Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Hair Today, Paris Tomorrow?

Dedicated fashion followers get their first glimpse of this year’s significant spring ‘looks’ at the presentation of the New Zealand premier hair fashion awards in Auckland in July.

And for the first time in its eight-year history, the presentation of the 2001 L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Awards will be open to the public.

Nine of New Zealand's top fashion designers are presenting a sneak preview of their spring/summer collections at the event. Represented are top fashion houses Zambesi, World, Kate Sylvester, Helen Cherry, Trelise Cooper, Tanya Carlson, Natalija Kucija, Marilyn Sainty, and Karen Walker.

The hairdressing awards are to be announced on July 28 at the Civic Theatre in Auckland. Entries close on June 1.

The awards comprise the L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Supreme Award, the L'Oréal Young Colourist Award, the L'Oréal Couleur Pour Hommes Award and the Headway Magazine Portfolio and Style Magazine Awards.

The winner of the Supreme Award also assumes the accolade of New Zealand Hairdresser of the year.

Entrants are asked to create a "trend-setting Front Cover Look that perfectly combines a superb consumer cut, originality of style and exquisite colour.”

"The colour must enhance the cut and style as it will set a trend across the country and will promote beautiful colour to women of all ages," said Gary Marshall, L'Oréal.

"In short entrants are to create the definitive consumer look of the year.”

He said the supreme award represented the pinnacle of New Zealand hairdressing.

"Apart from receiving immediate industry acclaim and respect, the supreme award winner gets a trophy and a trip to the UK's L'Oréal Colour Trophy Awards and visits L'Oréal's headquarters in Paris.

"A win here results in enhanced career status and great industry-specific prizes for the victors," Gary Marshall says.

"The awards show is the night the hairdressing industry — and now the fashion industry — steps out to be seen and see what's the very latest in local styles.

"The awards reinforce our position as leading supplier of professional hair products to New Zealand salons and in 2001 firmly aligns L'Oréal with the world of fashion."

Eight finalists are to be chosen for the supreme award with four each for the Young Colourist and Couleur Pour Hommes awards.

Winners of the latter two awards receive trips for two to Melbourne to attend the 2002 L'Oréal Colour Trophy Grand Final in Australia.

Entrants who are not finalists in any of the awards are to be judged for the Headway Magazine Portfolio and Style Magazine Awards.

The award show is to be presented by TV personality Francesca Rudkin and actor Joel Tobek. Judges in 2001 are Australians Michelle Aldridge and Maurice Meade and a previous L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Award winner Clark York of Wellington.

Tickets cost $75 and are available nationwide at Ticketek 09 307 5000 or


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis: Three Reasons for Film Fans to Get Netflix

The past two months have finally seen Netflix come into its own, providing the financing for three films that will warm the hearts of cinephiles everywhere - Orson Welles' The Other Side of The Wind, The Coen Brothers' The Ballad of Buster Scruggs, and Alfonso Cuarón's Roma. More>>

Scoop Review Of Books: The Rift by Rachael Craw

Rachael Craw's first series, Spark has been extremely well received by the YA community in both Australia and New Zealand (it has a hashtag, #SparkArmy), and The Rift looks like it’s going to be just as popular. More>>

Porn And Teens Report: 'Wake-Up Call' On Sexuality Education

Family Planning: The Office of Film and Literature Classification’s survey of more than 2000 young people about pornography highlights that sexuality education provides an opportunity for a vital counter-narrative to porn that could reach most young New Zealanders... More>>




  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland