Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


2 New Literature Awards Announced For Kiwi Writers

11 May 2004


The Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust, in association with the NZ Society of Authors (PEN NZ Inc), has launched two new literature awards totalling $20,000.

The two awards - one for an unpublished manuscript and one for a published book - aim to recognise excellence in authorship for literature in the mind, body and spirit, or 'new-age' genre.

A single award of $10,000 will be given to the winning author of the Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust Unpublished Manuscript, and another single award of $10,000 will be awarded to the winner of the Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust Book Award.

Spokesperson for the Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust, Adonia Wylie, says the purpose of the award is to encourage growth of the spiritual literature genre in New Zealand.

"Our Trust's founder Ashton Wylie was an Auckland businessman with spiritual awareness at the core of his interests, particularly in the area of personal development and positive relationships. In keeping with the objectives of our Trust, we have been working with the NZ Society of Authors for some time to establish these awards and now we're thrilled to announce them, and hope they further encourage New Zealand writers to embrace the genre of spiritual, new-age literature," says Mrs Wylie.

The team of judges for the two awards will include publisher Bob Ross, New Zealand author Richard Webster, Ashton Wylie trustee Adonia Wylie, and editor and publisher Philip Bradbury.

To be eligible for the awards, authors must be New Zealand citizens residing here. Unpublished manuscripts must be submitted by 31 May 2004, and be between 20,000 and 100,000 words in length. Published books must be submitted by 30 June, should be 48 pages or longer, and must have been published between 1 April 2003 and 31 March 2004.

The awards will be presented at a ceremony at the Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust's own venue - Hopetoun Alpha in Auckland - on August 20.

Submission forms and entry details are available from the NZ Society of Author's national office or via post, PO Box 67-013, Mt Eden, Auckland.


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Reuben Moss' Property is Theft! & Kaitani at The Physics Room

Property is Theft! continues Moss’ interest in the contemporary urban environment as a space controlled by pulsing and unequal flows of capital and labour. Kaitani features work by the University of Canterbury Fijian Students Association and Kulimoe’anga Stone Maka. More>>

Handcrafted Form: Rare Treasures From Japan

This unique exhibition at Expressions Whirinaki represents 90 everyday objects made by contemporary Japanese artisans who employ various traditional craft techniques made in regional workshops. The works used in daily life are crafted from raw materials with techniques appropriate to bringing out the best of its medium, balancing ease of use with aesthetic appeal. More>>

Howard Davis Article: A Musical Axis - Brahms, Wagner, Sibelius

Brahms' warm and exquisitely subtle Symphony No. 3 in F major, Wagner's irrepressibly sentimental symphonic poem Siegfried Idyll, and Sibelius' chilling and immensely challenging Violin Concerto in D minor exemplify distinct stages of development in a tangled and convoluted series of skirmishes that came to define subsequent disputes about the nature of post-Romantic orchestral writing well into the following century. More>>

Scoop Review Of Books: A Pale Ghost Writer

Reviewed by Ruth Brassington, Richard Flanagan's new novel is about a novelist hastily ghost-writing the biography of a crook about to go to trial. The reader is kept on a cliff-edge, as the narrator tries to get blood out of his stone man. More>>

New Zealand Wars Commemoration: Witi Ihimaera's Sleeps Standing Moetū

The second of several articles to mark Rā Maumahara, remembering the New Zealand Land Wars. The first was a Q&A with Vincent O’Malley, author of The Great War for New Zealand: Waikato 1800–2000. More>>




  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland