Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Awards 2003

L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Awards 2003

Finalists announced in the L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Awards 2003

Sixteen hair stylists have been selected to compete live in the finals of the L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Awards 2003 on August 2: the tenth anniversary of New Zealand's most prestigious hairdressing awards.

These finalists were selected from over 360 photographic portfolios submitted by stylists from around the country:

The Supreme Award ­ New Zealand Hairdresser of the Year
… Penny Ainsley, Betttjemans, Orakei
… Jacqui Anderson, Servilles, Mission Bay
… Burnetta Haswell, Servilles, Mission Bay
… Miranda Howden-Waugh, Servilles, Albany
… Tiffany Jeans, Servilles, Chancery
… Celine-Marie Lamberton, Accolades, Christchurch
… Angeline Thornley, Rodney Wayne, Wellington
… Jamal Wiersma, Accolades, Christchurch (This category is open to any hairdresser currently residing in New Zealand.)

The Young Colourist Award … Olivea Anstis, Hairworld, Tauranga … Sanja Glucina, Servilles, Mission Bay … Jackie Hilton, Mod's Hair, Christchurch … Terry Whaitiri, Servilles, Mission Bay (This award is open to any hairdresser who began hairdressing on 1 January 1998 or later.)

The Couleur Pour Hommes Award … Kathleen Banks, Hairworld, Tauranga … Phif Bettjeman, Bettjemans, Orakei … Sophia Goodwin, Servilles, Milford … Guy Roberts, Vada, Auckland (A male model must be used for this category.)

The judges were looking for the elite of New Zealand hairdressers ­ including candidates worthy of the title, New Zealand Hairdresser of the Year. The 16 finalists demonstrate world-class hairdressing with flair, style and a commercial edge in the use of colour, cut and overall styling. The focus is on the hair, but judges also take into account the interplay with fashion.

The judges will return to Auckland for final judging on August 2. This happens live after the finalists have recreated the styles in their photographic portfolios, using their original models and completing the task in just three hours.

Three other categories are assessed solely from the photographic portfolios and are not recreated for final judging: the Team ŒTotal Look' Award, and the ŒStaple' and ŒHeadway' Magazine Awards. All entries are considered for the magazine awards. The Team Award, for teams of up to six people, recognises that in many salons now a colourist, a stylist and a senior consultant will often pool their talents to create a client's look.

The four finalists for the Team Award are: … Carl Watkins & Associates, Christchurch … Mod's Hair, Christchurch … Servilles, Chancery … Vada, Auckland

The judges for this year's awards are three of the best in Australasia, and boast a wealth of industry experience: … Clark York, winner of the inaugural L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Awards in 1994 and owner of Willis/York Hairdressing in Wellington … Caterina DiBiase, artistic director of Heading Out Hair and Beauty in Melbourne, winner of the Australian Colour Trophy in 1999 and 2000, and a judge for the New Zealand L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Awards in 2000. … Anne-Marie Garreffa, artistic director of respected South Australian salon Hair Machine, and winner of the Australian Colour Trophy in 1998 and 2001.

Hair and fashion are an inseparable and unbeatable team ­ and four of the country's top fashion designers will reveal their summer collections at the event: … Karen Walker … Natalija Kucija … Trelise Cooper … Nicholas Blanchet

This will all set the scene for a fabulous wrap party in the Concert Chamber, featuring the eccentric and energetic band Goodshirt, just back from their Australian tour, and renowned DJ and entertainer Mikey Havoc.

The prizes in the L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Awards 2003 are:

The Supreme Award ­ New Zealand Hairdresser of the Year. The winner receives an all expenses paid trip to Paris, including a VIP visit to the home of L'Oréal, with transfers to London and tickets to the United Kingdom's L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy 2004 Awards (prize package worth $5000), as well as publicity and media training estimated to be worth more than $30,000, and the prestigious L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy, engraved with the winner's name and salon. The media exposure and industry recognition accorded the winner of The Supreme Award is invaluable to a stylist's career. The runner-up receives a Fujifilm M603 digital camera, valued at $1949.

The Young Colourist Award and The Couleur Pour Hommes Award. The winners each receive the Young Colourist or Couleur Pour Hommes Trophy, plus an all expenses paid trip for two to Melbourne, and tickets to the 2004 Australian L'Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Awards (valued at $2000 for each award). The winner of the Couleur Pour Hommes Award will also receive a surprise gift from sponsor Drambuie Cream.

The Team ŒTotal Look' Award. The winning team receives the Team ŒTotal Look' Trophy, engraved with the names of the winners and their salons, and a selection of prizes to a total value of $500 for each team member, including goodies from Peugeot, sponsors of this award.


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Reuben Moss' Property is Theft! & Kaitani at The Physics Room

Property is Theft! continues Moss’ interest in the contemporary urban environment as a space controlled by pulsing and unequal flows of capital and labour. Kaitani features work by the University of Canterbury Fijian Students Association and Kulimoe’anga Stone Maka. More>>

Handcrafted Form: Rare Treasures From Japan

This unique exhibition at Expressions Whirinaki represents 90 everyday objects made by contemporary Japanese artisans who employ various traditional craft techniques made in regional workshops. The works used in daily life are crafted from raw materials with techniques appropriate to bringing out the best of its medium, balancing ease of use with aesthetic appeal. More>>

Howard Davis Article: A Musical Axis - Brahms, Wagner, Sibelius

Brahms' warm and exquisitely subtle Symphony No. 3 in F major, Wagner's irrepressibly sentimental symphonic poem Siegfried Idyll, and Sibelius' chilling and immensely challenging Violin Concerto in D minor exemplify distinct stages of development in a tangled and convoluted series of skirmishes that came to define subsequent disputes about the nature of post-Romantic orchestral writing well into the following century. More>>

Scoop Review Of Books: A Pale Ghost Writer

Reviewed by Ruth Brassington, Richard Flanagan's new novel is about a novelist hastily ghost-writing the biography of a crook about to go to trial. The reader is kept on a cliff-edge, as the narrator tries to get blood out of his stone man. More>>

New Zealand Wars Commemoration: Witi Ihimaera's Sleeps Standing Moetū

The second of several articles to mark Rā Maumahara, remembering the New Zealand Land Wars. The first was a Q&A with Vincent O’Malley, author of The Great War for New Zealand: Waikato 1800–2000. More>>




  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland