Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Silver Scroll Award


Thursday 10th July, 2008

Silver Scroll Award

The APRA Silver Scroll Award has been presented since 1965 and as an event, is a highly anticipated evening on the nations music industry calendar.

The Silver Scroll will be presented at the invite only event held on September 10th at Aucklands magnificent Town Hall.

APRA (the Australasian Performing Right Association)* are proud to announce the top 20 songs eligible for New Zealands most prestigious songwriting award.

Anthony Healey, APRAs Director of New Zealand Operations: The music world is changing rapidly, but great songs remain at its heart. All these songs are examples of our independence and our diversity.

As the only peer voted music award in New Zealand, this award is no popularity contest or industry competition. Peer voting for the winner of the APRA Silver Scroll is all about songwriters recognising the outstanding achievements of their cohorts and honouring the craft of songwriting.

An anonymous panel of writers have convened the preliminary list below; it is now down to the 6,000+ New Zealand APRA Members the nations songwriters and composers to elect their 2008 songwriting champion.

This year, there were more songs entered than ever before. noted Healey, The writers are both familiar faces and unknowns, some at the beginning and others in the midst of their songwriting careers. Songwriting in New Zealand is in good stead.

The top 20 list of songs from the last year include relative new comers Iva Lamkum, Lauren Thomson, the lads from Collapsing Cities and Nick Buckton aka Side Kick Nick. It highlights the constantly high standard of writing from previous years finalists and winners; Liam Finn, Opshop, Wayne Mason, Dave Dobbyn, Geoff Maddock of Goldenhorse and Anika Moa. Plus, some long-time-coming nods for Elemeno P, The Phoenix Foundation and Shihad.

For the five eventual finalists (to be announced in August), the evening is extra special as their work is performed by another artist on the night of the Silver Scroll celebration. These special collaborations and performances are what make the APRA Silver Scroll Awards so unique.

And is if thats not enough to ensure a sublime evening of performance and celebration; its also the place that another surprise inauguration into the newly established New Zealand Music Hall of Fame is made.

Soon to be its own stand alone event in conjunction with RIANZ, Healey states; The New Zealand Music Hall of Fame ensures that were dedicated to preserving and acknowledging the contribution that our colleagues have made towards shaping and influencing New Zealand culture in a significant way. If the standing ovation that Jordan Luck received last year is any indication, we are right to celebrate such significant people alongside their musical counterparts at an event like the Silver Scroll Awards.

The Top 20 contenders for the 2008 APRA Silver Scroll are listed below. Voting opens for APRA Members from 9am Friday July 11, via, where you are able to listen to and read each songs lyrics.
Song Title Writer/Composer(s) Performed by
Baby Come On Dave Gibson & Justyn Pilbrow Elemeno P
Bright Grey Samuel Scott, Luke Buda, Tom Wedde, William Ricketts, Richard Singleton & Warner Emery The Phoenix Foundation
Butterflies John Chong Nee & Delani Tuala Delani
Dreams In My Head Anika Moa Anika Moa
Gather To The Chapel Liam Finn Liam Finn
If I Say Sam Trenwith Radiator
Life Will Get Better Some Day Kody Nielson The Mint Chicks
One Day Jason Kerrison, Bobby Kennedy, Matt Treacy & Clinton Harris Opshop
One Will Hear The Other Jon Toogood, Tom Larkin, Phil Knight, Karl Kippenberger & Barry Palmer Shihad
Our Love Is Due Lauren Thomson Lauren Thomson
Purua Brannigan Kaa, Hone Kaa & Jo Paku Brannigan Kaa
Saying My Name Geoff Maddock Goldenhorse
Sense Got Out Wayne Mason Wayne Mason
Seriously Steven Mathieson, Tim Van Dammen & James Brennan Collapsing Cities
Tane Mahuta Ryan McPhun The Ruby Suns
The Phone Song Nick Buckton Side Kick Nick
These Roses Gin Wigmore Gin
Walk Right Up Brent Park & Karoline Tamati Ladi6
White Roses Iva Lamkum, Caleb Robinson & Miles Crayford Iva Lamkum
Wild Kisses Like Rain Dave Dobbyn Dave Dobbyn

- ENDS -

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines

Review: A Rose By Any Other Name Would Smell As Sweet

The Royal New Zealand Ballet has accepted the challenge of this heart-touching tragedy and largely succeeded. More>>


NZ's First Male IAAF Gold: Tom Walsh's Historic Shot Put Victory

Although feeling very sore but with a great feeling Tom Walsh took his place as number one on the victory dais to receive his much deserved gold medal. More>>


Scoop Review Of Books: Q&A: Hard To Find Books

"Unfortunately we are in crisis and this friendly dinosaur faces extinction… Our only hope is to try and raise funds to buy the building and restore it to its glory, either fully funded or with a viable deposit." More>>

Kid Lit: Lost Mansfield Story Discovered At Wellington Library

Previously undiscovered letters and a story written by a young Katherine Mansfield were recently unearthed in Wellington City Library’s archives by a local author researching a book about the famous writer. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland