Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


LIANZA Children's Book Awards Shortlist

The best children’s books of the year, according to children’s librarians, will be announced on Thursday 20th September 2001 during the Library and Information Association of New Zealand Aotearoa (LIANZA)’s Annual Conference at the Rotorua Convention Centre.

LIANZA is proud to announce the shortlists for its four annual awards for excellence in writing and illustrating for young people: the Esther Glen Award; the Russell Clark Award; the LIANZA Young People’s Non-Fiction Award; Te Kura Pounamu


Esther Glen Award

First established in 1944, the Esther Glen medal is awarded to the writer of the book that is considered to be the most distinguished contribution to literature for children.

The 2001 shortlist is:

Voyage with Jason, by Ken Catran (published by Lothian)
Shadrach girl, by Joy Cowley (published by Penguin)
After the war, by Bob Kerr (published by Mallinson Rendel)
24 hours, by Margaret Mahy (published by HarperCollins)

Russell Clark Award

Established in 1975, this Award recognises excellence in children’s book illustration and is awarded for the most distinguished pictures or illustrations for a children’s book, with or without text.

The 2001 shortlist is:

Can you keep a secret?, by Pamela Allen (published by Penguin)
Inside Mary Elizabeth's house, by Pamela Allen (published by Penguin)
Stay awake, Bear!, by Gavin Bishop (published by Orchard)
Oliver in the garden, by Margaret Beames (published by Scholastic New Zealand)
After the war, by Bob Kerr (published by Mallinson Rendel)

Te Kura Pounamu Award

The newest of the Association’s Children’s Book Awards, Te Kura Pounamu was established in 1995. This Award is made to the writer of a book considered to be the most distinguished contribution to literature for children and young people written in Te Reo Mäori.

The 2001 shortlist is:

Hinaki, by Jan Trafford (published by Learning Media)
Te Puriri, by Merito Tawhara (published by Huia)
Timo te Kaihi Ika, by Mokena Potae Reedy (published by Huia)

LIANZA Young People’s Non-Fiction Award

Established in 1986 to encourage the development of excellence in New Zealand non-fiction for young people, this Award is given to the book that is considered to be the most distinguished contribution to non-fiction for young people.

The 2001 shortlist is:

Way to play, by Chris Cairns (published by HarperCollins)
Niue, by Charles Cooper (published by Reed Publishing)
The Zoo, by Colin Hogg (published by Random House New Zealand)
The tuatara, by Brian Parkinson (published by Reed Publishing)


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines

Handcrafted Form: Rare Treasures From Japan

This unique exhibition at Expressions Whirinaki represents 90 everyday objects made by contemporary Japanese artisans who employ various traditional craft techniques made in regional workshops. The works used in daily life are crafted from raw materials with techniques appropriate to bringing out the best of its medium, balancing ease of use with aesthetic appeal. More>>

Howard Davis Article: A Musical Axis - Brahms, Wagner, Sibelius

Brahms' warm and exquisitely subtle Symphony No. 3 in F major, Wagner's irrepressibly sentimental symphonic poem Siegfried Idyll, and Sibelius' chilling and immensely challenging Violin Concerto in D minor exemplify distinct stages of development in a tangled and convoluted series of skirmishes that came to define subsequent disputes about the nature of post-Romantic orchestral writing well into the following century. More>>


Scoop Review Of Books: A Pale Ghost Writer

Reviewed by Ruth Brassington, Richard Flanagan's new novel is about a novelist hastily ghost-writing the biography of a crook about to go to trial. The reader is kept on a cliff-edge, as the narrator tries to get blood out of his stone man. More>>

New Zealand Wars Commemoration: Witi Ihimaera's Sleeps Standing Moetū

The second of several articles to mark Rā Maumahara, remembering the New Zealand Land Wars. The first was a Q&A with Vincent O’Malley, author of The Great War for New Zealand: Waikato 1800–2000. More>>




  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland