Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Judges for 2006 AA Motoring Excellence Awards

Judges Announced for 2006 AA Motoring Excellence Awards

The judging panel for the 2006 AA Motoring Excellence Awards have been announced with some familiar faces returning to the fold and some new blood added to the mix of motoring expertise.

81 vehicles have been nominated as part of this years awards, and they will be put to the test by a panel of expert judges to determine the various category winners.

Returning as judges for the AA Motoring Excellence Awards this year are leading motoring journalists Brian Cowan, Jacqui Madelin, David Linklater, Rob Maetzig, as well as Rally Driver Emma Gilmour, and TV Presenter Mark Leishman.

Dave Moore, the winner of the Motoring Journalism Award from the 2005 AA Motoring Excellence Awards, will also be joining the ranks and adding his expertise to the judging panel this year. Dave Moore is currently the Motoring Editor for the Christchurch Press and Wellington’s Dominion Post.

“I’m delighted we have such a medley of automotive skills and knowledge amongst the judging panel,” says Stella Stocks, AA’s General Manager of Technical Services.

Judging of the nominated vehicles will take place in Taupo the week commencing February 6.

Ms Stocks says that judging criteria will take into account a range of factors.

“We will evaluate specific aspects of each vehicle within its category, and compare it to similar such vehicles. Judgement will be based on ‘real world’ factors such as intended overall purpose and the customer base for that specific car,” she says.

A special media briefing day will also be held in Taupo on the 9th of February during the track testing section of the judging.

The 2006 AA Motoring Excellence Award Categories are: Environment, Safety, Motoring Journalism, Luxury Vehicle, Executive Vehicle, Medium / Large Car, Crossover Vehicle, Performance Car, Medium 4 Cylinder Car, Compact Car, Small Car, and Customer Satisfaction.

Award winners will be announced at a prestigious black tie dinner at the Auckland Sky City Convention Centre on Friday March 3rd. Partners for the 2006 AA Motoring Excellence Awards include Vodafone, GE Money, Vero, The National Bank and Castrol.

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines

Legendary Bassist David Friesen Plays Wellington’s Newest Jazz Venue

Friesen is touring New Zealand to promote his latest album Another Time, Another Place, recorded live at Auckland's Creative Jazz Club in 2015. More>>

Howard Davis Review: The Father - Descending Into The Depths of Dementia

Florian Zeller's dazzling drama The Father explores the effects of a deeply unsettling illness that affects 62,000 Kiwis, a number expected to grow to 102,000 by 2030. More>>

Howard Davis Review: Blade Runner Redivivus

When Ridley Scott's innovative, neo-noir, sci-fi flick Blade Runner was originally released in 1982, at a cost of over $45 million, it was a commercial bomb. More>>

14-21 October: New Zealand Improv Festival In Wellington

Imagined curses, Shibuya’s traffic, the apocalypse, and motherhood have little in common, but all these and more serve as inspiration for the eclectic improvised offerings coming to BATS Theatre this October for the annual New Zealand Improv Festival. More>>


Bird Of The Year Off To A Flying Start

The competition asks New Zealanders to vote for their favourite bird in the hopes of raising awareness of the threats they face. More>>

Scoop Review Of Books:
Jenny Abrahamson's John & Charles Enys: Castle Hill Runholders, 1864-1891

This volume will be of interest to a range of readers interested in the South Island high country, New Zealand’s natural environment, and the history of science. More>>