Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Christchurch Ensemble wins National Contest


Christchurch Ensemble wins National Chamber Music Contest

Christchurch’s Bedrich Quartet has taken the title as the country’s top student chamber music ensemble at the New Zealand Community Trust Chamber Music Contest National Final in Auckland last night (SUBS: 9 August).

Bedrich Quartet comprises Emma Yoon (violin), Salina Fisher (violin) Bryony Cornish-Gibson (viola) and Yuuki Bouterey-Ishido (cello) who performed Smetana’s Quartet in E Minor movements 1 and 3 to win top honours and take home the James Wallace Arts Trust prize of $1000 each and the Arthur Hilton Memorial prize of a relevant musical text valued at $100.

The four young musicians, are no strangers to this prestigious award – all four were members of last year’s winning group, the Felix Octet.

“We were really happy to win, but also very surprised because there were so many other really good groups. The standard was very high,” says Bryony Cornish-Gibson.

Bedrich Quartet was one of three Burnside High School-based ensembles to make the national final.

The New Zealand Community Trust Chamber Music Contest run by Chamber Music New Zealand, is now in its 43rd year, and is the only nationwide chamber music competition for young musicians and composers.

Chamber Music New Zealand chief executive Euan Murdoch says the adjudicators for this year’s contest were impressed at the very high standard of talent among New Zealand student musicians.

“The NZCT Chamber Music Contest is one of the jewels in the crown of New Zealand music education. It is a unique model in the world and the envy of many other countries. The National Final always far surpasses expectations and launches new talent on to the national stage.”

The contest is well-known for nurturing young musicians who go on to successful musical careers – iconic New Zealand pianist Michael Houstoun competed in the event when he was a school student, as did acclaimed pianist John Chen and all three members of the New Zealand Trio.

[name of winning group] competed against seven other finalists who were selected from 492 ensembles who competed in regional contests in 14 centres around New Zealand in June.

The New Zealand Community Trust Chamber Music Contest also includes a composition section which was won by Aucklander David Taylor for his piece Myrrh, written for flute, violin, bassoon and piano.

Myrrh was performed at the national final by Desideratum and David received the SOUNZ prize of $500 plus a relevant musical text.

In presenting the 2008 New Zealand Community Trust Chamber Music Contest, Chamber Music New Zealand acknowledges major funding from the New Zealand Community Trust and Creative New Zealand, and support from the James Wallace Arts Trust and SOUNZ (centre for New Zealand Music).


Interviews and photo opportunities are available. For more information please contact Sally Woodfield Ph 021 868 020 or visit

Winner of the New Zealand Community Trust Chamber Music Contest 2008

Bedrich Quartet (Christchurch):

Emma Yoon (Violin) Burnside High School; Salina Fisher (Violin) Burnside High School; Bryony Gibson-Cornish (Viola) Burnside High School; Yuuki Bouterey-Ishido (Cello) Burnside High School

Performing: Quartet in E minor, Movements 1 & 3 - Smetana

Finalists in the New Zealand Community Trust Chamber Music Contest 2008

Autumn (Auckland):

Zenith Chae (Cello) Saint Cuthbert’s College; Ryan Cha (Clarinet) Botany Downs Secondary College; Zoe Butters (Piano) Saint Cuthbert’s College

Performing: Clarinet Trio in A Minor Op 114 movements 1 & 4 - Brahms

Dashnamoor Trio (Auckland)

Stella Kim (Violin) Westlake Girls’ High School; Minji Kang (Cello) Westlake Girls’ High School; Gemma Lee (Piano) Westlake Girls’ High School

Performing: Piano Trio, 1st Movement - Arno Baba Janyan

Gordon Lu Quartet (Christchurch)

Hamish Upton (Percussion); Andrew Bell (Percussion); Gordon Lu (Piano); Bina Jung (Piano)

All from Burnside High School

Performing: Music for a Summer Evening, Movement 5 – George Crumb

Hayastan Trio (Auckland)

Esther Kim (Violin) Saint Cuthbert’s College; Minji Kang (Cello) Westlake Girls’ High School; Jessica Jung Eun (Piano) Epsom Girls’ Grammar

Performing: Piano Trio, 2nd & 3rd Movements - Arno Baba Janyan

The Knight Quartet (Christchurch)

Gemma Knight (Soprano Saxophone); Nicky Soonthornyanakij (Alto Saxophone); Sam Jones; (Baritone Saxophone); Bryn Roberts (Tenor Saxophone)

All Burnside High School

Performing: Quatuor de Saxophones, Movements 3, 4 & 5 – Jindrich Feld

Tierce de Picardie (Auckland)

Gillian Pan (Piano) Saint Cuthbert’s College; Hye-Won Suh (Flute) Westlake Girls’ High School; Tony Zhai (Violin) Macleans College

Performing: Sonate – Martinu

Trio gone Troppo (Hamilton)

Hilary Hayes (Violin) Sacred Heart Girls’ College; Charlotte Ketel (Cello) Tauranga Girls’ High School; Cherry Ngan (Piano) Hillcrest High School

Performing: Trio in d Minor, 1st Movement - Arensky


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines

Review: A Rose By Any Other Name Would Smell As Sweet

The Royal New Zealand Ballet has accepted the challenge of this heart-touching tragedy and largely succeeded. More>>


NZ's First Male IAAF Gold: Tom Walsh's Historic Shot Put Victory

Although feeling very sore but with a great feeling Tom Walsh took his place as number one on the victory dais to receive his much deserved gold medal. More>>


Scoop Review Of Books: Q&A: Hard To Find Books

"Unfortunately we are in crisis and this friendly dinosaur faces extinction… Our only hope is to try and raise funds to buy the building and restore it to its glory, either fully funded or with a viable deposit." More>>

Kid Lit: Lost Mansfield Story Discovered At Wellington Library

Previously undiscovered letters and a story written by a young Katherine Mansfield were recently unearthed in Wellington City Library’s archives by a local author researching a book about the famous writer. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland