Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Inaugural NZ Wine List Of The Year Awards

For immediate release
March 19 2003

Inaugural NZ“Wine List Of The Year Awards” Announced

Wanted: Restaurants in your region, big or small, to take part in a new competition that will ‘raise the bar’ for restaurant wine lists all around the country.

Awards organiser, Chris Eerden - Managing Director of Lace Fine Wine Merchants - is inviting all New Zealand restaurants to enter the inaugural New Zealand “Wine List of the Year Awards” 2003.

The Awards are free to enter and are aimed at encouraging and recognising quality and enthusiasm in wine presentation in the New Zealand hospitality industry, and the right of patrons to expect good wine experiences.

“The public have a far greater interest in wine than many restaurants are currently catering for,” says Mr Eerden. “The motivation behind these awards is to improve the deal the customer gets and to recognise licensed premises who incorporate wine as an integral part of the dining experience.”

Categories are:
- Cafe/ Brasserie
- Restaurant – small wine list (under 50 wines)
- Restaurant – large wine list (over 50 wines)
- Bar/ Club Restaurant – includes wine bars
- Classic Cuisines (French, Italian, Thai, etc)
- Regional (based in viticultural area)
- Best New Restaurant Wine List – open less than 12 months

There will be prizes awarded to the winner of each of the seven categories. The national winner will receive a trip for two to Australia, visiting some of Australia’s leading wineries. All establishments who achieve a Recommended rating or higher will be issued with award certificates.

A highly qualified judging panel for 2003 comprises: - Master of Wine Bob Campbell, restaurateur/food and wine writer Johnny Cortizo, leading wine writer Vic Williams, media personality and wine enthusiast John Campbell, outstanding New Zealand winemaker Brent Marris from Wither Hills Vineyards, hospitality industry stalwart John Ingle, author and wine columnist Joelle Thompson and Chris Eerden.

Submissions for the Awards close on April 30, 2003. Judging will take place between 26 to 28 May.



© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Howard Davis Review: From Free Press to Fancy Dress - Spielberg's The Post

Stephen Spielberg's The Post is an opportune newsroom drama in which a corrupt Republican president wages war against the "liberal media," as its plucky proprietor risks economic and legal ruin to bring the Pentagon Papers to public light. Its true protagonist is publisher Katharine Graham, a stringently diplomatic businesswoman, reluctantly compelled to take an overtly political stance in the interests of democracy and freedom of the press. More>>

Howard Davis Review: The Black Dog of Empire - Joe Wright's Darkest Hour'

On the eve of England's contorted efforts to negotiate its ignominious retreat from Europe and the chaotic spectacle of the Tory party ratifying its undignified departure from a union originally designed to prevent another World War, there has been a renewed appetite for movies about 1940. More>>

Howard Davis Review: Anger Begets Anger - Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

For fans of what Ricky Gervais termed "number movies" (Seven Samurai, The Magnificent Seven, Ocean's 11, Se7en), Martin McDonagh's latest offering will be a welcome addition to the roster. The Irish playwright turned screenwriter and director has produced another quirky and darkly comic tragedy that evolves around the futility of anger and grief, retribution and revenge. More>>

Howard Davis: Sexting in George Dawe's Genevieve - Part I

Te Papa's permanent collection includes an enormous oil painting by the English artist George Dawe called Genevieve (from by a poem by S.T. Coleridge entitled 'Love') that was prominently featured in the 2013 exhibition Angels & Aristocrats. Compare the massive immensity of the bard's gorgeously gilded harp with the stubby metallic handle of the Dark Knight's falchion, both suggestively positioned at crotch-level. Dawe's enormous canvas invokes a whole history of blushing that pivots around a direct connection to sexual arousal. More>>


Ethnomusicology: Malian ‘Desert Blues’ Revolutionaries To Storm WOMAD

Malian band Tinariwen (playing WOMAD NZ in March 2018) are a true musical revolutionaries in every sense. Active since 1982, these nomadic Tuareg or ‘Kel Tamashek’ (speakers of Tamashek) electric guitar legends revolutionised a traditional style to give birth to a new genre often called ‘desert blues’. They also have a history rooted deeply in revolution and fighting for the rights of their nomadic Tamashek speaking culture and people. More>>

Gordon Campbell: Best New Music Of 2017

Any ‘best of list’ has to be an exercise in wishful thinking, given the splintering of everyone’s listening habits... But maybe… it could be time for the re-discovery of the lost art of listening to an entire album, all the way through. Just putting that idea out there. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland