Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


LOOP amplifier - b-Net music awards


LOOP amplifier

b-Net music awards


The b-Net music awards went off at the Powerstation on Saturday night.The show opened with a fabulous live version of Subwares house hit Disco Hooplah performed by local talent Dirty With Money featuring P.Money Godfrey de Grut Nick Gaffeney and Chip Matthews. Surprise MCs were Back of the Y/Arts Hole hosts stuntmen Chris Stapp and Matt Heath from Triangle /Ground Zero/Space.

Then it was into the awards with absent band Shihad cleaning up every category they were nominated for including the TV2 Award For Best Album, The College Hill Award for Best Live Act the Sounds Award For Best Rock/Pop release and The PlayStation Award for Best Video.

There were 22 Awards, with the presenters mainly coming from within 95bFMs ranks,including Havoc, Peter Urlich ,Dubhead ,Aaron Carson, Russell Brown ,Steve Simpson, Andrew Black, Troy Ferguson, The Professor, and Jules Barnett. There were outsiders however, including TV2s Francesca Rudkin, previous recipient Murray Cammick, presenting the Lifetime Achievement Award, and Mike Chunn presenting the International Achievement Award. Other presenters included DLT, Slave and OTIs, Hugh Sundae and Graham Hill.

Other performers in the evening were Dunedin Band HDU, their last performance before going overseas Hamilton Hip Hop crew Four Corners and local trio The Rock and Roll Machine, while bFMs Mikey Havoc and Peter Urlich closed the evening with a bilingual National Anthem before a final balloon drop.

Other award winners were,
The Bike Barn Award for Best NZ WebSight
Winner ,
Safari Lounge Award for Best DJ
Winner Manuel Bundy
Huffer Award for Best Turntablist
Winner ,P Money
The Bomb Herbal Energy award for most promising DJ
Winner Phillipa
Levis Award for Most Outstandin Musician
Winner Naithan Haines
Liqourland Award for Best Vocalist
Winner Che Fu
Pris Texas Award For Best Hip/Hop Reggae
Winner The Nomad Second Selection & King Kapisi Reverse
Guru Lounge/Mainline Music Award for Best Electronica Release
Winner Algorythym 2 Award for best Independant Release
Winner Sola Rosa Entrance to Sky Way
NZ Musician Magazine Award For Best Unreleased Song
Winner Dub Connection All the Goodness
Sounds Award for Best New Act
Winner Shapeshifter
Kahlua Award for Best Song
Winner, King Kapisi Reverse Resistance
Radio Agency Award for Best Studio Engineer Producer
Winner Andy Morton
SAE Award for Best Live Engineer
Winner Chris Tate
95bFM International Achievement Award
Winner, Mark De Clive Lowe
Play Station Lifetime Achievement Award
Winner Chris Knox



© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


ASB Classic: Serena Williams Confirmed For 2020

One of the biggest names in sport has confirmed she will be returning to the ASB Classic in 2020. Twenty-three time Grand Slam singles champion Serena Williams will return to Auckland’s ASB Tennis Arena to challenge for the ASB Classic title. More>>

Netball: Taurua To Coach Silver Ferns Through Two More Campaigns

Netball New Zealand has confirmed Taurua will guide the Silver Ferns as they take on the Australian Diamonds in October’s Cadbury Netball Series (Constellation Cup), along with the Northern Quad Series in late January. More>>


Bigger But Less Novel Than The Parrot: Giant Fossil Penguin Find

The discovery of Crossvallia waiparensis, a monster penguin from the Paleocene Epoch (between 66 and 56 million years ago), adds to the list of gigantic, but extinct, New Zealand fauna. These include the world’s largest parrot, a giant eagle, giant burrowing bat, the moa and other giant penguins. More>>

Wellington: Little Blue Penguins Near Station Again

There have been more sightings of penguins near Wellington Railway Station on Sunday night, this time waddling into a parking building above a burger restaurant. More>>




  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland