Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Speaker At Architects Conference Wins Top Award



Malaysia's Ken Yeang, a world expert on ecologically sustainable skyscrapers and a keynote speaker at the Commonwealth Association of Architects and New Zealand Institute of Architects Conference underway in Wellington, has today been presented with one of the world's top architectural awards - the CAA Robert Matthews Award.

The Award, named after the founder president of the CAA, is awarded to the architect or practice, which has made the most innovative contribution to the architectural development of their country.

Jury Chairman Philip Johnson said the Award was given to Dr Yeang for a remarkable and innovative body of work expressed not only in building but in theoretical writing and lecturing which has shown the way ecological and bioclimatic considerations can, and indeed should, affect design and especially the design of tall buildings.

"The importance of Ken Yeang's work is in the challenge it makes not only to the designers of tall buildings but to all those who are concerned with the quality and character of the cities in which tall buildings are constructed.

"His call for ecological design, ecological analysis and a vertical urban design theory should be taken up by architects, planners, urban design theorists and city administrators. Ken Yeang is making a considerable contribution to the development of theory in this area, Mr Johnson said.

Dr Yeang said he was delighted to receive such recognition because he has been working to develop ecologically sustainable buildings for almost 30 years, long before it was fashionable.

"This Award is recognition that our efforts have been worthwhile. It is also a great honour for Malaysia to be the recipient of this Award and it really helps in the branding of the country overseas, Dr Yeang said.

Dr Yeang is a principal with T. R. Hamzah& Yeang Sdn. Bhd, which has its headquarters in Kuala Lumpur and projects in the United States, Europe and Asia.

A Commendation was also made by the Jury, which included London architect Andy Bow and the president of the NZ Institute of Architects Ron Pynenburg, to the British nominee Roland Paoletti and the London Transport Jubilee Line Extension architectural teams.

This Commendation, the Judges said, was made not for a work of architecture but for a process instigated and rigorously guided by a team under the direction of an architect which led to 13 new underground tube stations.

"The new stations designed by 13 different architects have in common a new approach to the design of stations for the Underground which includes the use of daylight and a concern for the pleasure of travellers. The common link is Roland Paoletti who selected the architects, briefed them and guided the project. His influence is expressed in all the stations and an example has been set to other transport authorities to be equally daring and innovative."




© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


DOC Alert: Penguins Ignore Police, Return To Sushi Shop

Department of Conservation rangers are on high alert for 'penguin call-outs' after they've been spotted waddling around Wellington. Yesterday the little blue penguins had to be removed from under a sushi store near the Wellington railway station, not once - but twice. More>>

Baldwin St's Steep Decline: Welsh Town Beats Dunedin For Steepest Street

Harlech, a sleepy town set in the hills of North Wales, boasts a beautiful seaside, a 13th century castle and stunning panoramic views. But the town can now add something else to the list - Harlech is officially the home of the world’s steepest street. More>>


Sport: England Wins Cricket World Cup After Super Over

New Zealand have cruelly lost the Cricket World Cup final after a Super Over - a decider more usually associated with the shorter Twenty20 format of the game. More>>


'High-Level Talks': Lord Of The Rings TV Series To Film In NZ

Amazon needed reassurance after the Christchurch terrorist attacks that New Zealand was still a safe place to film the world's most expensive television series. More>>




  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland