Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Loreal NZ Hairdresser of the Year 2003

L’Oréal Professionnel announces New Zealand Hairdresser of the Year 2003

Penny Ainsley (above) of Bettjemans in Orakei, Auckland, was named New Zealand Hairdresser of the Year 2003 at a glittering event at the Auckland Town Hall on Saturday night.

Terry Whaitiri from Servilles in Mission Bay took the Young Colourist Award and Kathleen Banks from Hairworld in Tauranga set the standard for men’s hair fashion winning the Couleur Pour Hommes Award.

Celebrating its 10th anniversary this year, the L’Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Awards are regarded as the ultimate achievement throughout the hairdressing industry. The event was the grand finale to an exhilarating build-up for the four winners and the 13 other finalists, who represent the very best of New Zealand hairdressing.

The finalists were selected from more than 400 photographic portfolios submitted by stylists from around the country: For the three main award winners the pressure was on, with just three hours to recreate the looks in their photographic portfolios using their original models, ready for judging late on Saturday afternoon.

After their hectic day, the hairdressers had the thrill of joining their models on the stage, as part of a show which also starred top New Zealand fashion designers Natalija Kucija, Karen Walker, Trelise Cooper and Nicholas Blanchet.

The post-event party featured top local band Goodshirt, just back from their Australian tour, and Mikey Havoc demonstrating his DJ talents. Both were a huge hit with the partying crowd, and a fitting tribute to the bountiful display of local talent.

As winner of the Supreme Award, Penny Ainsley receives an all-expenses-paid trip to Paris, including a VIP visit to the home of L’Oréal Professionnel, with transfers to London and tickets to the United Kingdom’s L’Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy 2004 Awards (prize package worth $5000), as well as publicity and media training estimated to be worth more than $30,000, and the prestigious L’Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy. The media exposure and industry recognition accorded the winner of The Supreme Award is invaluable to a stylist’s career.

The judges for this year’s awards are three of the best in Australasia, and boast a wealth of industry experience: Clark York, winner of the inaugural L’Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Awards in 1994 and owner of Willis York Hairdressing in Wellington Caterina DiBiase, artistic director of Heading Out Hair and Beauty in Melbourne, winner of the Australian Colour Trophy in 1999 and 2000, and a judge for the New Zealand L’Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Awards in 2000. Anne-Marie Garreffa, artistic director of respected South Australian salon Hair Machine, and winner of the Australian Colour Trophy in 1998 and 2001.

All the photographic portfolios were also considered for the two magazine awards.

The Staple Magazine Award was won by Karl Sullivan of Ryder in Auckland; the Salon Team Award and the Headway Magazine Award was won by Vada in Auckland.

The Salon Team Award was introduced to the competition last year, and has proved a popular addition. It acknowledges the contemporary trend for many salons to have a colourist, a stylist and a senior consultant working together to create a client’s look. Like the Headway and Staple magazine awards, the Team Award was judged solely from the photographic portfolios.

The L’Oréal Professionnel Colour Trophy Awards are held around the world, and are internationally respected for demonstrating the future of hair fashion. All of the winners announced at last night’s awards will have an effect on the way New Zealanders wear their hair for the next season and beyond.

The finalists for the different awards were: The Supreme Award – New Zealand Hairdresser of the Year Penny Ainsley, Bettjemans, Orakei (Winner) Burnetta Haswell, Servilles, Mission Bay (Runner up) Jacqui Anderson, Servilles, Mission Bay Miranda Howden-Waugh, Servilles, Albany Tiffany Jeans, Servilles, Chancery Celine-Marie Lamberton, Accolades, Christchurch Angeline Thornley, Rodney Wayne, Wellington Jamal Wiersma, Accolades, Christchurch (Open to any hairdresser currently residing in New Zealand.)

The Young Colourist Award Terry Whaitiri, Servilles, Mission Bay (Winner) Olivea Anstis, Hairworld, Tauranga Sanja Glucina, Servilles, Mission Bay Jackie Hilton, Mod’s Hair, Christchurch (Open to any hairdresser who began hairdressing on 1 January 1998 or later.)

The Couleur Pour Hommes Award Kathleen Banks, Hairworld, Tauranga (Winner) Phif Bettjeman, Bettjemans, Orakei Sophia Goodwin, Servilles, Milford Guy Roberts, Vada, Auckland (A male model must be used for this category.)

The Team ‘Total Look’ Award Vada, Auckland (Winner) Carl Watkins & Associates, Christchurch Mod’s Hair, Christchurch Servilles, Chancery (Open to teams of up to six people.)

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines

Legendary Bassist David Friesen Plays Wellington’s Newest Jazz Venue

Friesen is touring New Zealand to promote his latest album Another Time, Another Place, recorded live at Auckland's Creative Jazz Club in 2015. More>>

Howard Davis Review: The Father - Descending Into The Depths of Dementia

Florian Zeller's dazzling drama The Father explores the effects of a deeply unsettling illness that affects 62,000 Kiwis, a number expected to grow to 102,000 by 2030. More>>

Howard Davis Review: Blade Runner Redivivus

When Ridley Scott's innovative, neo-noir, sci-fi flick Blade Runner was originally released in 1982, at a cost of over $45 million, it was a commercial bomb. More>>

14-21 October: New Zealand Improv Festival In Wellington

Imagined curses, Shibuya’s traffic, the apocalypse, and motherhood have little in common, but all these and more serve as inspiration for the eclectic improvised offerings coming to BATS Theatre this October for the annual New Zealand Improv Festival. More>>


Bird Of The Year Off To A Flying Start

The competition asks New Zealanders to vote for their favourite bird in the hopes of raising awareness of the threats they face. More>>

Scoop Review Of Books:
Jenny Abrahamson's John & Charles Enys: Castle Hill Runholders, 1864-1891

This volume will be of interest to a range of readers interested in the South Island high country, New Zealand’s natural environment, and the history of science. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland