Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Inaugural Joan Cook Memorial Waitangi Day Essay

Network Waitangi Whangarei
Press release
January 30, 2010
Inaugural Joan Cook Memorial Waitangi Day Essay
Please find attached for your use the first essay written to remember the work of Pakeha Treaty educator the Rev. Joan Cook, who died late last year aged 80.
Joan was the founding member of Network Waitangi Whangarei in 1987, and was instrumental in education around Treaty-based changes to the constitution of the Anglican Church.  She was a member of the Waitangi Action Committee and was arrested at Waitangi in 1983 while delivering a sermon.  She was the only Pakeha Treaty educator in Northland for many years, reaching out to thousands of community workers. 
This annual essay in her memory replaces the State of the Pakeha Nation speeches delivered at Whangarei and Waitangi over the past four years.
For more information on Joan Cook and a jpeg photo, please request by return.
The first essay is written by Pakeha Treaty educator Moea Armstrong, of Network Waitangi Whangarei. She is a co-editor of Network Waitangi's 2008 revised edition, Treaty of Waitangi Questions & Answers, available from the Treaty Resource Centre,

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines

Howard Davis: The Puzzling Poetic Praxis of J.H. Prynne - Pt II

Given the historical and socio-cultural context from which Prynne's poetry emerged, a panoptical perspective on what his poems might be trying to say is indispensable to its comprehension. With some sequences this can be an exceptionally demanding challenge, requiring a great deal of perseverance, concentration, and endurance. More>>

Truth And Beauty: 2019 Ockham Book Award Finalists

The Cage by Lloyd Jones, This Mortal Boy by Fiona Kidman, All This By Chance by Vincent O’Sullivan, and The New Ships by Kate Duignan are shortlisted for the $53,000 Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize. More>>




  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland