Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Calling for nominations for PM's Literary Awards


For Immediate Release

Date: 22 March 2008

Calling for nominations for Prime Minister's Awards for Literary Achievement 2008 Your chance to nominate outstanding New Zealand writers

Readers, writers, groups and organisations are invited to nominate outstanding New Zealand writers in the three genres of poetry, fiction and non-fiction for the Prime Minister's Awards for Literary Achievement 2008.

Worth $60,000 each, the annual Prime Minister's Awards for Literary Achievement recognise writers who have made a significant contribution to New Zealand literature. The awards are administered by Creative New Zealand.

Alastair Carruthers, Chair of Creative New Zealand, said the Prime Minister's Awards for Literary Achievement are a highlight of the literary calendar.

"This is a great chance for the public to pay tribute to those New Zealand writers whose work and achievements they most admire," Alastair Carruthers said. "By nominating writers worthy of this honour, you're ensuring that your choice will be considered in the selection process."

Nominated writers must be New Zealand citizens or resident in New Zealand. They should have written a body of work that has received national acclaim and/or international recognition. Previous recipients are not eligible for consideration in other genres.

All eligible nominations will be assessed by an expert literary panel and recommendations will go to the Council of Creative New Zealand for approval.

The Prime Minister's Awards for Literary Achievement were established in 2003. The complete list of recipients to date is:

* Fiction: Janet Frame (2003), Maurice Gee (2004), Margaret Mahy (2005), Patricia Grace (2006), Fiona Farrell (2007) * Poetry: Hone Tuwhare (2003), Kevin Ireland (2004), Alistair Te Ariki Campbell (2005), Vincent O'Sullivan (2006), Bill Manhire (2007) * Non-fiction: Michael King (2003), Anne Salmond (2004), Philip Temple (2005), Judith Binney (2006), Dick Scott (2007)

Nominations close at 5pm on Friday 13 June 2008.

Nomination forms are available from Creative New Zealand's offices (Auckland Tel: 09 373 3066; Christchurch Tel: 03 366 2072; Wellington Tel: 04 473 0880). Forms can also be downloaded from the Creative New Zealand website

Alternatively nominations can be emailed to Creative New Zealand:

Please include a brief statement about why you have nominated the writer/s in your email.


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines

Review: A Rose By Any Other Name Would Smell As Sweet

The Royal New Zealand Ballet has accepted the challenge of this heart-touching tragedy and largely succeeded. More>>


NZ's First Male IAAF Gold: Tom Walsh's Historic Shot Put Victory

Although feeling very sore but with a great feeling Tom Walsh took his place as number one on the victory dais to receive his much deserved gold medal. More>>


Scoop Review Of Books: Q&A: Hard To Find Books

"Unfortunately we are in crisis and this friendly dinosaur faces extinction… Our only hope is to try and raise funds to buy the building and restore it to its glory, either fully funded or with a viable deposit." More>>

Kid Lit: Lost Mansfield Story Discovered At Wellington Library

Previously undiscovered letters and a story written by a young Katherine Mansfield were recently unearthed in Wellington City Library’s archives by a local author researching a book about the famous writer. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland