Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


APRA Silver Scroll Awards 2010

July 29, 2010

APRA Silver Scroll Awards 2010: Announcing the finalists

APRA (the Australasian Performing Right Association) is proud to announce the finalists for the 2010 APRA Silver Scroll Award; New Zealand’s most prestigious award recognising outstanding creative excellence in songwriting and composition.

From a list of 20 songs released earlier this month, the songwriters and composers of New Zealand – the 7,500+ APRA Members – have chosen their songwriting champions for 2010.

A New Dialogue by Julia Deans
Autumn by Matthew Hope, Jonathan Pearce, Reuben Stephens & Alexander Freer (Artisan Guns)
Running Through The Fire (Storm) by Anika Moa
Say Goodbye by Ruban Nielson & Kody Nielson (Mint Chicks)
Young Blood by Aaron Short, Alisa Xayalith & Thom Powers (The Naked And Famous)

Anthony Healey, Director of NZ Operations for APRA, says “The world changes rapidly but the one thing that is constant is a great song. It all starts with the song. Lyrics and melodies that stay etched in your mind. These five songs are wonderful examples of this.”

Not only are the finalists chosen by their peers, their works will be performed by their peers. Under the tutelage of Music Director Karl Steven (Supergroove, The Drab Doo Riffs), unique renditions of each of the above songs will be performed at the invite only APRA Silver Scroll Awards on Wednesday 8 September at the Auckland Town Hall.

Also on the night, in recognition of the contribution music makes to New Zealand’s culture and heritage, there will be another induction to the New Zealand Music Hall Of Fame. Set up in 2007 with RIANZ, the 2010 inductee(s) will join the ranks of Richard Nunns, Hirini Melbourne, Ray Columbus & The Invaders, The Topp Twins, Johnny Devlin, Jordan Luck & Straitjacket Fits.

The APRA Silver Scroll Awards are a celebration of our songwriting best – across all genres and measures of success. As such, a nod will be made to the Most Performed Works, both here and overseas, and the presentation of the following awards:

The APRA Maioha Award – celebrating contemporary Maori music. The finalists are:
Jamie Greenslade with Sin City (feat. Awa) by maitreya
Ngatapa Black, Shane Taipari & Julian Wilcox with He Maimai Aroha by Miss Black
Ahorangi Winitana with Óku Máreikura by Ahorangi Winitana

SOUNZ Contemporary Award – celebrating contemporary classical composition. The finalists are:
Chris Gendall with Rudiments
Ross Harris with Violin Concerto No.1
Chris Cree Brown with Inner Bellow

To learn more about the Silver Scroll Awards, including past winners and performances, please visit

2010 APRA Silver Scroll Awards - Auckland Town Hall – Wednesday 8 September


© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


2021: NZ To Host Women’s Rugby World Cup

New Zealand’s successful bid to host the 2021 Women’s Rugby World Cup will raise the profile of the game locally and provide a valuable economic boost for the game, Minister for Sport and Recreation Grant Robertson says. More>>


Max Rashbrooke Review: Mahler 7 - NZSO

Gustav Mahler’s Seventh Symphony may be one of the least well-known of its ilk, but Edo de Waart and the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra made a compelling case for a reassessment. They showed us a work of immense variety, surprising contrast and delicate shades of light and dark. More>>

Howard Davis Review: Strange Overtones - David Byrne's American Utopia Tour

Scotch-born singer-songwriter David Byrne starts each show on his latest world tour stroking a pink brain as he sits alone at a table in a gray three-button Kenzo suit singing a song called Here from his latest album American Utopia. More>>

Governor-General's Speech: Armistice Day 100 Years On

The response was more muted amongst our soldiers at the Front. Many received the news quietly... There was no cheering. The chaps didn’t get excited. It was just a matter of relief. We didn’t celebrate at all. More>>


Auckland Fringe Programme: A Celebration Of The Bizarre And Beautiful

Building on a huge 2018 programme that saw 492 creatives take 81 events for ventures around the city for a total of 347 performances, Auckland Fringe returns this summer, running February 19 – March 3, 2019. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland