Art & Entertainment | Book Reviews | Education | Entertainment Video | Health | Lifestyle | Sport | Sport Video | Search

 


The 121212 UpStage Festival of Cyberformance


Released 9 December 2012

Testing 1 2, 1 2, 1 2
the 121212 UpStage Festival of Cyberformance

Having enjoyed a week-long retrospective programme of remounted shows from the previous five UpStage festivals, the 121212 UpStage Festival of Cyberformance culminates on 12 December with Testing 1 2, 1 2, 1 2: a 27-hour marathon of innovative shows in a variety of online platforms including UpStage, Waterwheel Tap, Second Life, Visitors Studio, mosiaka.tv and others.

This programme celebrates the diversity of cyberformance, bold experimentation at the bleeding edge of live networked performance, and the growing popularity and accessibility of live internet art. The 28 shows, by more than 100 artists from around the world, are all accessible to online audiences with just a standard internet connection and browser: attending the shows is as easy as clicking a link.

Festival architects Vicki Smith and Helen Varley Jamieson said that opening up the festival to other online platforms has greatly expanded the festival, building connections and collaborations with other online arts communities and nurturing the fields of cyberformance and networked performance. "The underlying common factor is that the internet is the site for our live performance work; we use the tools that best suit the work, and we have an increasing variety of tools to choose from."

School children from the Chatham Islands and New Zealand's West Coast have created ten UpStage performances, which they will present to the world from their remote locations. Other UpStage performances are A Plunge in the Pool by the Dutch/Italian trio who wowed audiences at last year's festival with Flat Earth; Stratosphukic Storm by the French artists' collective APO33 who have participated in previous festivals; and i am here because you are here #4 by Stefan Riebel (Germany) who will experiment with using only the text chat element of the UpStage platform.

Six shows use the Waterwheel Tap, an online collaborative platform launched in 2011. These shows explore themes including desire, shadows, water and political protest; and one, Since the end of the world, will make use of brand new 3D webcam technology - audiences are recommended to wear 3D glasses! The Tap is also the venue for DELTAP: Nodes Welcome - sessions for the hosts of 121212 nodes around the world to exchange greetings and information about their events. Nodes are physical venues that screen sections of the festival programme for local audiences; this year there are 14 nodes, from New Zealand to Buenos Aires, Europe and the USA.

The virtual world Second Life is the site for three performances: Babble, Senses Places and Moving Mountains. Second Life users can attend the shows in-world, and a stream will be broadcast to the UpStage web site for audiences outside Second Life. Other shows employing streaming technology are: Angry, a new rendition of Annie Abraham's ongoing performative research into anger; Transamericana, connecting opposite ends of the Americas; and the networked music performances Oceans Between Sound by Ethernet Orchestra, and Netcomposition6 and Netcomposition7 by Ian Whalley and Ivan Zavada. The festival concludes with Dan Untitled's Afterparty, a live streamed DJ set by long-time UpStager Dan Untitled, who is also hosting an outdoor node in central Wellington.

This is the sixth annual festival of cyberformance - live online interactive events created and presented for online audiences. The 121212 UpStage Festival of Cyberformance is supported by a grant from Creative New Zealand as well as a dedicated team of technical assistants, volunteers and a large community of artists. CityLink provides sponsored server hosting and the Auckland University of Technology supports the ongoing development of the UpStage platform through student projects.

For more information,
visit www.upstage.org.nz or email info@upstage.org.nz

Your donation to UpStage is much appreciated and will help to make 121212 a success!


Time in NZ (12th)
Artists’ local time
ShowRL nodeslive links
11am
find your local time
Open Stage - NZ schools
Platform: UpStage
Christchurch
Buenos Aires
Click here to enter
11.30am
find your local time
11.30pm CET
(11th Dec)
i am here because you are here #4
Platform: UpStage
Click here to enter
12 noon
find your local time
Open Stage - NZ schools
Platform: UpStage
Click here to enter
12.30
find your local time
Open Stage - NZ schools
Platform: UpStage
Click here to enter
1pm
find your local time
7pm 11th ESTMoving Mountains
Platform: Second Life
Enter: stream
or SLURL
1.30
find your local time
4pm 11th
Vancouver
9pm 11th Chile
Transamericana 2012
Platform: Ustream
Click here to enter
2pm
find your local time
Open Stage - NZ schools
Platform: UpStage
Click here to enter
2.30
find your local time
Open Stage - NZ schools
Platform: UpStage
Click here to enter
3.00pm
find your local time
9pm 11th
Eastern USA
Good Water III: Synchronicity
Platform: Tap
Click here to enter
3.30
find your local time
11.30pm, 11th
Buenos Aires
Discussion in the 121212 Festival FoyerClick here to enter
4pm
find your local time
4pm NZ
2pm Australia
Netcomposition6 & Netcomposition7
Platform: Icecast
Click here to enter
4.30pm
find your local time
10.30pm 11th
Eastern USA
Excavating Desire – Fouilles pour le Désire
Platform: Tap
Click here to enter
BREAK
Evening of 12th in NZ, morning of 12th in Europe
9.30pm
find your local time
9.30pm NZ
9.30am Sw
Oceans Between Sound – Ethernet Orchestra
Platform: Nicecast & Visitors Studio
Christchurch
Wellington
Oslo
Click here to enter
10pm
find your local time
9am UKBABBLE
Platform: Second Life
Enter: stream
or SLURL
10.30pm
find your local time
10.30am CETDeltap: Nodes Welcome, hosted by the 121212 hosts
Platform: Tap
Click here to enter
11.00pm
find your local time
11pm NZ
9pm Australia
Netcomposition6 & Netcomposition7
Platform: Icecast
Click here to enter
11.30pm
find your local time
10.30am Portugal
7.30pm Japan
Senses Places
Platform: Second Life
Enter: stream
or SLURL
12 midnight
find your local time
12 noon CETStratosphukic Storm
Platform: UpStage
Wellington
Oslo
Nantes
Click here to enter
BREAK
Dec 13th in NZ
2am NZ
find your local time
1pm UK (12th)BABBLE
Platform: Second Life
Oslo
Eindhoven
Nantes
Exeter
Enter: stream
or SLURL
2.30am NZ
find your local time
2.30pm CET
(12th)
8.30am Eastern USA
Shadows XXX
Platform: Tap
Click here to enter
3am NZ
find your local time
3pm CET
(12th)
A plunge in the pool
Platform: UpStage
Click here to enter
3.30am NZ
find your local time
9.30am
Eastern USA
Good Water III: Synchronicity
Platform: Tap
Eindhoven
Nantes
Exeter
Buenos Aires
Click here to enter
4am NZ
find your local time
12 noon BA
(12th)
Since the end of the World
Platform: Tap
Click here to enter
4.30am NZ
find your local time
3.30pm UK (12th)BABBLE
Platform: Second Life
Enter: stream
or SLURL
5am NZ
find your local time
4pm UK (12th)Merry Crisis & a Happy New Fear
Platform: Tap
Eindhoven
Nantes
Pancevo
Exeter
Buenos Aires
Click here to enter
5.30am NZ
find your local time
1.30pm (12th)
Buenos Aires
Deltap: Nodes Welcome, hosted by Alberto Vazquez, Buenos Aires
Platform: Tap
Click here to enter
6.00am NZ
find your local time
5pm Portugal
(12th)
2am Japan
Senses Places
Platform: Second Life
Munich
Eindhoven
Pancevo
Linz
Exeter
Buenos Aires
Enter: stream
or SLURL
6.30am NZ
find your local time
6.30pm CET
(12th)
Land Platform
Platform: Tap
Click here to enter
7am NZ
find your local time
7pm France
(12th)
ANGRY
Platform: Mosaika.tv
Munich
Eindhoven
Montpelier
Portugal
Nantes
Pancevo
Linz
Exeter
Buenos Aires
Click here to enter
7.30am NZ
find your local time
1pm EST (12th)Excavating Desire – Fouilles pour le Désire
Platform: Tap
Click here to enter
8am NZ
find your local time
2pm EST (12th)Moving Mountains
Platform: Second Life
Enter: stream
or SLURL
8.30am NZ
find your local time
8.30pm CET (12th)a plunge in the pool
Platform: UpStage
Click here to enter
9am NZ
find your local time
9pm CET (12th)
9am NZ (13th)
Stratosphukic Storm
Platform: UpStage
Click here to enter
9.30am NZ
find your local time
GMT 8.30pm (12th)Oceans Between Sound – Ethernet Orchestra
Platform: Nicecast & Visitors Studio
Click here to enter
10am NZ
find your local time
4pm EST
10pm CET
(12th)
Shadows XXX
Platform: Tap
Munich
Amherst
Linz
Buenos Aires
Click here to enter
10.30am NZ
find your local time
6.30pm Buenos AiresDeltap: Nodes Welcome, hosted by the 121212 hosts
Platform: Tap
Amherst
Linz
Buenos Aires
Click here to enter
11am NZ
find your local time
2pm Vancouver
7pm Chile
Transamericana 2012
Platform:
Click here to enter
11.30am
find your local time
11.30pm CETi am here because you are here #4
Platform: UpStage
Click here to enter
12 noon NZ
find your local time
6pm Eastern USA
12 midnight CET
ANGRY
Platform: Mosaika.tv
Click here to enter
12.30pm NZ
find your local time
11.30pm UKMerry Crisis & a Happy New Fear
Platform: Tap
Click here to enter
1pm NZ
find your local time
9pm BA
(1am CET)
Since the end of the World
Platform: Tap
Buenos AiresClick here to enter
1.30pm NZ
find your local time
9.30pm BA
1.30am CET
Dan Untitled’s Afterparty
Platform: UpStage
Click here to enter

© Scoop Media

 
 
 
 
 
Culture Headlines | Health Headlines | Education Headlines

 

Cyclists Net First NZ Gold

New Zealand won a gold meal and two bronzes on the first day of the Commonwealth Games. There was joy and heartbreak in an incredibly full day of sport. Here's how the New Zealanders fared. More>>

Cap Bocage: Anti-Mining Campaign Doco Debuts At NZ Film Festival

Playing at this year’s New Zealand International Film Festival, Cap Bocage is a close-up exploration of the forces that came into play when environmental issues and indigenous rights became intertwined in New Caledonia ... More>>

Film Fest:

More Film:

Sharon Ellis Review: A View From The Bridge

Arthur Miller’s A View From the Bridge is Circa’s latest big production, it opened on Saturday 19 July and it is a stunning triumph. More>>

Māori Language Week: He Karanga Kia Kaha Ake Te Tīhau Ki Te Reo Māori

The Māori Language Commission wishes to see social media swamped with Māori language tweets and messages for Te Wiki o te Reo Māori using the hashtag #tekupu. More>>

ALSO:

Book Vote: Kiwis Prefer Young Adult & Classics

To compile their Top 100 List for 2014, Whitcoulls again asked New Zealanders to vote for their favourite books and authors. And while classic novels continue to appeal to Kiwi readers, 2014 marks a significant new trend – the increasing popularity of novels for young adults. More>>

ALSO:

Five NZ Cities: Bill Bailey Back To The Southern Hemisphere

The gap between how we imagine our lives to be and how they really are is the subject of Bill’s new show Limboland. With his trademark intelligence and sharp wit, he tells tales of finding himself in this halfway place. More>>

Scoop Review Of Books: Book Television Is Coming

Carole Beu of The Women’s Bookshop in Auckland, Graham Beattie of The Book Blog and producer Deb Faith of FaceTV have raised enough money via crowd funding at Boosted – just under $7,000 so far – for 12 episodes, which begin production in September, and will be on screen later that month. More>>

Electric Sheep: Light Nelson Exceeds All Expectations

Light Nelson exceeded all expectations drawing over 40,000 people over two nights to the Queens Gardens and surrounds. The event, with over 40 installations from local and national artists, is in its second year, and organisers were hoping they’d top last year’s crowd of 16,000. More>>

MacGyver: Richard Dean Anderson To Attend Armageddon This October

New Zealand’s biggest pulp-culture event, the Armageddon Expo is proud to announce the world’s most recognised DIY action hero will be attending the Auckland event at the ASB Showgrounds from October 24th to 27th. More>>

ALSO:

Barbershop Gold: Māori Party Singing Praises Of The Musical Island Boys

The Maori Party has congratulated four young men on a mission, who in 2002 took up barbershop singing at Tawa College, and tonight took out the Gold Medal in the 2014 International Barbershop Harmony Society competitions in Las Vegas. More>>

ALSO:

Get More From Scoop

 
 

LATEST HEADLINES

 
 
 
 
Culture
Search Scoop  
 
 
Powered by Vodafone
NZ independent news