Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Head Start In Top Hairdressing Awards

Head Start In Top Hairdressing Awards

Finalists in Schwarzkopf Professional Hairdressing Awards 08 / 09

Northern HOTY finalist Diana Moar


Auckland salons Servilles Newmarket, Ryder and D&M and Wellington salon Buoy Hairdressing lead the nominations for this year’s Schwarzkopf Professional New Zealand Hairdressing Awards.

A total of 18 finalists from throughout the country have been selected by international judges as contenders for the awards. These include Bebabo Hairdressing in New Plymouth, Salute Hair & Day Spa in Lower Hutt, Soho Hairdressing in Christchurch and Venom in Invercargill. Servilles Newmarket leads the pack with an impressive three finalists, two for Newcomer of the Year and one for Salon Team of the Year. Ryder, D&M and Buoy salons all follow closely with two finalists each.

The winners of the Schwarzkopf Professional Hairdressing Awards will be announced at an exclusive gala dinner on Saturday 10 May. Held biannually since 1988, the awards are regarded as the most credible and prestigious hairdressing awards in New Zealand. All salons throughout New Zealand are eligible to enter and entrants are required to submit entries photographically, which then go to Germany for judging by an international panel of experts.

Entries remain anonymous throughout the judging process, thus ensuring awards are based solely on talent and the quality of work submitted. Kat Laing, Schwarzkopf Professional’s National Technical Manager says the awards are about acknowledging the ‘best of the best’.

“The Schwarzkopf Professional Hairdressing Awards represent a truly unbiased picture of the standard of hairdressing in our country and provide a yardstick by which hairdressers measure their creative achievements.” Regarded as the industry ‘Oscars’, Hairdresser of the Year is the most coveted of the awards, with Catwalk, Salon Team and Newcomer of the Year also prestigious awards to win. Recipients receive some exciting prizes, with Hairdresser of the Year winning a trip to London to attend the prestigious international hairdressing event Salon International, with return flights, five nights accommodation and $2,000 spending money all included.

Also part of the prize, a Porsche Boxster for the summer courtesy of new sponsor Porsche. Winner of the Catwalk award also gets a trip to Salon International in London, while Salon Team and Newcomer of the Year attend the Sydney Hair Expo.

This year’s judging panel includes: Tom Kroboth, Aveda European Artistic Director and former Schwarzkopf Hairdresser of the Year in Germany; Simon Ellis, Global Image Director Schwarzkopf Professional and former Creative Director Vidal Sassoon London; and Steve Hogan, Global Technical Director Schwarzkopf Professional and Essential Looks Creative Director.

Finalists in the Schwarzkopf Professional New Zealand Hairdressing Awards 08 / 09:

Northern Hairdresser of the Year Vesna Choklo, Ryder, Auckland Central Craig Hughan, Ryder, Auckland Central Diana Moar, D&M, Ponsonby, Auckland

Central Hairdresser of the Year Michael Beel, Buoy Hairdressing, Wellington Central Carl Manderson, Salute Hair & Day Spa, Lower Hutt, Wellington Janine Marshall-Johnson, Bebabo Hair Studio, New Plymouth

Southern Hairdresser of the Year Alison Officer, DNA Hairdressing, Ashburton Mihi Tiananga, Soho Hairdressing, Christchurch Adrian Barclay, Venom, Invercargill

Catwalk Hairdresser of the Year Chuny-Yang Su (Yoshi), Buoy Hairdressing, Wellington Central Jock Robson, Dharma, Eden Terrace, Auckland Jason Muir, Haight Ashbury Boutique Salon, Wellington Central

Salon Team of the Year Caleb Alex, Servilles Newmarket, Auckland Danny Pato, D&M, Ponsonby, Auckland Katie Hebner, Maelstrom Hairdressing, Onehunga, Auckland

Newcomer of the Year Miguel Lledo, Vada, Auckland Central Jennifer Thorpe, Servilles Newmarket, Auckland Brandon Wong, Servilles Newmarket, Auckland Best

Photography and Best Makeup Winners for best photography and best makeup will be chosen from the 18 finalist entries and announced at the awards dinner on 10 May.

Images of some of the finalists

Catwalk finalist Jock Robson, Dharma


D&M Central HOTY finalist Janine Marshall-Johnson


Newcomer finalist, Brandon Wong, Servilles



© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines

IHC Tribute: Colin Meads

"While Colin is best known for rugby, to us he is one of a small number of distinguished IHC New Zealand Life Members recognised for their significant support for people with intellectual disabilities," says IHC Chief Executive Ralph Jones. More>>


Howard Davis Review: Tilting at Turbines - The Trip to Spain

Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon have now both broken the Big Fifty barrier, which seems to have brought a whole new level of angst to their midlife adventures ... More>>

Review: A Rose By Any Other Name Would Smell As Sweet

The Royal New Zealand Ballet has accepted the challenge of this heart-touching tragedy and largely succeeded. More>>


NZ's First Male IAAF Gold: Tom Walsh's Historic Shot Put Victory

Although feeling very sore but with a great feeling Tom Walsh took his place as number one on the victory dais to receive his much deserved gold medal. More>>


Scoop Review Of Books: Q&A: Hard To Find Books

"Unfortunately we are in crisis and this friendly dinosaur faces extinction… Our only hope is to try and raise funds to buy the building and restore it to its glory, either fully funded or with a viable deposit." More>>

Kid Lit: Lost Mansfield Story Discovered At Wellington Library

Previously undiscovered letters and a story written by a young Katherine Mansfield were recently unearthed in Wellington City Library’s archives by a local author researching a book about the famous writer. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland