Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Silver Ferns Team Named

22 August 2008

Silver Ferns Team Named

Silver Ferns coach Ruth Aitken today named her 12 strong team and new captain to play in the New World International Netball series against Australia.

Aitken has added one new cap, defender Katrina Grant (Steel) and has recalled shooter, Daneka Wipiiti (Steel). Julie Seymour (Tactix) was named as captain.

Silver Ferns coach Ruth Aitken said she has chosen a versatile team who can cover a range of positions and offer a balance between specialist and utility players. It is also a team that has an exciting mix of youth and experience with four of the twelve players having been part of the NZU21 team that won gold at the World Youth Cup in 2005.

"To be able to build on the core of experienced players is a real bonus. As current Silver Ferns squad members, both Daneka and Katrina have shown they have taken the next step up and deserve their place in the side," said Aiken.

"Daneka provides the team with another strong option in the shooting circle,

she displays great confidence to put up the long shot and was one of the most effective rebounders in the ANZ Championship.

A tenacious defender, Katrina has performed strongly on court this year and provides us with further variety in our defensive combinations," she said.

Aitken said she was delighted to announce Julie Seymour as the new Silver Ferns captain.

"Julie leads by example and her work ethic both on and off the court is second to none. Her composure on attack and persistence on defence is outstanding," Aitken said.

Seymour last captained the Silver Ferns in 2002, leading the Silver Ferns to a silver medal at the 2002 Commonwealth Games in Manchester. Seymour was recalled into the Silver Ferns team in October 2006 after taking time out to have her three children. Seymour is an astute tactician and had a dual role as assistant coach and captain of the Canterbury Tactix in this year's ANZ Championship.

Shooters: Paula Griffin (Mystics), Maria Tutaia (Magic), Irene van Dyk (Magic), Daneka Wipiiti (Steel)

Midcourt: Maree Bowden (Tactix), Joline Henry (Magic), Laura Langman- vice-captain (Magic), Julie Seymour (Tactix) - captain

Defence: Leana de Bruin (Mystics), Katrina Grant (Steel), Sheryl Scanlan (Mystics), Casey Williams - vice-captain (Magic).

Further information


Seymour's international career is one of the most remarkable in netball, spanning fourteen years, and the births of her three children. Exceptional training and dedication maximise the dynamic mid-courter's natural athleticism which is now supplemented by her vast experience at all levels of the game.

Since her first selection for the Silver Ferns in 1994, Seymour has played in three world championships and nine seasons of the decade-long National Bank Cup. This year she was assistant coach and captain of the Canterbury Tactix team in the ANZ Championship and posted personal statistics that place her among the competition's leading players: 33 deflections, 21 pick-ups and 20 intercepts.


Among New Zealand shooters only Irene van Dyk netted more goals than Wipiiti (391 from 522 - 74.9%) during the 2008 ANZ Championship. The tallest New Zealand player in the competition, and in the Silver Ferns squad, Wipiiti also picked up 42 rebounds for Southern Steel, more than any other shooter.

Wipiiti first made the Silver Ferns in 2002 and was a member of the side that competed in the 2002 Commonwealth Games. More recently Wipiiti was a training partner with the Silver Ferns in 2006 before making the squad in June 2007. She played all ten years of the National Bank Cup competition.

KATRINA GRANT After winning the 2005 World Youth Cup with New Zealand's U21 team, Grant progressed to NZA and was added to the Silver Ferns squad in March 2008 following good performances as a training camp invitee. She then played a strong role in Southern Steel's staunch defensive unit during the 2008 ANZ Championship.

History of Silver Ferns captains

1938 M Matangi

1948 NZ played different players each time & different captains (3 test series vs Australia)

1960 June Waititi (now Mariu)

1963 Pam Edmonds (now Barham)

1967 Judy Blair

1970/1 Joan Harnett

1972 Louise Young (Islands Tour)

1973 Ray Taylor (NZ U24 to Australia)

1974 Shirley Langrope

1975 Shirley Langrope

1978 Lyn Parker

1979 Lyn Parker

1981 Lyn Parker

1982 Lyn Parker

1983 Lyn Parker (World Tournament - Singapore)

1985 Lyn Parker (World Games)

1986 Leigh Gibbs

1987 Leigh Gibbs

1988 Tracey Fear (Milo Series & England Tour)

1989 Waimarama Taumaunu (Milo Series & World Games)

1990 Julie Coney - Commonwealth Games

1990 Waimarama Taumaunu - against Jamaica in the Milo Series and against Australia

1991 Waimarama Taumaunu (World Championships & Milo Series)

1992 Ana Noovao (Milo World Series & Kleenex Cup Series - Australia)

1993 Julie Carter (Milo World Series & World Games)

1994 Sandra Edge (Tour to Jamaica & World Games)

1995 Sandra Edge (Milo Series vs South Africa/England & 9th World Champs)

1996 Lesley Nicol (Fisher & Paykel International Series)

1997 Lesley Nicol (Fisher & Paykel International Series)

1997 Bernice Mene (Fisher & Paykel Cup)

1997 Belinda Colling (Silver Ferns tour to Malaysia and the United Kingdom)

1998 Belinda Colling

1999 Belinda Colling (WNC)

2000 Bernice Mene

2001 Bernice Mene

2002 Julie Seymour (COG)

2002 Anna Rowberry

2003 Anna Rowberry (WNC)

2004 Anna Rowberry (Fisher & Paykel International Series)

2004 Lesley Nicol (Australian series)

2005 Adine Wilson

2006 Adine Wilson (COG)

2007 Adine Wilson (WNC)

2008 Julie Seymour


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


2021: NZ To Host Women’s Rugby World Cup

New Zealand’s successful bid to host the 2021 Women’s Rugby World Cup will raise the profile of the game locally and provide a valuable economic boost for the game, Minister for Sport and Recreation Grant Robertson says. More>>


Max Rashbrooke Review: Mahler 7 - NZSO

Gustav Mahler’s Seventh Symphony may be one of the least well-known of its ilk, but Edo de Waart and the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra made a compelling case for a reassessment. They showed us a work of immense variety, surprising contrast and delicate shades of light and dark. More>>

Howard Davis Review: Strange Overtones - David Byrne's American Utopia Tour

Scotch-born singer-songwriter David Byrne starts each show on his latest world tour stroking a pink brain as he sits alone at a table in a gray three-button Kenzo suit singing a song called Here from his latest album American Utopia. More>>

Governor-General's Speech: Armistice Day 100 Years On

The response was more muted amongst our soldiers at the Front. Many received the news quietly... There was no cheering. The chaps didn’t get excited. It was just a matter of relief. We didn’t celebrate at all. More>>


Auckland Fringe Programme: A Celebration Of The Bizarre And Beautiful

Building on a huge 2018 programme that saw 492 creatives take 81 events for ventures around the city for a total of 347 performances, Auckland Fringe returns this summer, running February 19 – March 3, 2019. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland