water Quality Trends released by Land, Air, Water Aotearoa (LAWA) this week, reveal that for all river water quality parameters monitored over a 10 year period, more sites were improving than deteriorating. More>>


IMF Report On NZ: Positive Economic Outlook

Minister of Finance Grant Robertson has welcomed the IMF’s Concluding Statement, released following its annual visit, which provides an independent assessment of the strength of the New Zealand economy. More>>


Retail Power Price: Review Panel Named

The Energy and Resources Minister Megan Woods has released the details of who will sit on an expert advisory panel which is tasked with leading a review into the price of electricity in New Zealand. More>>


Increasingly Disruptive Threats: Govt Cyber Security Refresh

Broadcasting, Communications and Digital Media Minister Clare Curran today announced a comprehensive refresh of New Zealand’s approach to cyber security. More>>


Regional Growth: Action Plan To Modernise Taranaki’s Economy

The Provincial Growth Fund (PGF) will invest up to $20 million to help future-proof the Taranaki region by diversifying its economy, creating additional jobs and leveraging off the strong base the region has established through its oil, gas and agricultural ... More>>