Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search

 

First-ever Matakana Wine And Food Festival

MEDIA RELEASE
FEBRUARY 2008


First-ever Matakana Wine And Food Festival 2 March 2008

It’ll be a day of fun and relaxation like no other – the very first Matakana Wine and Food Festival on 2 March 2008 from 10.30am to 6.00pm at Matakana Country Park promises something for every wine lover and foodie to relish.

Set entirely within the verdant, 21-hectare Matakana Country Park, the festival features 15 of Matakana’s top vineyards, each with its own pavilion offering gourmet food, great live music, and, of course, superb local wines.

“Matakana is already justly famous for fine wines, beautiful countryside, ‘slow food’, and its excellent farmer’s market,” says festival co-organiser Max Fletcher. “The time is absolutely right for a signature event like this festival to showcase everything the region has to offer to visitors from far and wide.”

The festival ticket price is $65, for which each guest receives an official festival tasting glass and glass holder, plus a programme booklet. Guests then proceed to the on-site bank to change their money into Matakana francs ($1 = 1 franc) with which they can then buy fabulous wine and food at all sites within the festival.

Auckland festival-goers can purchase special ‘Bus and Admission’ tickets for $85 each and ride one of several dedicated express bus services from either Downtown Auckland, Westgate Shopping Centre, Lake Road in Takapuna, or Albany Park and Ride.

“As responsible hosts, we strongly recommend people play it safe, leave their cars at home, and take advantage of the many public transport options available,” says Michael Hourigan, festival co-organiser.

Those who do opt to drive should note that there is no parking on-site – but parking is provided at Matakana, Warkworth, and Omaha, with free shuttle buses operating from each of these sites plus Leigh, Sandspit, and Snells Beach to ferry guests to and from the festival itself.

For bus times and locations, parking, maps, participating wineries, accommodation, and entertainment, please go to www.matakanawineandfoodfestival.co.nz.

Tickets available from: www.ticketmaster.co.nz

ENDS


PARTICIPATING VINEYARDS

Ascension Vineyard (www.ascensionvineyard.co.nz)
Big Cock Winery
Brick Bay (www.brickbay.co.nz)
Contour Estate (www.contourestate.co.nz)
Gillman Vineyard (www.gillmanvineyard.co.nz)
Hawks Nest
Heron's Flight Vineyard (www.heronsflight.co.nz)
Hinchco Family Wines
Hyperion Vineyard (www.hyperion-wines.co.nz)
Mahurangi River Winery (www.mahurangiriver.co.nz)
Matakana Estate (www.matakanaestate.co.nz)
Omaha Bay Vineyard (www.omahabay.co.nz)
Ransom Wines (www.ransomwines.co.nz)
Saltings Estate Vineyard (www.saltings.co.nz)
Takatu Vineyard (www.takatuwine.co.nz)
Vinozone


LIVE ENTERTAINMENT

Batucada Sound Machine (Brazilian samba, www.batucada.org.nz)
The Groove Diggers (Rock and blues, www.groovediggers.co.nz)
Denis Hepi (Jazz, www.oysterentertainment.com)
Elvis (Elvis impersonator, www.11degrees.com)
Lewis McCallum (Jazz saxophonist, 
www.myspace.com/lewismccallum)

Reece Jensen (DJ, www.reecejensen.co.nz)
Jasen Eli (DJ, Ministry of Sound, www.myspace.com/jasoneli)
Beven Keys (DJ)
Cajun Gumbo (New Orleans Zydeco, www.11degrees.com)
The Night Falls (Classic guitar pop)

© Scoop Media

 
 
 
 
 
Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines

 
Kakī: World’s Rarest Wading Bird Released In Mackenzie Basin

Conservation Minister Maggie Barry says the birds will add to the 60 released into the Tasman valley earlier this month, significantly boosting the wild population. More>>

ALSO:

IHC Tribute: Colin Meads

"While Colin is best known for rugby, to us he is one of a small number of distinguished IHC New Zealand Life Members recognised for their significant support for people with intellectual disabilities," says IHC Chief Executive Ralph Jones. More>>

ALSO:

Howard Davis Review: Tilting at Turbines - The Trip to Spain

Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon have now both broken the Big Fifty barrier, which seems to have brought a whole new level of angst to their midlife adventures ... More>>

Review: A Rose By Any Other Name Would Smell As Sweet

The Royal New Zealand Ballet has accepted the challenge of this heart-touching tragedy and largely succeeded. More>>

ALSO:

NZ's First Male IAAF Gold: Tom Walsh's Historic Shot Put Victory

Although feeling very sore but with a great feeling Tom Walsh took his place as number one on the victory dais to receive his much deserved gold medal. More>>

ALSO:

Scoop Review Of Books: Q&A: Hard To Find Books

"Unfortunately we are in crisis and this friendly dinosaur faces extinction… Our only hope is to try and raise funds to buy the building and restore it to its glory, either fully funded or with a viable deposit." More>>

 
 
 
 
 
 

LATEST HEADLINES

  • CULTURE
  • HEALTH
  • EDUCATION
 
 
  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland