Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Six Times Winner Mahy to present Awards

3 September 2004

LIANZA Six Times Winner Mahy to present LIANZA New Zealand Children's Book Awards

Margaret Mahy, renowned New Zealand Children's author, has won LIANZA's Esther Glen Medal for children's fiction six times - three times more than any other author.

The 2004 winner of the Esther Glen Medal, New Zealand's longest standing literary award, will be announced by Margaret Mahy at the Library and Information Association of New Zealand Aotearoa (LIANZA)'s annual conference at Sky City Convention Centre in Auckland on Monday 6th September.

Other awards to be presented are the Russell Clark Medal for children's book illustration; the Elsie Locke Medal for children's non-fiction and Te Kura Pounamu for a children's book in Te Reo Maori.

Authors, illustrators and publishers will join the delegates at LIANZA annual conference for the Awards.

Margaret Mahy, herself a children's librarian before she became a full time writer, will address the conference before making the presentations.

In addition to the six Esther Glen medals, Margaret Mahy has been recognised internationally. She has won the prestigious Carnegie Medal twice and also won the IBBY (International Board on Books for Young People)Honour Book Award. She is a member of The Order of New Zealand and has an Honorary Doctorate of Letters from the University of Canterbury.

When: 4.30 - 5.30 pm
Monday 6 September

Where: Sky City Convention Centre
* Address by Margaret Mahy

* Presentation by Margaret Mahy to winners of LIANZA's Children's Book Awards

Esther Glen Medal: The award will be made to the author of the book that is considered to be the most distinguished contribution to literature for children.

Russell Clark Medal: The Award will be made to the illustrator or artist for the most distinguished pictures or illustrations for a children's book, with or without text.

Elsie Locke Award: The Award will be made for a work that is considered to be a distinguished contribution to non-fiction for young people.

Te Kura Pounamu: The award will be made to the author of a book that is considered to be a distinguished contribution to literature for children or young people, written in Te Reo Maori

2004 Shortlists: Esther Glen Award
Ken Catran Jacko Moran Sniper Lothian
Ted Dawe Thunder Road Longacre
Brian Falkner Henry and the Flea Mallinson Rendel
V.M. Jones Juggling With Mandarins HarperCollins
V.M. Jones The Serpents of Arakesh HarperCollins

Russell Clark Award
Pamela Allen Grandpa and Thomas Penguin Books
Gavin Bishop The Three Billy Goats Gruff Scholastic
Graeme Gash Napoleon and the Chicken Farmer, text by Lloyd Jones Mallinson Rendel
Ali Teo & Astrid Jensen Oh Hogwash, Sweet Pea! Text by Ngareta Gabel Huia
Pamela Wolfe Mouse on the Moon, text by Richard Wolf Scholastic

Elsie Locke Award
Andrew Crowe The Life-Size Guide to New Zealand Wildflowers Penguin Books
Janet Hunt A Bird in the Hand: Keeping New Zealand Wildlife Safe Random House N Z
Keith Olsen Pick-Up a Pack: A Guide to Tramping & Camping the New Zealand Way Reed Publishing
Simon Pollard I am an Insect Reed Publishing
Te Aorere Riddell Toroa: The Royal Albatross Huia

Te Kura Pounamu
Hone Apanui Te Kete Harakeke, English text by Angie Belcher
Hone Apanui Te Taonga, English text by Melanie Drewery
Ross Calman Te Tahuna, English text by Don Long
Te Haumiahiata Mason & Heni Jacobs Matariki, English text by Melanie Drewery
All four of the above by Reed Publishing
Nuki Takao Te Rango Huia


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Tuia - Encounters 250: Te Papa Acquires Rare Painting Of Cook's Voyage

Te Papa announced today it has purchased William Hodges’ Waterfall in Dusky Bay with Maori Canoe for New Zealand’s national art collection. More>>

Resene Eighth Annual Architecture & Design Film Festival

This year’s line-up will showcase the most acclaimed and current films in architecture and design, including documentaries on this century’s finest architects, super stars in the design field and movements for environmental change. More>>

Filthy Rich Scores American Remake

New Zealand drama Filthy Rich has been green-lit for a US remake by Fox network starring Sex and the City’s Kim Cattrall… A pilot episode shot in New Orleans earlier this year also saw Kim Cattrall in the starring role, based on the character played by Miriama Smith in NZ. More>>

Ockhams: ‘Urgently Relevant’ Novel Wins NZ’s Richest Literary Award

Dame Fiona Kidman has won this year’s $53,000 Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize at the Ockham New Zealand Book Awards for her novel, This Mortal Boy, a work described by the judges as ‘moving, memorable, authentic and urgently relevant to our times.’ More>>


Comedy Festival: The Comedy Festival Is On

Binge on almost a full month of comedic delights, as the NZ International Comedy Festival runs from 2-26/5 in Auckland and Wellington. More>>




  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland