Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Finalists for 2008 LIANZA Children’s Book Awards

Media Release – Tuesday 3 June, 2008

Finalists announced for the 2008 LIANZA Children’s Book Awards

These unique awards, judged by a panel of librarians and showcasing the expertise of the library and information profession, celebrate New Zealand authors and illustrators and are presented for excellence in literature, illustration, non-fiction and te reo Maori.

The judges were so impressed with the high standard of entries for New Zealand’s longest established book prize, the Esther Glen Award (established in 1945), that they have included six finalists.

Convenor of the judging panel Bob Docherty says “Some of New Zealand's best ever children's fiction writers have books in the top six along with some outstanding new writers. The finalists show a good balance of genres from fantasy to adventure realism, science fiction, social realism and humour. “

Esther Glen Award (Fiction)
Salt by Maurice Gee (Penguin New Zealand)
Losing it by Sandy McKay (Longacre Press)
Smashed by Mandy Hager (Random House New Zealand)
The Sea-wreck Stranger by Anna Mackenzie (Longacre Press)
The Dumpster Saga by Craig Harrison (Scholastic New Zealand)
Time of the Eagle by Sherryl Jordan (Simon & Schuster)

When arriving at the shortlist for the Russell Clark Award the judges asked themselves the important question "would a child pick this title up and read it?"

Docherty says “The finalists in this category display a range of illustrative techniques that are a credit to New Zealand literature in the way they reflect kiwi culture and we believe the titles named are the very best of New Zealand picture books”.

Russell Clark Award (Illustration)
Dad's Takeaways by Melanie Drewery, Illustrated by Christopher White (Mallinson Rendel)
Willy's Dad by Scott Tulloch (Harper Collins)
Rats by Gavin Bishop (Random House New Zealand)
Te Po Roa by Andrew Burdan (Huia Education)
Tahi, one lucky Kiwi by Melanie Drewery, Illustrated by John O'Reilly & Ali Teo (Random House New Zealand)

The Elsie Locke Award was established in 1986 and was previously called the LIANZA Young People’s Non-fiction Award. The shortlist this year reflects a number of concerns for New Zealand such as climate change and rubbish recycling while appealing to the young artist, the historian and the junior scientist.

The whole “What is a …” series has been nominated because no one title in the series could be isolated as any better than the others.

Elsie Locke Award (Non Fiction)
What is a .....? (series - Amphibian/Bird/Reptile/Mammal/Fish) by Feana Tuákoi (Scholastic New Zealand)
Rubbish by Rachael Goddard (Raupo Publishing)
Weather Watch New Zealand by Sandra Carrod (Raupo Publishing)
Draw New Zealand Birds by Heather Arnold (Raupo Publishing)
The Illustrated History of Antarctica by Marcia Stenson (Random House New Zealand)

The Te Kura Pounamu Judges were very excited with the number of entries and said the calibre of te reo language was excellent.

Te Kura Pounamu (te reo Maori)

A-Kara-Ka-Ru-Ra by Charisma Rangipuna (Huia Publishers, Ministry of Education)
Kai Ora! 2 – Putaiao (series) by Kararaina Uatuku, Che Wilson and Hana O'Regan (Hana Ltd)
Kai Ora! 2 - Tikanga a-Iwi (series) by Kararaina Uatuku, Che Wilson, Hana Pomare and Charisma Rangipuna (Hana Ltd)
Te Haeata (The Dawn) by Mike Davey (Raupo Publishing)
Te Wheke-a-Muturangi by Lee Watt (Hana Ltd)

The LIANZA Children’s Book Awards are judged by two extremely skilled panels bringing an invaluable depth of knowledge and experience in New Zealand children’s literature and libraries.
The Esther Glen, Elsie Locke, and Russell Clark Award judges are: Bob Docherty (Panel Convenor), National Library, Christchurch; Belynda Smith, Takapuna Library, Auckland; and Rosemary Tisdall, National Library, Auckland.
The Te Kura Pounamu Award judges are: Eddie Neha (Panel Convener), Te Rōpū Whakahau; Alice Heather, National Library Auckland; and Mate Colvin, Manukau City Libraries.

The LIANZA Children’s Book Awards 2008 are supported by Wheelers Books. Wheelers are an online book resource for libraries, teachers and families and are committed to servicing the needs of Libraries in New Zealand.


LIANZA (The Library and Information Association of New Zealand Aotearoa) is the professional organisation for the New Zealand library and information services sector.
LIANZA serves and promotes the interests of New Zealand library and information industry and professionals by providing continuing professional development, awards and recognition, publications and resources, advocacy and collegial support.
LIANZA plays a key coordination role in the industry and through its regional and special interest group infrastructure provides organisational structure for members seeking mutual support. LIANZA is a member of the International Federation of Library Associations (IFLA). For further information about LIANZA visit

Notes to Editors
1. To be eligible for the 2008 prize, books must have first been published in New Zealand between 1 January 2007 and 31 December 2007 and the authors or illustrators must be New Zealand citizens or residents
2. The winners of the 2007 awards were: Bernard Beckett (Genesis: a novel, Longacre Press) for the Esther Glen Award, Ben Galbraith (The Three Fishing Brothers Gruff, Hodder/Hachette Livre) for the Russell Clark Award, Leon Davidson (Red Haze: Australians & New Zealanders in Vietnam, Black Dog Books) for the Elsie Locke Award and Robyn Kahukiwa (Matatuhi, Puffin/Penguin Books) for the Te Kura Pounamu Award.
3. The winner of each category is awarded a medal or taonga and $1,000.

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines

NZ's First Male IAAF Gold: Tom Walsh's Historic Shot Put Victory

Although feeling very sore but with a great feeling Tom Walsh took his place as number one on the victory dais to receive his much deserved gold medal. More>>


Scoop Review Of Books: Q&A: Hard To Find Books

"Unfortunately we are in crisis and this friendly dinosaur faces extinction… Our only hope is to try and raise funds to buy the building and restore it to its glory, either fully funded or with a viable deposit." More>>

Kid Lit: Lost Mansfield Story Discovered At Wellington Library

Previously undiscovered letters and a story written by a young Katherine Mansfield were recently unearthed in Wellington City Library’s archives by a local author researching a book about the famous writer. More>>

Howard Davis: The Takács Quartet

With a repertoire that spans three centuries of classical masterpieces and contemporary compositions, the Takács Quartet has an international reputation for its delicate artistry and technical virtuosity. More>>

Howard Davis: A Doll's House at Circa

Henrik Ibsen (1828-1906) is considered to be one of the founders of theatrical Modernism and is often referred to as "the father of realism" in the European tradition. More>>

Howard Davis: Redmer Yska's A Strange Beautiful Excitement

Wallace Stevens said that "a vocation recognizes its material by foresight" ... Redmer Yska might find the comparison immodest, yet in his own way he has done something similar.