Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Pacific Arts Committee seeks nominations

26 May 2006

Pacific Arts Committee seeks nominations

for Arts Pasifika Awards 2006

The Pacific Arts Committee of Creative New Zealand is seeking nominations for the Arts Pasifika Awards 2006, which celebrate Pacific artists across a range of artforms and career stages. The closing date for nominations is 5pm, Friday 30 June 2006.

The recipients of the Arts Pasifika Awards 2006 will be announced at a special ceremony in Wellington in November. Marilyn Kohlhase, Chair of the Pacific Arts Committee, encourages all New Zealanders to nominate Pacific artists whom they feel deserve recognition.

“Pacific arts make a valuable contribution to New Zealand’s international reputation, and the richness and diversity of the arts in this country,” Ms Kohlhase says. “The annual Arts Pasifika Awards are a fantastic opportunity to celebrate that contribution.”

The Arts Pasifika Awards 2006 offer six awards. These are:

- Senior Pacific Artists’ Award ($7000) recognises the contribution of a senior Pacific artist in maintaining or developing his or her artform in New Zealand. Last year’s recipient was Auckland musician Opetaia Foa’i (Tokelau/Tuvalu/Samoa)

- Pacific Heritage Arts Award ($5000) recognises an individual artist or cultural group who has made a major contribution to maintaining, reviving or promoting a Pacific heritage artform in New Zealand. Last year’s recipient was Auckland traditional master artist Mafi Malanga XIII (Tonga)

- Pacific Innovation and Excellence Award ($5000) recognises an established Pacific artist or group who has demonstrated innovation and excellence in their artform. Last year’s recipient was Auckland multi-media artist John Ioane (Samoa)

- Salamander Gallery Award for Emerging Pacific Visual Artists ($3000) recognises an emerging Pacific artist showing promise in the field of visual arts. Last year’s recipient was Auckland sculptor Maui ‘Ofamo’oni (Tonga)

- Iosefa Enari Memorial Award ($3000) recognises the contribution of the late Iosefa Enari to the arts and in particular his pioneering role in Pacific opera. This study/travel award supports the development of Pacific opera singers. Last year’s recipient was Invercargill opera singer Ramonda Te Maiharoa-Taleni (Samoa, Waitaha)

- Emerging Pacific Artists’ Award ($3000) recognises an emerging Pacific artist or group showing promise in their chosen artform. Last year’s recipient was Wellington writer Miria George (Rarotonga, Atiu-Cook Islands).

For nomination forms please contact Anton Carter (Tel: 04-498 0729 Email: You can also download the nomination forms from the resources section of Creative New Zealand’s website (


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


NZ On Air TV Funding: More Comedy Comes Out Of The Shadows

Paranormal Event Response Unit is a series conceived by Jemaine Clement and Taika Waititi as a TV spin-off from their highly acclaimed feature film What We Do In The Shadows. More>>


Mars News: Winners Announced For The 2016 Apra Silver Scroll Awards

Wellington singer-songwriter and internationally acclaimed musician Thomas Oliver has won the 2016 APRA Silver Scroll Award with his captivating love song ‘If I Move To Mars’. More>>


Scoop Review Of Books: Salt River Songs by Sam Hunt

Colin Hogg, a longtime comrade of Sam, writes in his Introduction that, ‘There is a lot of death in this collection of new poems by my friend Sam Hunt. It’s easier to count the poems here that don’t deal with the great destroyer than it is to point to the ones that do.’ More>>

Electronica: Restoring The World’s First Recorded Computer Music

University of Canterbury Distinguished Professor Jack Copeland and UC alumni and composer Jason Long have restored the earliest known recording of computer-generated music, created more than 65 years ago using programming techniques devised by Alan Turing. More>>


Scoop Review Of Books: Almost Getting Away With Murder

The Black Widow by Lee-Anne Cartier: Lee-Anne Cartier is the sister of the Christchurch man found to have been murdered by his wife, Helen Milner, after an initial assumption by police that his death, in 2009, was suicide. More>>

Howard Davis: Triple Echo - The Malevich/Reinhardt/Hotere Nexus

Howard Davis: The current juxtaposition of works by Ralph Hotere and Ad Reinhardt at Te Papa perfectly exemplifies Jean Michel Massing's preoccupation with the transmigration of imagery in a remarkable triple echo effect... More>>

Get More From Scoop



Search Scoop  
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news