Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Striving to win prestigious Walter Lawrence Trophy

New Zealanders and Australians will strive to win prestigious Walter Lawrence Trophy

New Zealand and Australian cricketers playing in English first-class cricket this year will strive to win the prestigious Walter Lawrence Trophy competition in its platinum year.

The trophy is presented annually to the batsman scoring the fastest first-class hundred and was first awarded in 1934.

The trophy’s trustee said today most first- class matches, including the British Universities v. New Zealand Black Caps will qualify.

Australian Damien Martyn won last year’s award and a cheque for 5000 pounds for his century off 65 balls for Yorkshire against Gloucestershire at Headingley on September 17.

Other previous winners include Ken Rutherford, Chris Cairns, Darren Lehmann, Ian Harvey, Matthew Fleming, Gary Sobers, Gordon Greenidge, Alan Knott, Mike Procter, Viv Richards, Ian Botham, Mike Gatting, Graeme Hick and Andy Flintoff.

The fastest century so far is Tom Moody’s 100 off 36 balls, scored in1990 during the Warwickshire v Glamorgan match at Swansea.

The adjudicators are former England captain David Gower, test match scorer Bill Frindall, cricket author Simon Hughes and trophy trustee Brian Thornton.

The English first-class season begins on Easter Saturday April 9.

Note: See full list of winners below.

Copyright 2004 Word of Mouth Media NZ


1934 F E Woolley Kent v Northamptonshire at Dover 63 minutes

1935 H Gimblett Somerset v Essex at Frome 63 minutes

1936 L E G Ames England XI v Indians at Folkestone 68 minutes

1937 J Hardstaff Nottinghamshire v Kent at Canterbury 51 minutes

1938 H T Bartlett Sussex v Australia at Hove 57 minutes

1939 L E G Ames Kent v Surrey at The Oval 67 minutes

1966 K F Barrington England v Australia at Melbourne 122 balls

1967 B L D'Oliveira England v India at Leeds 173 balls

1968 T W Graveney England v West Indies at Port-of-Spain 174 balls

1969 C Milburn England v Pakistan at Karachi 163 balls

1970 G Boycott England v Rest of the World at The Oval 222 balls

1971 B F Davison Leicestershire v Northamptonshire at Leicester 63 minutes

1972 Majid Khan Glamorgan v Warwickshire at Birmingham 70 minutes

1973 Asif Iqbal Kent v MCC at Canterbury 72 minutes

1974 G S Sobers Nottinghamshire v Derbyshire at Ilkeston 83 minutes

1975 R N S Hobbs Essex v Australia at Chelmsford 44 minutes

1976 A P E Knott Kent v Sussex at Canterbury 70 minutes

1977 C M Old Yorkshire v Warwickshire at Birmingham 37 minutes

1978 C G Greenidge Hampshire v Glamorgan at Southampton 82 minutes

1979 M J Procter Gloucestershire v Nottinghamshire at Bristol 57 minutes

1980 I V A Richards West Indians v Glamorgan at Swansea 66 minutes

1981 S T Clarke Surrey v Glamorgan at Swansea 62 minutes

1982 I T Botham Somerset v Warwickshire at Taunton 52 minutes

1983 S J O'Shaughnessy Lancashire v Leicestershire at Manchester 35 minutes

1984 M W Gatting Middlesex v Kent at Lord’s 79 minutes

1985 I T Botham Somerset v Warwickshire at Birmingham 50 balls

1986 I V A Richards Somerset v Glamorgan at Taunton 48 balls

1987 R O Butcher Middlesex v Sussex at Hove 73 balls

1988 G A Hick Worcestershire v Surrey at The Oval 79 balls

1989 D J Bicknell Surrey v Essex at The Oval 69 balls

1990 T M Moody Warwickshire v Glamorgan at Swansea 36 balls

1991 I D Austin Lancashire v Yorkshire at Scarborough 61 balls

1992 M P Maynard Glamorgan v Australia at Neath 73 balls

1993 P Johnson Nottingham v Glamorgan at Swansea 73 balls

1994 K R Rutherford New Zealand v Glamorgan at Swansea 71 balls

1995 C L Cairns Nottinghamshire v Cambridge University at Cambridge 65 balls

1996 G Lloyd Lancashire v Essex at Chelmsford 70 balls

1997 G Lloyd Lancashire v Leicestershire at Leicester 73 balls

1998 A D Brown Surrey v Northamptonshire at The Oval 72 balls

1998 C L Hooper Kent v Worcestershire at Canterbury 72 balls

1999 A Flintoff Lancashire v Gloucestershire at Bristol 61 balls

2000 D S Lehmann Kent v Yorkshire at Canterbury 89 balls

2001 I J Harvey Gloucestershire v Derbyshire at Bristol 61 balls

2002 M Fleming Kent v Sri Lanka at Canterbury 66 balls

2003 D Martyn Yorkshire v Gloucestershire at Headingley 65 balls

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Electronica: Restoring The World’s First Recorded Computer Music

University of Canterbury Distinguished Professor Jack Copeland and UC alumni and composer Jason Long have restored the earliest known recording of computer-generated music, created more than 65 years ago using programming techniques devised by Alan Turing. More>>


Scoop Review Of Books: Almost Getting Away With Murder

The Black Widow by Lee-Anne Cartier: Lee-Anne Cartier is the sister of the Christchurch man found to have been murdered by his wife, Helen Milner, after an initial assumption by police that his death, in 2009, was suicide. More>>

Howard Davis: Triple Echo - The Malevich/Reinhardt/Hotere Nexus

Howard Davis: The current juxtaposition of works by Ralph Hotere and Ad Reinhardt at Te Papa perfectly exemplifies Jean Michel Massing's preoccupation with the transmigration of imagery in a remarkable triple echo effect... More>>

Scoop Review Of Books: Nō Tāu Manawa

Vaughan Rapatahana responds to Fale Aitu | Spirit House by Tusiata Avi: "fa’afetai Tusiata, fa’afetai, / you’ve swerved & served us a masterclass corpus / through graft / of tears & fears..." More>>

9 Golds - 21 Medals: NZ Team Celebrates As Rio 2016 Paralympic Games Close

The entire New Zealand Paralympic Team, led by kiwi sprinter and double gold medallist Liam Malone as flag bearer, are on the bus to the Maracanã Stadium in Rio de Janeiro for the Closing Ceremony of the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games. There, they will celebrate the fantastic successes of the past 10 days. More>>


New Zealand Improv Festival: The Festival Of Moments To Return To The Capital

The eighth incarnation of the New Zealand Improv Festival comes to BATS Theatre this 4-8 October , with a stellar line-up of spontaneous theatre and instant comedy performed and directed by top improvisors from around New Zealand and the world. More>>


Get More From Scoop



Search Scoop  
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news