Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search


Sir Peter Blake Trust seeks emerging leaders

Media Release

16 February 2012

Sir Peter Blake Trust seeks emerging leaders

There are leaders and there are dreamers. Leaders make things happen. Dreamers have a vision. The truly special people do both. The Sir Peter Blake Trust once again is searching to recognise individuals who have Dared to Dream as part of the country’s premier leadership awards.

The Sir Peter Blake Emerging Leader Awards, announced as part of the Trust’s annual Leadership Week from 22 - 29June, identify six leaders between the ages of 25 and 45 who have inspired and achieved across many walks of life, sometimes in relative obscurity.

Anyone can nominate a worthy emerging Kiwi leader, with a deadline this year of 30 March.

Chief Executive of the Sir Peter Blake Trust, Shelley Campbell, says the Awards aim to encourage New Zealanders to develop the kind of leadership demonstrated by Sir Peter Blake during his legendary yachting and environmental feats.

Sir Peter Blake had a dream to win the America’s Cup. Then it was the leader in him that meant he was daring enough to get a whole country behind him to make it a reality.

“True leaders dare to dream. They are willing to stand tall and put a stake in the ground, to believe. It’s their vision, their ability to inspire and their belief that makes them stand above the rest.”

Last year’s Emerging Leaders included the founder of triathlon movement IronMaori, a talented young lawyer exploring international conflict resolution, and a young entrepreneur who believes passionately in philanthropy.

“Since the Leadership Awards began in 2005, we have established an outstanding community of 50 Blake Leaders – people from all walks of life that have turned their dreams into reality and encouraged change in their communities.

Nominations are encouraged from all sectors of society. Each one is considered seriously in a rigorous review process.”

The Emerging Leaders are announced alongside the Blake Medal, which celebrates a great New Zealander who has made an outstanding contribution to the country.

The Sir Peter Blake Leadership Awards were established in 2005 to inspire and celebrate great leadership. The Awards are open to all New Zealanders.

For more information visit


Editors Note:

2011 Emerging Leaders

Raelene Castle, Dr Andrew Coy, Rebecca Elvin, Derek Handley, Tawera Nikau, Heather Skipworth

Blake Medal recipients

Dame Margaret (2011); Sir Ray Avery (2010); Dr John Hood (2009); Sir Murray Halberg (2008); Professor Paul Callaghan (2007); Sir Stephen Tindall (2006); and Sir John Anderson (2005).

© Scoop Media

Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines


Tom Scott's Avantdale Bowling Club: The 10th Annual Taite Music Prize Announced

The Taite Music Prize 2019 ceremony also saw the presentation of the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut, Independent Spirit Award, and Independent Music NZ Classic Record award. More>>


Elisabeth Calder: Gifted Editor And Publisher To Receive Honorary Doctorate

The English editor and publisher who discovered some of the greatest writers of our times, including Salman Rushdie, Julian Barnes and Anita Brookner, will be awarded an honorary Doctor of Letters (honoris causa) by the University of Canterbury (UC) at the University’s Arts and Science graduation ceremony on 18 April. More>>

Howard Davis: Charlie Parker With Strings - Live!

Hear these swinging rhythms with lush strings and a twist of bebop when Dick Oatts performs Charlie Parker with Strings accompanied by the New Zealand String Quartet and Jazz Ensemble, Musical Director Rodger Fox. More>>

Disaster Response: Canterbury Quakes - 'Widespread Adverse Effects' On Mental Health

The researchers noted that while support services such as free counselling exist, New Zealand's public health services are already under strain and even small increases in demand may result in a considerable extra burden for health workers. More>>



  • Wellington
  • Christchurch
  • Auckland